Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/31 03:04:39
Subject: Knights Death Grip vs Lychguard
|
 |
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List
Tennessee
|
I hope this is the right place to post this question:
Death Grip:
Use this stratagem immediately after fighting with an Imperial Knights model from your army that is equipped with a thunder strike gauntlet, the Paragon Gauntlet or Freedom's Hand. Resolve an additional attack with that weapon against an enemy unit within 1" that consists of a single model. If the attack hits, the enemy model suffers d3 mortal wounds instead of the normal damage and is caught in a death grip: both players roll off and add their strength characteristic to their result. If your opponent's result equals or exceeds yours, the enemy model breaks free and nothing happens; otherwise, the enemy model suffers an additional d3 mortal wounds and both players roll off again as before. Continue to do this until either the enemy model breaks free or it is slain.
VS.
Guardian Protocols:
Roll a d6 each time a friendly <Dynasty> Character loses a wound while they are within 3" of this unit; on a 2+ a model from this unit can intercept that hit - the character does not lose a wound but this unit suffers a mortal wound.
Reference:
Mortal Wound: (relevant passage only)
...Do not make a wound roll or saving throw (including invulnerable saves) against a mortal wound - just allocate it as you would any other wound..."
So if my opponent's Knight tries to crush my Overlord - does the GP work since it "intercepts" the hit and no save is made? Or how does this even interact? Can someone explain this to me please and thank you?
|
"Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins." - 1 Peter 4:8 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/31 03:33:55
Subject: Knights Death Grip vs Lychguard
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Ignore the part about "intercepting that hit", that's just GW being incompetent as usual and has no rules meaning. The rule triggers when the Character loses a wound. Mortal Wounds cause 1 damage, which causes a model to lose a wound. In short, yes, you can use Guardian Protocols to absorb the Mortal Wounds caused by Death Grip. To Summarise: Overlord Suffers a Wound (The source of the wound or whether it's Mortal or not is irrelevant). Guardian Protocols trigger, you roll to see if it works. If it works, the Bodyguard suffer a mortal wound instead. If it doesn't, the Overlord suffers the wound as normal.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/01/31 03:37:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/31 03:53:04
Subject: Knights Death Grip vs Lychguard
|
 |
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List
Tennessee
|
BaconCatBug wrote:Ignore the part about "intercepting that hit", that's just GW being incompetent as usual and has no rules meaning. The rule triggers when the Character loses a wound. Mortal Wounds cause 1 damage, which causes a model to lose a wound.
In short, yes, you can use Guardian Protocols to absorb the Mortal Wounds caused by Death Grip.
To Summarise:
Overlord Suffers a Wound (The source of the wound or whether it's Mortal or not is irrelevant).
Guardian Protocols trigger, you roll to see if it works.
If it works, the Bodyguard suffer a mortal wound instead.
If it doesn't, the Overlord suffers the wound as normal.
OK that makes sense! Thank you!
One more question: do you continue to roll off until he frees himself? If so, can the LG continue taking mortal wounds until either I win a roll and free myself or he manages to wipe out the entire LG and my OL?
|
"Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins." - 1 Peter 4:8 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/31 04:02:49
Subject: Knights Death Grip vs Lychguard
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
LG will continue to be able to take the wounds for the Overlord until you no longer need to do so, whether because the Overlord Dies, Escapes or the LG are all dead. The LG bodyguard rule doesn't care about how the wounds are being dealt, just that they are being dealt.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/31 04:03:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/31 04:17:05
Subject: Knights Death Grip vs Lychguard
|
 |
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List
Tennessee
|
BaconCatBug wrote:LG will continue to be able to take the wounds for the Overlord until you no longer need to do so, whether because the Overlord Dies, Escapes or the LG are all dead. The LG bodyguard rule doesn't care about how the wounds are being dealt, just that they are being dealt.
Most helpful! Cheers!
|
"Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins." - 1 Peter 4:8 |
|
 |
 |
|