| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/03 03:48:00
Subject: Kill Team Ruling question: Great Plague Cleaver and Death to the False Emperor
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hello, I'm new here and new to Warhammer and Kill Team. I was playing with some friends yesterday and we could not resolve this question:
Some weapons have the ruling "When attacking with this weapon, you must subtract 1 from the hit roll". Does this mean that 3 attacks, lets say a Great Plague Cleaver wielded by a frenzied deathguard zealot, rolling 3 dice result in 5 6 6 turn into 4 5 5? Or the "When attacking with this weapon, you must subtract 1 from the hit roll" is other way to say that the bearer's WS is now 4+ instead of 3+. This matters for the resolution of the ability:
Death to the False Emperor: If a model with this ability makes an attack in the Fight phase which targets an IMPERIUM model, each time you roll a hit roll of 6+ you may make an additional attack with the same weapon against the same target.
Thanks in advance for the answers.
Zignus
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/03 05:40:53
Subject: Kill Team Ruling question: Great Plague Cleaver and Death to the False Emperor
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
You add or subtract from the roll on the die.
That means -1 to hit will prevent most 'on a 6' triggers (like Death To The False Emperor) from going off.
See page 29 - you roll a D6, apply the modifiers to the D6, then compare it to the models ballistic skill - or weapon skill.
Of course (a) modifiers to hit are rarer in combat tha in shooting, and (b) this works in reverse - so Grandfather's Blessing adding +1 to hit means Death To The False Emperor triggers on an unmodified roll of a 5 or 6. Place on a Zealot Specialist and stack with the Killing Frenzy tactic for extra fun.
Also note that post errata, the Tesla carbine's 'on a 6' trigger specifies unmodified rolls of a 6 rather than an end result of a 6.
|
Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/03 06:18:13
Subject: Re:Kill Team Ruling question: Great Plague Cleaver and Death to the False Emperor
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hi locarno24,
Thanks for the quick response. So for dice rolls matter the 5 6 6 turned into 4 5 5. Does this apply to both WH40K and Kill Team? We were enjoying a Kill Team evening. Thanks again !
Zignus
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/03 07:11:15
Subject: Re:Kill Team Ruling question: Great Plague Cleaver and Death to the False Emperor
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
Zignus wrote:Hi locarno24,
Thanks for the quick response. So for dice rolls matter the 5 6 6 turned into 4 5 5. Does this apply to both WH40K and Kill Team? We were enjoying a Kill Team evening. Thanks again !
Zignus
Yes. Which is why plasma guns(except ork ones) blow up twice as often when firing in the night or against alaitoc etc.
|
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/03 21:17:24
Subject: Re:Kill Team Ruling question: Great Plague Cleaver and Death to the False Emperor
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thanks !!!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/03 21:32:45
Subject: Re:Kill Team Ruling question: Great Plague Cleaver and Death to the False Emperor
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
tneva82 wrote:
Yes. Which is why plasma guns(except ork ones) blow up twice as often when firing in the night or against alaitoc etc.
But not in KT which specifies unmodified rolls of 1. Just in case anyone thought that comment applies to both.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/04 23:00:50
Subject: Re:Kill Team Ruling question: Great Plague Cleaver and Death to the False Emperor
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
Scott-S6 wrote:tneva82 wrote:
Yes. Which is why plasma guns(except ork ones) blow up twice as often when firing in the night or against alaitoc etc.
But not in KT which specifies unmodified rolls of 1. Just in case anyone thought that comment applies to both.
Indeed. Be very careful to note which triggers go off a "roll of a 1 or 6" and which of an "unmodified roll of a 1 or 6", since they're not the same thing.
|
Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/05 13:06:22
Subject: Kill Team Ruling question: Great Plague Cleaver and Death to the False Emperor
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
And things that go off on a 6 vs. things that go off on a 6+
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|