Switch Theme:

what happens if a transport is destroyed whilst moving?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






So, there's the thread about drop-pods at the moment, and I realised that it can also be relevant to other things.

The issue with the pod stems from the unit disembarking on arrival - which no-one else gets to do.

The scenario:

orks launch a trukk into the battlefield using a tellyporta. It arrives from reserves, and through any combination of methods (landing on kunnin'ly placed squig mines, interceptor type fire from the enemy etc.) is destroyed on arrival.

The unit inside immediately disembarks within 3" of the trukk - potentially now being 6" from the enemy.

My questions:

Can the unit move, as it disembarked and "Units which disembark can then act normally (move, shoot etc.)"
Can the unit charge - I think it can.
Can the unit (if it has access to it) use one of these "move in the psychic phase" powers to move? (this would apply to other armies arriving from reserves).

Given that GW can't write rules to cover normal scenarios, I doubt there's anything to cover this.


New Question:

Heck, what happens if a trukk dies at the end of it's move, and the unit inside disembarks - following the rules for disembarking, they can move as well?

IIRC (no codex in front of me) the warboss allows you to charge after advancing, so could you technically:

Move & advance badly damaged trukk, which dies
disembark 3"
move and advance and charge mob with warboss

IIRC it's a 6" move for a dying trukk, so 12" max advance, plus 3" disembark, 11" move and 12" charge!

38" charge sounds pretty good...

Also, what happens if you embark on the same turn, as it states you cannot embark and disembark in the same turn - is the unit destroyed if the vehicle dies mid-move?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/08 08:33:09


12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
Made in it
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot





Sesto San Giovanni, Italy

As far as I'm aware, no.

Also the disembarking unit should stay at least 9" from the enemy.

I can't condone a place where abusers and abused are threated the same: it's destined to doom, so there is no reason to participate in it. 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

This is the same as the drop pod. Its a transport arriving as reinforcements. It makes no sense to discuss the same situation in another thread. It doesnt matter if the unit disembarks normally, or if it has to, because the transport is destroyed (after rolling if any models die on a 1). Rules wise its the same, both follow the standard rules for disembarkation.

And btw, the terrax pattern assault drill also lets its units disembark after arriving from reinforcements.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/02/07 12:17:28


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






I would say that this is different to the rules for drop pods, because:

A: Drop pods allow you to disembark and also state that you cannot move any further, and
B) Drop pods state that the unit which disembarks cannot be within 9" of the enemy

Neither of these is applicable to the kamikaze-trukk-from-orbit approach.

This scenario involves units forced out of transports, who could otherwise do nothing, but suddenly find themselves on the field of play during the movement phase.

Heck, what happens if a trukk dies at the end of it's move, and the unit inside disembarks - following the rules for disembarking, they can move as well?

IIRC (no codex in front of me) the warboss allows you to charge after advancing, so could you technically:

Move & advance badly damaged trukk, which dies
disembark 3"
move and advance and charge mob with warboss

IIRC it's a 6" move for a dying trukk, so 12" max advance, plus 3" disembark, 11" move and 12" charge!

38" charge sounds pretty good...

Also, what happens if you embark on the same turn, as it states you cannot embark and disembark in the same turn - is the unit destroyed if the vehicle dies mid-move?

12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Cybtroll wrote:
Also the disembarking unit should stay at least 9" from the enemy.
This is not true in the slightest. There is no rule stating the disembarking unit must remain more than 9" from an enemy.

However, they cannot move because there is no further time in the movement phase to do so.
They can charge.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/07 13:39:59


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 some bloke wrote:
I would say that this is different to the rules for drop pods, because:

A: Drop pods allow you to disembark and also state that you cannot move any further, and
B) Drop pods state that the unit which disembarks cannot be within 9" of the enemy

Neither of these is applicable to the kamikaze-trukk-from-orbit approach.


The trukk arrives at the end of the movement phase. Which means units disembarking after the transport has been slain cant move any further. But they can act normally (shoot, charge, fight, etc.). And they dont need to stay away more than 9" from enemy models, because they arent reinforcements. This would also apply to a drop pod, if its destroyed after arriving from reinforcements, before the unit(s) inside could disembark. So, by destroying the transport you are doing your opponent a favor.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/07 14:22:27


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






Thanks for the clarification, what about the latter scenarios;

Heck, what happens if a trukk dies at the end of it's move, and the unit inside disembarks - following the rules for disembarking, they can move as well?

IIRC (no codex in front of me) the warboss allows you to charge after advancing, so could you technically:

Move & advance badly damaged trukk, which dies
disembark 3"
move and advance and charge mob with warboss

IIRC it's a 6" move for a dying trukk, so 12" max advance, plus 3" disembark, 11" move and 12" charge!

38" charge sounds pretty good...

Also, what happens if you embark on the same turn, as it states you cannot embark and disembark in the same turn - is the unit destroyed if the vehicle dies mid-move?


as this happens mid-move, it would mean that the restriction on movement due to having no time in which to do so wouldn't apply; can a unit whose transport is destroyed during a move, move afterwards?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/07 14:29:36


12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





I agree that there's no rule that requires units that deepstruck to remain outside 9" in the movement phase, beyond the placement not being allowed to be within 9".

So blow up a transport 9" from your guys via interception, and Da Boyz now get a 6" charge!

Seems cheesy but legal, if you can find a way to force your DS'ed vehicle to blow up.

That said, if any faction should be able to pull this off, it should be Orkz!
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Yes the unit could charge after arriving this way with a 6" charge however nothing in the game forces you to intercept that trukk in the first place. It may even be smarter to leave it alone for the turn until you can dedicate a full turn of shooting to the trukk and unit inside.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: