Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/09 18:02:26
Subject: Overchargeand and +1
|
 |
Spawn of Chaos
|
Played against a friend today and he had a +1 to his hitrolls, he seid his untis are immun to overcharge damage.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/09 18:35:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/09 18:04:12
Subject: Overchargeand and +1
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Skullphoquer wrote:Played against a friend today and had a +1 to his hitrolls, he seid his untis are immun to overcharge damage.
He was correct. You can't roll a 1 on a d6+1.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/09 18:08:29
Subject: Re:Overchargeand and +1
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
To be entirely clear, you can roll a 1 (Roll of 1 always misses regardless of modifiers) but cannot get a Hit Roll of 1 (which slays a model using an overcharged plasma weapon) on a d6+1 (Roll of 1 becomes Hit Roll of 2).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/09 18:09:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/09 18:13:05
Subject: Re:Overchargeand and +1
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
alextroy wrote:To be entirely clear, you can roll a 1 (Roll of 1 always misses regardless of modifiers) but cannot get a Hit Roll of 1 (which slays a model using an overcharged plasma weapon) on a d6+1 (Roll of 1 becomes Hit Roll of 2).
Getting a bit "um, actually" here, but when the game refers to a roll, it includes modifiers and re-rolls. Unless it specifies that it ignores them of course. So technically in game terms you can't roll a 1 if you have a +1 modifier. You can roll a NATURAL 1 though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/09 18:17:53
Subject: Overchargeand and +1
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
You can't roll a result of 1 on a D6+1, therefore you cannot cause an Imperial Plasma Weapon to slay it's bearer.
However, an unmodified roll of 1 will always miss regardless of your positive modifiers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/09 18:26:45
Subject: Re:Overchargeand and +1
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Also take into account that other modifiers may apply that will negate that +1 that your opponent has.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/09 22:30:33
Subject: Re:Overchargeand and +1
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Stux wrote: alextroy wrote:To be entirely clear, you can roll a 1 (Roll of 1 always misses regardless of modifiers) but cannot get a Hit Roll of 1 (which slays a model using an overcharged plasma weapon) on a d6+1 (Roll of 1 becomes Hit Roll of 2).
Getting a bit "um, actually" here, but when the game refers to a roll, it includes modifiers and re-rolls. Unless it specifies that it ignores them of course. So technically in game terms you can't roll a 1 if you have a +1 modifier. You can roll a NATURAL 1 though.
No. Clarifying that they can roll a 1, which has game effects, but not have a Hit Roll of 1 because 1 + 1 = 2. this is a common point of confusion, so is worth clarifying.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/09 22:34:41
Subject: Overchargeand and +1
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
speaking along the same lines of modifiers.
last year I played vs some horrors attacking my Wraithguard. I used the psychic power that is minus 1 to wound.
The attacking unit normally needed a 6 to wound the Wraithguard. My opponent said that his guys then needed a 7+ to wound an thus could not wound my guys....Did we play that correctly?
I do know some units have 7+ Armour saves so it does seem you can indeed break the d6 parameters.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/02/09 22:35:30
koooaei wrote:We are rolling so many dice to have less time to realise that there is not much else to the game other than rolling so many dice. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/09 22:40:17
Subject: Overchargeand and +1
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
admironheart wrote:speaking along the same lines of modifiers.
last year I played vs some horrors attacking my Wraithguard. I used the psychic power that is minus 1 to wound.
The attacking unit normally needed a 6 to wound the Wraithguard. My opponent said that his guys then needed a 7+ to wound an thus could not wound my guys....Did we play that correctly?
I do know some units have 7+ Armour saves so it does seem you can indeed break the d6 parameters.
Yes, you played that correctly. You needed a 6 to wound, and you are rolling a D6-1. You will never roll a 6 on a D6-1, so you cannot wound. There is no rule that says a 6 always wounds, only that a 1 always fails to wound.
|
|
 |
 |
|