Switch Theme:

GSC "Cult ambush" and "Lying in Wait" stratagem interaction  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fr
Fresh-Faced New User




France

Hello friends,

First, sorry for my english (i'm french and everyone know we sucks to speak and write english).

My question is simple:
Can i use the stratageme "Lying in Wait" on a genestealers cult unit set up in cult ambush (Blip markers).

For exemple:
I start the game, i reveal a blip (Goliath truk).
I use 2CP "Lying in wait" on it then set up the Goliath Truk at more than 3" of ennemies units on the battlefield.
Then units in Golitah disembark from it (more than 9" from enemy models), move and charge.

The cult ambush say :"[...]Note that even though such units have arrived as reinforcements this turn"

And the stratageme say :"Use this Stratagem when you set up a unit from your army that has the Cult Ambush ability as reinforcements"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/11 10:45:19


 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





You can use it on a unit that has Cult Ambush that is arriving from reinforcements. The Goliath is the target of the stratagem and therefore cannot charge for any reason. However that restriction would not apply to any unit being transported by the Goliath.

I expect that last bit to get FAQd in short order though.
   
Made in fr
Fresh-Faced New User




France

I have the same opinion.
It works but should be FAQd.


I would like to have the opinion of BaconCatBug to know if in the meantime it is possible.

Is this correct in RAW ?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





QuenthelBaenre wrote:


I would like to have the opinion of BaconCatBug to know if in the meantime it is possible.


Well la de da!

(Nah it's cool, I get it )
   
Made in fr
Fresh-Faced New User




France

 Stux wrote:
QuenthelBaenre wrote:


I would like to have the opinion of BaconCatBug to know if in the meantime it is possible.


Well la de da!

(Nah it's cool, I get it )


HAHAHA sorry my friends <3


it's just that BCB is known in Marseille (south of France) for its bug discoveries (quite funny) and its pretty clear reading of the RAW
And i'm tired of my Frenchs brother who are still trying to interpret the rules .....-.-
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Being set up at any point mid turn (as opposed to deployment) makes the unit Reinforcements, RaW. Since you set up models via Cult Ambush mid turn, they are reinforcements thus you may use Lying in Wait on the transport.

However the Cult Ambush rule has an explicit restriction on disembarking units so you would have to somehow disembark more than 9" away from the enemy unit still. The unit inside the Goliath is not prohibited from charging that turn, so may do so.

Glad to know I am a Genius in France.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/02/11 14:17:19


 
   
Made in fr
Fresh-Faced New User




France

 BaconCatBug wrote:
Being set up at any point mid turn (as opposed to deployment) makes the unit Reinforcements, RaW. Since you set up models via Cult Ambush mid turn, they are reinforcements thus you may use Lying in Wait on the transport.

However the Cult Ambush rule has an explicit restriction on disembarking units so you would have to somehow disembark more than 9" away from the enemy unit still. The unit inside the Goliath is not prohibited from charging that turn, so may do so.

Glad to know I am a Genius in France.


Hey thank you

Yeah units have to disembark more than 9" away from the enemy unit .
But after disembark, i can move then charge.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





QuenthelBaenre wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
Being set up at any point mid turn (as opposed to deployment) makes the unit Reinforcements, RaW. Since you set up models via Cult Ambush mid turn, they are reinforcements thus you may use Lying in Wait on the transport.

However the Cult Ambush rule has an explicit restriction on disembarking units so you would have to somehow disembark more than 9" away from the enemy unit still. The unit inside the Goliath is not prohibited from charging that turn, so may do so.

Glad to know I am a Genius in France.


Hey thank you

Yeah units have to disembark more than 9" away from the enemy unit .
But after disembark, i can move then charge.


You are arriving and then disembarking at the end of the movement phase, so the unit won't be able to move.

EDIT: actually that's only if the unit is underground, not cult ambush.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/11 14:28:14


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Yeah Cult Ambush allows you to move, shoot and charge as normal.
   
Made in fr
Fresh-Faced New User




France

 Stux wrote:
QuenthelBaenre wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
Being set up at any point mid turn (as opposed to deployment) makes the unit Reinforcements, RaW. Since you set up models via Cult Ambush mid turn, they are reinforcements thus you may use Lying in Wait on the transport.

However the Cult Ambush rule has an explicit restriction on disembarking units so you would have to somehow disembark more than 9" away from the enemy unit still. The unit inside the Goliath is not prohibited from charging that turn, so may do so.

Glad to know I am a Genius in France.


Hey thank you

Yeah units have to disembark more than 9" away from the enemy unit .
But after disembark, i can move then charge.


You are arriving and then disembarking at the end of the movement phase, so the unit won't be able to move.


I'm speaking about the first turn when you reveal all of your marker ambush (blips).
You reveal all of your marker ambush at the start of your mouvement phase and the codex say too:
units that disembark from it
this turn cannot be set up within 9" of any
enemy models. Note that even though such
units have arrived as reinforcements this
turn, unless they actually move during this
phase, they do not count as having moved
in their Movement phase for any rules
purposes, such as shooting Heavy weapons.


   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

I dont know if this applies, or not.

BRB upate 1.3
Q: If a Stratagem instructs you to select a unit from your
army at the start of the turn, can I choose one that is not yet
on the battlefield (because it was, for example, set up in a
teleportarium chamber during deployment)?
A: No, unless the Stratagem specifically says otherwise.
   
Made in fr
Fresh-Faced New User




France

 p5freak wrote:
I dont know if this applies, or not.

BRB upate 1.3
Q: If a Stratagem instructs you to select a unit from your
army at the start of the turn, can I choose one that is not yet
on the battlefield (because it was, for example, set up in a
teleportarium chamber during deployment)?
A: No, unless the Stratagem specifically says otherwise.


The stratagem say to pick up a unit juste before set up on the battlefield.
In your way, the stratageme never work.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





QuenthelBaenre wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
I dont know if this applies, or not.

BRB upate 1.3
Q: If a Stratagem instructs you to select a unit from your
army at the start of the turn, can I choose one that is not yet
on the battlefield (because it was, for example, set up in a
teleportarium chamber during deployment)?
A: No, unless the Stratagem specifically says otherwise.


The stratagem say to pick up a unit juste before set up on the battlefield.
In your way, the stratageme never work.


Well... You could still use it for units you deployed underground.
   
Made in us
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba






 Stux wrote:
QuenthelBaenre wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
I dont know if this applies, or not.

BRB upate 1.3
Q: If a Stratagem instructs you to select a unit from your
army at the start of the turn, can I choose one that is not yet
on the battlefield (because it was, for example, set up in a
teleportarium chamber during deployment)?
A: No, unless the Stratagem specifically says otherwise.


The stratagem say to pick up a unit juste before set up on the battlefield.
In your way, the stratageme never work.


Well... You could still use it for units you deployed underground.


[Thumb - 2tespr.jpg]


"Got you, Yugi! Your Rubric Marines can't fall back because I have declared the tertiary kaptaris ka'tah stance two, after the secondary dacatarai ka'tah last turn!"

"So you think, Kaiba! I declared my Thousand Sons the cult of Duplicity, which means all my psykers have access to the Sorcerous Facade power! Furthermore I will spend 8 Cabal Points to invoke Cabbalistic Focus, causing the rubrics to appear behind your custodes! The Vengeance for the Wronged and Sorcerous Fullisade stratagems along with the Malefic Maelstrom infernal pact evoked earlier in the command phase allows me to double their firepower, letting me wound on 2s and 3s!"

"you think it is you who has gotten me, yugi, but it is I who have gotten you! I declare the ever-vigilant stratagem to attack your rubrics with my custodes' ranged weapons, which with the new codex are now DAMAGE 2!!"

"...which leads you straight into my trap, Kaiba, you see I now declare the stratagem Implacable Automata, reducing all damage from your attacks by 1 and triggering my All is Dust special rule!"  
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Um... No.

But when they arrive, they are doing so as reinforcements and are valid targets for Lying In Wait.

Basically, there's a lot for the FAQ to properly straighten out for GSCs!
   
Made in us
Damsel of the Lady




 Stux wrote:
Um... No.

But when they arrive, they are doing so as reinforcements and are valid targets for Lying In Wait.

Basically, there's a lot for the FAQ to properly straighten out for GSCs!


Even though a FAQ addresses this, I'll join in the fun of the thread by saying: on the live stream for GW's showmatch of GSC, the two commentators (who I believe work at GW), said that stratagems can totally work on units deployed "underground" because there was no restriction in the stratagem requiring the unit to be on the battlefield!

As if clairvoyantly seeing this thread, one of them went on to state that the unit could be under the table or on a different table and the stratagem could be played.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/11 22:13:20


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: