Switch Theme:

Question about Deathwatch  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Wing Commander





So, the codex is somewhat ambiguous concerning how many weapons a Deathwatch Vet and their ilk can hold, such as Blackshields, SGTs, and Vanguard Vets. Even the "shall not be trusted" Battlescribe confuses me. So here is my SGT, am I wrong?

SGT -
Combat Shield
Stalker Pttn BG
Stormbolter

Can the SGT carry all three? How do you resolve shooting attacks, all or just one? Is it like a Combi-weapon?

It gets even worse if I give him two Melee weapons, such as a Thunder Hammer, and a Xenophase blade. How do you resolve attacks? Does the SGT get 6 attacks?

Thanks

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





can't have that loadout. It's either/or with the stalker and stormbolter.

There is no benefit to two melee weapons, really (search for questions regarding the blackshield--I saw a thread recently)

It is confusing, but last I checked Battlescribe gets it right.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/12 13:33:29


 
   
Made in us
Wing Commander





Ok, well, the codex states "....may replace their boltgun with two items from the deathwatch equipment list." Annnnnd BS lets me with no error. So according to the codex, and BS, I can have a deathwatch shotty, and a stalker ptn bolt rifle, or two death watch shotties.

Actually, that sounds amazing. Two death watch shotguns pumping out Dragonfire rounds.

Please tell me this is somehow legal.
   
Made in es
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot



Canary Island (Spain)

Don't think you can have two shotguns.

2500
1500
400 
   
Made in de
Experienced Maneater






 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
Ok, well, the codex states "....may replace their boltgun with two items from the deathwatch equipment list." Annnnnd BS lets me with no error. So according to the codex, and BS, I can have a deathwatch shotty, and a stalker ptn bolt rifle, or two death watch shotties.

Actually, that sounds amazing. Two death watch shotguns pumping out Dragonfire rounds.

Please tell me this is somehow legal.

No, it isn't.
Because you got the first part right "may replace their boltgun with two items from the deathwatch equipment list." but you're missing the restrictions of the Deathwatch Equipment list itself which separate the equipment into two lists on of which says "Up to two items can be chosen from the following list:" and the other "One weapon can be chosen from the following list:".

This is a separation into one- and two-handed weapons. Shotguns, Stalker, etc. fall into the second list and you can only take one of your two choices from this list.



 
   
Made in us
Wing Commander





 Hanskrampf wrote:
 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
Ok, well, the codex states "....may replace their boltgun with two items from the deathwatch equipment list." Annnnnd BS lets me with no error. So according to the codex, and BS, I can have a deathwatch shotty, and a stalker ptn bolt rifle, or two death watch shotties.

Actually, that sounds amazing. Two death watch shotguns pumping out Dragonfire rounds.

Please tell me this is somehow legal.

No, it isn't.
Because you got the first part right "may replace their boltgun with two items from the deathwatch equipment list." but you're missing the restrictions of the Deathwatch Equipment list itself which separate the equipment into two lists on of which says "Up to two items can be chosen from the following list:" and the other "One weapon can be chosen from the following list:".

This is a separation into one- and two-handed weapons. Shotguns, Stalker, etc. fall into the second list and you can only take one of your two choices from this list.


Thank you for clearing that up. So then BS is wrong. Clears that mess up. Back to SS/SB.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: