Switch Theme:

Jackal Alphus' interaction with Goliath Truck passengers?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba






The Jackal Alphus has an ability that selects an enemy unit and grants friendly <cult> units within 6" +1 to hit against that selected target.

Since Open-Topped states that all modifiers that apply to the vehicle also apply to the passengers, does that mean that this modifier of +1 to hit also applies to the unit inside the transport, if it selects the target of the Alphus' ability, measuring the 6" range to the Alphus from the hull of the truck?

This gets murky because there is a main rulebook FAQ question that says Aura abilities that affect transports do not affect passengers.

I know that the Raven Guard ability does apply to transports (A modifier with a range to an enemy model)

and that the Freebootas clan ability also applies (A modifier with a range to a friendly model)

So it reads to me like Alphus' ability should work on the passengers via the truck. But I'm curious what Dakka thinks. This does seem like a question for an FAQ though.

"Got you, Yugi! Your Rubric Marines can't fall back because I have declared the tertiary kaptaris ka'tah stance two, after the secondary dacatarai ka'tah last turn!"

"So you think, Kaiba! I declared my Thousand Sons the cult of Duplicity, which means all my psykers have access to the Sorcerous Facade power! Furthermore I will spend 8 Cabal Points to invoke Cabbalistic Focus, causing the rubrics to appear behind your custodes! The Vengeance for the Wronged and Sorcerous Fullisade stratagems along with the Malefic Maelstrom infernal pact evoked earlier in the command phase allows me to double their firepower, letting me wound on 2s and 3s!"

"you think it is you who has gotten me, yugi, but it is I who have gotten you! I declare the ever-vigilant stratagem to attack your rubrics with my custodes' ranged weapons, which with the new codex are now DAMAGE 2!!"

"...which leads you straight into my trap, Kaiba, you see I now declare the stratagem Implacable Automata, reducing all damage from your attacks by 1 and triggering my All is Dust special rule!"  
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

I would say no, due to the rulebook FAQ you quoted.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





It won't work.

The units embarked cant benefit from aura abilities on or odd the table.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Embarked units do not benefit from Auras unless a rule explicitly says so.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Open-Topped states that all modifiers that apply to the vehicle also apply to the passengers.

If an Open-Topped vehicle gets a +1 to hit, so does the unit that is embarked on said transport.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 DeathReaper wrote:
Open-Topped states that all modifiers that apply to the vehicle also apply to the passengers.

If an Open-Topped vehicle gets a +1 to hit, so does the unit that is embarked on said transport.


I think this is probably correct. The unit don't directly benefit due to the ruling on auras. But they do still get to use the modifier if it's affecting the vehicle.
   
Made in gb
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta






It’s an aura ability so no it doesn’t affect the passengers.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 An Actual Englishman wrote:
It’s an aura ability so no it doesn’t affect the passengers.


The aura ability doesn't, but the open top rule still passes the modifier on.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 An Actual Englishman wrote:
It’s an aura ability so no it doesn’t affect the passengers.

Correct, the passengers are not affected by aura abilities.

But a transport can be affected by aura abilities.

If an affected by aura ability gives a transport a +1 to hit, the Open-Topped rules says that all modifiers that apply to the vehicle also apply to the passengers. So in that case the passengers will get the +1 to hit, because the vehicle has a +1 to hit. Even thought the passengers are not being affected by the aura.

 BaconCatBug wrote:
Embarked units do not benefit from Auras unless a rule explicitly says so.

While what you said is true, in the case above, the embarked unit still has a +1 to hit because the vehicle has a +1 to hit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/15 04:15:52


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba






 An Actual Englishman wrote:
It’s an aura ability so no it doesn’t affect the passengers.


Is there any rulebook definition of "aura ability"? Or is it only something that is referred to in the FAQ?

Is an aura ability any ability that requires you to measure range to a friendly model?

Is Freebootas' Kultur an aura ability emanating from any unit that kills an enemy unit in the shooting or fight phase?


"Got you, Yugi! Your Rubric Marines can't fall back because I have declared the tertiary kaptaris ka'tah stance two, after the secondary dacatarai ka'tah last turn!"

"So you think, Kaiba! I declared my Thousand Sons the cult of Duplicity, which means all my psykers have access to the Sorcerous Facade power! Furthermore I will spend 8 Cabal Points to invoke Cabbalistic Focus, causing the rubrics to appear behind your custodes! The Vengeance for the Wronged and Sorcerous Fullisade stratagems along with the Malefic Maelstrom infernal pact evoked earlier in the command phase allows me to double their firepower, letting me wound on 2s and 3s!"

"you think it is you who has gotten me, yugi, but it is I who have gotten you! I declare the ever-vigilant stratagem to attack your rubrics with my custodes' ranged weapons, which with the new codex are now DAMAGE 2!!"

"...which leads you straight into my trap, Kaiba, you see I now declare the stratagem Implacable Automata, reducing all damage from your attacks by 1 and triggering my All is Dust special rule!"  
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

the_scotsman wrote:
Is there any rulebook definition of "aura ability"?

Page 179 of the main rulebook under the heading 'Aura Abilities'.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 DeathReaper wrote:
 An Actual Englishman wrote:
It’s an aura ability so no it doesn’t affect the passengers.

Correct, the passengers are not affected by aura abilities.

But a transport can be affected by aura abilities.

If an affected by aura ability gives a transport a +1 to hit, the Open-Topped rules says that all modifiers that apply to the vehicle also apply to the passengers. So in that case the passengers will get the +1 to hit, because the vehicle has a +1 to hit. Even thought the passengers are not being affected by the aura.

 BaconCatBug wrote:
Embarked units do not benefit from Auras unless a rule explicitly says so.

While what you said is true, in the case above, the embarked unit still has a +1 to hit because the vehicle has a +1 to hit.


I absolutely agree with this. It is isn't passing the aura ability, it is passing the modifier. The fact they are the same effect in this instance is irrelevant to the resolution of the effect.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: