Switch Theme:

Broodlords and Patriarchs...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Anybody else think it is weird that the Broodlord and the Patriarch both have the brood telepathy special rule and that rule is written in EXACTLY the same way for both models on their datasheets except that the Broodlord's only affects <hive fleet> genestealers but the Patriarch's affects <cult> <genestealers>? So the patriarch buffs genestealers AND himself (because it affects units with the <genestealer> key word, which the Patriarch has) but the Broodlord only affects Genestealers called Genestealers (which the broodlord is not) so long as they also have an appropriate <hive fleet> keyword. Surely this has to be an error? Yet they have released numerous Tyranid FAQ codex erratas and FAQs and never fixed it?
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Maybe the Cult one is the error? Email them and it may get covered in the washup FAQ.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






Possibly intentional, because Broodlords and Patriarchs are subtly similar but different species.

Broodlords are a distinct sub-species to Genestealers- a leader class created by the Hive Mind. Patriarchs OTOH are evolved Genestealers.


Games Workshop Delenda Est.

Users on ignore- 53.

If you break apart my or anyone else's posts line by line I will not read them. 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




And yet they both have the <genestealer> keyword, so clearly they are <genestealers> the only thing stopping the broodlord from buffing himself is because his rule doesn't apply to the key word <genestealer> but (presumably, otherwise he would buff noting) the unit name Genestealer. I simply can;t fathom the logic if it is indeed a deliberate decision?
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Halandri

Email the Faq guys.

Try keep it concise and clear.

They do seem to use some information gathered that way.

   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





I don't think we can say for sure it's an error.

A lot of people assume that the Broodlord and the Patriarch are the same creature under different names. Looking at pictures, I can see how people think that. But if you look more closely there are differences. The Broodlord is actually quite a bit bigger, and the Patriarch has that exposed brain more like a Zoanthrope than a Broodlord.

I believe they are intended to be quite distinct creatures, who also perform very different roles for the fleet.

Maybe it is an error, but maybe it's intentional either for balance or to show that a Broodlord is even further from a standard Genestealer.
   
Made in gb
Lethal Lhamean




Birmingham

Does it really matter? I mean, +1 to hit when you're all ready WS2+ is for the most part functionally useless.
   
Made in gb
Missionary On A Mission






It could be an error, but IIRC the Cults and Tyranids are not so closely connected in the fluff. To the Hybrids and Purestrains of a Cult their Patriarch is a living ancestor who's treated with reverence and has a telepathic mind-link to his brood, whereas the Broodlord is a weird alien thingy. To a Hive Fleet, however, a Broodlord is a functional form spawned to lead their shock troops in battle, while the Patriarch is just a fat Genestealer waiting to be reassimilated. 8th Edition made this separation more explicit, I believe.

Ergo, Patriarch mind powers affect Genestealers who are his genetic descendants (Purestrains) but not Genestealers who are spawned directly from a Hive Fleet, and vice versa for the Broodlord. Their power is the same, hence the identical wording, but their targets are different.

Or, y'know, I could be giving GW too much credit and it's just an oversight. Also plausible.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/02/16 13:53:04


- - - - - - -
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: