Switch Theme:

Guardian Protocols  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






How does Guardian Protocol work with multi wound weapons.

The Rule:
Guardian Protocols:Roll a D6 each time a friendly character loses a wound whilst within 3 of this unit: on a 2+ a model from this unit can intercept that hit - the character does not lose a wound but this unit suffers a mortal wound.

I thought it was one thing than another player said something different, so here are the 2 ways that this rule can be handled, feel free to create another one to help me understand your interpretation of the rule.

Option A
A:Character is hit and wounded
B:Character fails saving throw
C:Lychguard rolls 2+ and take quote on quote "that hit"
D:Lychguard takes a mortal wound

Option B
A:Character is hit and wounded
B:Character fails saving throw
C:The attack causes 3 wounds
D:Lychguard roll 3 dice for each wound, rolling 3 2+ denying the wounds not the hit?
E:The Lychguard take 3 mortal wounds

I need help even though I have a feeling which option is correct and it has nothing to do with Imperium bias!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/26 22:34:14


   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

Option B is correct.

Tau Drones happen before the save is made, and turn it into a mortal wound.

GSC Unquestioning Loyalty happens after the save is made, but before damage is dealt, turning the wound into a single slain model.

Both of these apply whether the wound would've dealt 1 damage or 1,000.

Guardian Protocols, though, states that it's when a wound is LOST, not dealt. So if you get an OLord hit with a Thunder Hammer, he loses three wounds, and would require three 2+ rolls to take no damage, with each 2+ converting into a single mortal wound.

Notice how GW completely overloads the word "wound". Great writing. -_-

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Agreed. The key is is that the wound is lost, so each wound would need a separate Guardian Protocol, and would be converted (if all the rolls are made) to 3 mortal wounds.

JNAProductions is also right on the money about how GW muddied the waters with the overuse of "wound" so it become two separate things at two separate times.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: