Switch Theme:

Mordor Army Bonus -- Always worth it? Updated Thread  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Central Valley, California

Greetings,

I'm joining up with a friend to play 750 points of our Mordor vs. another friend's Good forces.
We are trying to round up some points (our collections are not large).
I own Morgul Knights -- but If I field even a few of them in the list do they negate our entire
mordor army bonus? Still a bit confused about the configurations.
Thanks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/04/22 15:13:22


Rolling 1's for over four decades

~Shrap  
   
Made in it
Orc of Angmar



Italy

Morgul Knights are part of Mordor army (page 134 Lotr army book). As such they do not negate any army bonus as non historical allies would do.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/03 11:20:20


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Central Valley, California

Johanxp wrote:
Morgul Knights are part of Mordor army (page 134 Lotr army book). As such they do not negate any army bonus as non historical allies would do.


Thanks for the assist, I took closer look and see it is not confusing as I was making it out to be.

One more question if you have a moment -- if the book states a hero may lead, "Up to 6 warriors" is there a minimum they must lead? I may be a few models short for Shagrat and am wondering if he can lead simply just 4 or so?

Rolling 1's for over four decades

~Shrap  
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




 Shrapnelsmile wrote:
One more question if you have a moment -- if the book states a hero may lead, "Up to 6 warriors" is there a minimum they must lead? I may be a few models short for Shagrat and am wondering if he can lead simply just 4 or so?
There's no minimum - see page 130 of the Rules Manual ("a captain does not have to take followers"). It's fine for a leader to lead 0 followers.
Note - minor heroes can lead between 0-6 followers. Shagrat is listed as a Hero of Fortitude in the Mordor list, so he can lead between 0-12 followers. If he appears in another list, the list would state what type of hero he counts as (independent, minor, fortitude, valour, or legendary). Not sure where the "up to 6 warriors" quote is from.

Back to the Morgul Knights:
Some players will tell you that they can negate the Mordor army bonus. However, those players are only saying that the knights indirectly negate the bonus.

You normally get an army bonus if either "your army consists entirely of models from the a single army list", or, should you include one or more allied warbands, all the allies are Historical Allies with everyone else in the army.
However, Mordor has an additional restriction: their army bonus only provides a benefit while you "have more models on the board than your opponent".

Morgul knights can be chosen from the Mordor army list (see the list on page 134 of the Armies of the Lord of the Rings book). Including Morgul knights would not automatically prevent you from getting the army bonus. However... Morgul knights are expensive. The more Morgul knights you field in your army, the less likely you are to "have more models on the board than your opponent"... and therefore the less likely you are to benefit from the army bonus. That is why you may have heard some players saying that the knights negate the army bonus.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/03 23:00:57


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Central Valley, California

Mallich wrote:
 Shrapnelsmile wrote:
One more question if you have a moment -- if the book states a hero may lead, "Up to 6 warriors" is there a minimum they must lead? I may be a few models short for Shagrat and am wondering if he can lead simply just 4 or so?
There's no minimum - see page 130 of the Rules Manual ("a captain does not have to take followers"). It's fine for a leader to lead 0 followers.
Note - minor heroes can lead between 0-6 followers. Shagrat is listed as a Hero of Fortitude in the Mordor list, so he can lead between 0-12 followers. If he appears in another list, the list would state what type of hero he counts as (independent, minor, fortitude, valour, or legendary). Not sure where the "up to 6 warriors" quote is from.

Back to the Morgul Knights:
Some players will tell you that they can negate the Mordor army bonus. However, those players are only saying that the knights indirectly negate the bonus.

You normally get an army bonus if either "your army consists entirely of models from the a single army list", or, should you include one or more allied warbands, all the allies are Historical Allies with everyone else in the army.
However, Mordor has an additional restriction: their army bonus only provides a benefit while you "have more models on the board than your opponent".

Morgul knights can be chosen from the Mordor army list (see the list on page 134 of the Armies of the Lord of the Rings book). Including Morgul knights would not automatically prevent you from getting the army bonus. However... Morgul knights are expensive. The more Morgul knights you field in your army, the less likely you are to "have more models on the board than your opponent"... and therefore the less likely you are to benefit from the army bonus. That is why you may have heard some players saying that the knights negate the army bonus.


absolutely fantastic advice and clarification. Thank you Mallich.

Rolling 1's for over four decades

~Shrap  
   
Made in it
Orc of Angmar



Italy

Good point!
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Central Valley, California

I appreciate the support above gentlemen. I installed Army Builder software (I found my old password / licence number), and now it all makes perfect sense.

I'll try to get some pictures up but it is a hassle here. Regardless, thanks again. Cheers.

Rolling 1's for over four decades

~Shrap  
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Central Valley, California

So my team partner and I found that during our game we were heavily focused on maintaining our army bonus for Mordor. Almost to the point of distraction.
Do any of you field a lot of heavier hitters and not worry about it? Or should I practice at maintaining my high number count but also manage the battle better? Just curious.

Rolling 1's for over four decades

~Shrap  
   
Made in us
Witch Hunter Undercover in a Cult







I usually field Mordor alongside Harad; they're green allies and plug each others' holes very well (Harad has strong archers but a crap front line, Mordor has a great front line but crap archers), and "while you have more models on the table than your opponent" works for any models so the Harad models (which are inexpensive and come in large quantities) count too.

Victoria est autem vita.

Stories at https://knightofthegrey.wordpress.com/
Game-related musings at https://thescenicdetour.wordpress.com/
Both updated irregularly 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Central Valley, California

 AnomanderRake wrote:
I usually field Mordor alongside Harad; they're green allies and plug each others' holes very well (Harad has strong archers but a crap front line, Mordor has a great front line but crap archers), and "while you have more models on the table than your opponent" works for any models so the Harad models (which are inexpensive and come in large quantities) count too.


you just made my morning at work buddy! I have a box of hardrim I was just about to sell.

Cheers

Rolling 1's for over four decades

~Shrap  
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Central Valley, California

I'm still primarily painting my orcs until I establish how I feel about this.Certainly fun to experiment on the battlefield to see what hits the painting desk next.

Rolling 1's for over four decades

~Shrap  
   
 
Forum Index » The Hobbit & Lord of the Rings
Go to: