Switch Theme:

Re-rolls & modifiers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Mindless Servitor



UK

So I know in the rule book it clearly states that re-rolls are applied before modifiers, but I'm unclear on this in practice.

Roboute Guilliman allows Ultramarines within 6" to re-roll any failed hit rolls. So as an example a Tactical Squad within this aura shoots at an enemy unit with a -1 to hit modifier, so with their BS 3+ an unmodified roll of a 3 is a successful hit and therefore can not be re-rolled. Then you apply the modifier and the unmodified 3 becomes a 2 and the hit fails. Is this correct? Or because you know the unmodified 3 will fail after the modifier is applied it becomes eligible for the re-roll?

Also if you are allowed to re-roll the unmodified 3, would this mean that if a unit had an ability to re-roll hit rolls of 1 and shot at a unit with a -1 to hit modifier that unmodified rolls of 2 become 1 and become eligible for the re-roll? As well as unmodified rolls of 3 being eligible for the re-roll against a -2 to hit modifier?
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





Goldenbrew wrote:
Roboute Guilliman allows Ultramarines within 6" to re-roll any failed hit rolls. So as an example a Tactical Squad within this aura shoots at an enemy unit with a -1 to hit modifier, so with their BS 3+ an unmodified roll of a 3 is a successful hit and therefore can not be re-rolled. Then you apply the modifier and the unmodified 3 becomes a 2 and the hit fails. Is this correct?

Yes, they have been pretty clear that this is how they want it to work. I find it really confusing though

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor





St. Louis, Missouri USA

Goldenbrew wrote:
So I know in the rule book it clearly states that re-rolls are applied before modifiers, but I'm unclear on this in practice.

Roboute Guilliman allows Ultramarines within 6" to re-roll any failed hit rolls. So as an example a Tactical Squad within this aura shoots at an enemy unit with a -1 to hit modifier, so with their BS 3+ an unmodified roll of a 3 is a successful hit and therefore can not be re-rolled. Then you apply the modifier and the unmodified 3 becomes a 2 and the hit fails. Is this correct? Or because you know the unmodified 3 will fail after the modifier is applied it becomes eligible for the re-roll?

Also if you are allowed to re-roll the unmodified 3, would this mean that if a unit had an ability to re-roll hit rolls of 1 and shot at a unit with a -1 to hit modifier that unmodified rolls of 2 become 1 and become eligible for the re-roll? As well as unmodified rolls of 3 being eligible for the re-roll against a -2 to hit modifier?
You were correct the first time. You reroll 1s and 2s, and then with your rerolled set of results, all 3s and below are misses. (number showing on the dice)

 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Goldenbrew wrote:
So I know in the rule book it clearly states that re-rolls are applied before modifiers, but I'm unclear on this in practice.

Roboute Guilliman allows Ultramarines within 6" to re-roll any failed hit rolls. So as an example a Tactical Squad within this aura shoots at an enemy unit with a -1 to hit modifier, so with their BS 3+ an unmodified roll of a 3 is a successful hit and therefore can not be re-rolled. Then you apply the modifier and the unmodified 3 becomes a 2 and the hit fails. Is this correct? Or because you know the unmodified 3 will fail after the modifier is applied it becomes eligible for the re-roll?

Also if you are allowed to re-roll the unmodified 3, would this mean that if a unit had an ability to re-roll hit rolls of 1 and shot at a unit with a -1 to hit modifier that unmodified rolls of 2 become 1 and become eligible for the re-roll? As well as unmodified rolls of 3 being eligible for the re-roll against a -2 to hit modifier?
To answer the highlighted question, yes this is correct. A roll of 3 with -1 to hit for a BS3+ model is a hit before modifiers and thus cannot be rerolled. Do I personally think this is a silly and unintuitive way of doing things? I do, but the rules are the rules. My suspicion is that they did not want people who had -1 to hit effects to feel "cheated" when you rolled a 2 which should miss, but now you get a re-roll and manage to hit, thus causing your rule that is meant to make you harder to hit make you easier to hit (although iirc the math on that isn't true, but feels > reals when it comes to game design).

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/03/04 15:32:59


 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

There is an exception-I believe Cawl has a rule that lets friendly MARS units near him reroll hits-not JUST failed hits-so you can reroll any hit die, regardless of success or failure.

But for the most part, what's been posted above is correct. Marines near a Chapter Master reroll 1s and 2s on die when rolling to hit, and never 3s.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

 JNAProductions wrote:
There is an exception-I believe Cawl has a rule that lets friendly MARS units near him reroll hits-not JUST failed hits-so you can reroll any hit die, regardless of success or failure.

But for the most part, what's been posted above is correct. Marines near a Chapter Master reroll 1s and 2s on die when rolling to hit, and never 3s.


Yep, just checked his entry, he allows you to re-roll all hit rolls, so even ones which normally wouldn't be allowed are infact allowed with him.
   
Made in gb
Mindless Servitor



UK

Thanks for the responses and making things a lot clearer for me.

I just wanted to further query a bit more.
When a unit has an ability to re-roll any hits (like the aura of Belisarius Cawl) you are able to re-roll the successful hits pre-modifier that are failed hits post-modifier?

Also say a unit had an ability to gain additional hits on a roll of a 6 and they shot at a unit with -1 to hit would they gain the additional hits? I know the Orks have Dakka Dakka Dakka but that states on an unmodified 6 so they would still get the additional hits. So is it impossible to gain the additional hits unless the rule states an unmodified roll of a 6?

Thanks again
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine





Tacoma, WA, USA

Rules will either say Unmodified roll of 6, or on a Hit Roll of 6+. You can't get a Hit Roll of 6 on 1d6-1.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Goldenbrew wrote:
Thanks for the responses and making things a lot clearer for me.

I just wanted to further query a bit more.
When a unit has an ability to re-roll any hits (like the aura of Belisarius Cawl) you are able to re-roll the successful hits pre-modifier that are failed hits post-modifier?

Also say a unit had an ability to gain additional hits on a roll of a 6 and they shot at a unit with -1 to hit would they gain the additional hits? I know the Orks have Dakka Dakka Dakka but that states on an unmodified 6 so they would still get the additional hits. So is it impossible to gain the additional hits unless the rule states an unmodified roll of a 6?

Thanks again
1) Correct, because you can re-roll ANY hits, not just misses. You might theoretically want to not do too much damage to an enemy and so re-roll all or most of your successful hits hoping to miss.

2) It depends on the rule. AFAIK nothing in 8th only triggers on a 6, it's either a 6+ or an unmodified 6. For a roll of 6+, yes, a -1 to the dice roll makes it impossible to activate, because you'll never roll a 6 on a D6-1, the only available outcomes (as per the Designers Commentary) being 1,1,2,3,4, or 5. Likewise a +1 to the roll makes it more likely to activate, as a roll of 6 or 7 will activate it, the only available outcomes on a D6+1 being 2,3,4,5,6, or 7 (while also bearing in mind a 1 always fails irrespective of modifiers when it comes to Hitting, Wounding or Saving).

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/03/04 19:35:03


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: