Switch Theme:

Allocating wounds and mortal wounds, what order, who chooses.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine






So this came up the other day and after playing with the skullreaver daemon prince in dozens of games I had never considered it (prehaps because I run it into one big monster or vehicle and let it loose).

The weapon does d6 damage and d3 mortal wounds on a wound roll of 6. Plus the daemon prince has his malifc talons which is 2 damage.

I charged him into a unit of 3 broadsides.

Who chooses which order damage is taken?

Can I allocate the mortal wounds one at a time?

Cheers guys
   
Made in au
Calm Celestian




The 'regular' wounds are resolved first then mortal wounds are done one at a time. The player who is taking the damage allocates it but multi-wodels that have already lost wounds take the damage first.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/10 13:58:18


   
Made in ca
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





The Frozen North

Since the mortal wounds are tied to the wound roll, which occurs before even rolling saves, I belive the order would look like this:

Attempt to hit.
Attempt to wound. For each roll of a 6+, inflict d3 mortal wounds before moving on.
Opponent attempts to save.
Roll damage (d6 per unsaved wound).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/10 13:54:49


Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.

Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it.
 
   
Made in gb
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine






That's how we played it although we did mortal wounds at end rather than at wound roll, but that makes sense.

It was the order that confused us as he took 4 damage, we couldn't decide if I chose the order (so could make him take the malefic talon or mortal wounds) before her rolled his next d6 damage.

Obviously he picks the model that takes the save, starting with the damged one. But can I make him take malific talon at any point or can he choose to roll it when he wants?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/10 14:24:33


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






BRB FAQ wrote:Q: If a weapon such as a rail rifle has an ability that can inflict a mortal wound on the target in addition to the normal damage, but the ‘normal damage’ is subsequently saved, does the target still suffer the mortal wound?
A: Yes. Note that if the ‘normal damage’ was not saved, the wound would be allocated on the target unit first (and any resulting damage inflicted) before the mortal wound was inflicted.
   
Made in gb
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine






So here is where I'm stuck for simplicity sake say I make a successful wound roll for.

1. d6 damage
2. d6 damage with d3 mortal wounds
3. D2 talon

Do I choose the order opponent makes the save. So I could start with the d6 plus d3 mortal. If I don't kill a unit then ask opponent to take d2 talon save. Or does he choose the ordsr they go in.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Attacks happen one at a time, you have to pick the order of the attacks you make.
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine





Tacoma, WA, USA

Time to get Technical. The rules assume your attacks are made one at a time, but allow for Fast Dice Rolling of attacks are equivalent for the unit (Same Skill, Strength, AP, and Damage). So technically, you need to declare if you are going to do your Skullreaver or Malefic Talon attacks first. So, assuming you choose to do the Skullreaver attacks first, the sequence is:
  • Roll Hit and Wound for Skullreaver, including Mortal Wounds
  • Opponent allocates and Saves versus Skullreaver Wounds one at a time, with you rolling Damage for each unsaved Wound
  • Mortal Wounds are assigned
  • Roll Hit and Wound for Malefic Talons
  • Opponent allocates and Saves versus Malefic Talon Wounds one at a time, taking 2 Damage for each unsaved Wound

  •    
    Made in gb
    Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine






     BaconCatBug wrote:
    Attacks happen one at a time, you have to pick the order of the attacks you make.


    Ah ok so as I've been rolling the attacks together, I would have to roll them separately if I wanted to allocate them in a order of my choosing. Which means I wouldn't know if I'd got the extra d3 mortal wounds or not. Is that correct?


    Automatically Appended Next Post:
     alextroy wrote:
    Time to get Technical. The rules assume your attacks are made one at a time, but allow for Fast Dice Rolling of attacks are equivalent for the unit (Same Skill, Strength, AP, and Damage). So technically, you need to declare if you are going to do your Skullreaver or Malefic Talon attacks first. So, assuming you choose to do the Skullreaver attacks first, the sequence is:
  • Roll Hit and Wound for Skullreaver, including Mortal Wounds
  • Opponent allocates and Saves versus Skullreaver Wounds one at a time, with you rolling Damage for each unsaved Wound
  • Mortal Wounds are assigned
  • Roll Hit and Wound for Malefic Talons
  • Opponent allocates and Saves versus Malefic Talon Wounds one at a time, taking 2 Damage for each unsaved Wound



  • Thanks that's nice and clear now

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/10 16:27:58


     
       
    Made in gb
    Horrific Hive Tyrant





     small_gods wrote:
     BaconCatBug wrote:
    Attacks happen one at a time, you have to pick the order of the attacks you make.


    Ah ok so as I've been rolling the attacks together, I would have to roll them separately if I wanted to allocate them in a order of my choosing. Which means I wouldn't know if I'd got the extra d3 mortal wounds or not. Is that correct?


    Automatically Appended Next Post:
     alextroy wrote:
    Time to get Technical. The rules assume your attacks are made one at a time, but allow for Fast Dice Rolling of attacks are equivalent for the unit (Same Skill, Strength, AP, and Damage). So technically, you need to declare if you are going to do your Skullreaver or Malefic Talon attacks first. So, assuming you choose to do the Skullreaver attacks first, the sequence is:
  • Roll Hit and Wound for Skullreaver, including Mortal Wounds
  • Opponent allocates and Saves versus Skullreaver Wounds one at a time, with you rolling Damage for each unsaved Wound
  • Mortal Wounds are assigned
  • Roll Hit and Wound for Malefic Talons
  • Opponent allocates and Saves versus Malefic Talon Wounds one at a time, taking 2 Damage for each unsaved Wound



  • Thanks that's nice and clear now


    In the instance where the order matters, yeah you need to roll them one by one.
       
    Made in us
    Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






     Stux wrote:
     small_gods wrote:
     BaconCatBug wrote:
    Attacks happen one at a time, you have to pick the order of the attacks you make.


    Ah ok so as I've been rolling the attacks together, I would have to roll them separately if I wanted to allocate them in a order of my choosing. Which means I wouldn't know if I'd got the extra d3 mortal wounds or not. Is that correct?


    Automatically Appended Next Post:
     alextroy wrote:
    Time to get Technical. The rules assume your attacks are made one at a time, but allow for Fast Dice Rolling of attacks are equivalent for the unit (Same Skill, Strength, AP, and Damage). So technically, you need to declare if you are going to do your Skullreaver or Malefic Talon attacks first. So, assuming you choose to do the Skullreaver attacks first, the sequence is:
  • Roll Hit and Wound for Skullreaver, including Mortal Wounds
  • Opponent allocates and Saves versus Skullreaver Wounds one at a time, with you rolling Damage for each unsaved Wound
  • Mortal Wounds are assigned
  • Roll Hit and Wound for Malefic Talons
  • Opponent allocates and Saves versus Malefic Talon Wounds one at a time, taking 2 Damage for each unsaved Wound



  • Thanks that's nice and clear now


    In the instance where the order matters, yeah you need to roll them one by one.


    Alextroy isn't far off, but Stux is also correct.

    Because Skullreaver has the "MW on a 6 to wound"; you cannot fast-dice the weapon. The outcome of which models might die can be changed by order of operations.
    For example: Fast-dice 2 skullreaver attacks, 1 normal wound and 1 MW causing wound, end result could be 3 dead models in the enemy unit by allocating normal wound, normal wound, then mortal wounds if the damage was high enough. But if you roll 1 attack at a time, as you should, the first could score the MWs and only kill 2 models(low damage to the first normal wound, MW allocate until the model is dead, whith spillover because MWs, then the second model dies from damage due to normal wound.

    Normal wound damage does not spill over, mortal wounds are all single damage, individual wounds..

    This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
    Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



     
       
    Made in gb
    Norn Queen






    You absolutely can fast roll them, the rules permit you to do so. You still have to make sure each dice knows where it's come from, however, and then the opponent allocates wounds in the order they desire, as per the fast rolling rules. What you can't do is roll all the weapons (with different Strength, Armour Penetration and Damage characteristics) together at the same time, you have to do each weapon individually.

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/10 18:58:27


     
       
    Made in us
    Pious Palatine





    Tacoma, WA, USA

    I agree. You can fast roll the Skullreaver attacks even given the Special Rule that causes Mortal Wounds since they meet all the criteria required for Fast Dice Rolling.
       
     
    Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
    Go to: