Switch Theme:

Pile in after a unit is defeated?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Been Around the Block





So my knight was in close combat with my opponents demon hordes while my troops were safe behind the knight and out of reach from the melee. In charges the Kharn the betrayer, kills the knight were upon the demon hordes pile into my troops and wipe them out too. Long discussion ensues about the interpretations of the fight phase rules witch come to involve the neighbouring tables as well. Final consensus was that it was not a legal move but we ask if this was the correct conclusion?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/10 15:10:45


Deathwatch +3000p
Farsight +2000p
Kraken +2000p
Nephrekh +1000 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Unlike in previous edition, consolidates happen after you have finished fighting.
If a unit has not charged during their previous charge phase and all their opponents are defeated, they do not get to pile-in or consolidate, just like any other unit that does not have enemy models within 1" of it.

So yes, you made the right call for the daemons, though Kharn himself might be allowed to consolidate into your troops after smashing the knight.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in gb
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine






It depends on whether his daemons had declared your troops in the charge phase or not. They can declare a unit. Successfuly charge a second unit, which is destroyed before they are activated to attack, and pile into the unit they were out of range/blocked from before the other unit was destroyed.

You don't have to be within an inch to pile in or consolidate. You only have to have made a successful charge in the previous charge phase.

I use this all the time with my bloodletters to get to as many units as possible in the charge phase.
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






When a unit is selected to fight, it does three things: it piles in, it attacks, and it consolidates.

Kharn and Berzerkers can be chosen to fight twice per Fight phase, so can do it all twice.

Any unit that is either currently within 1" of an enemy, or declared a charge this turn can be chosen to fight. This means that if Kharn or a Berzerker squad charged, they can be chosen to fight twice - even if there are no enemies within 1". Note that they can only make attacks against enemies they declared a charge against, though.

So Kharn could have consolidated after killing the Knight, and then as part of his second fight activation, piled into another unit. If that's not enough to reach combat, he could have then consolidated another 3".

However, he would only be allowed to attack units that he declared a charge against, and any units now within 1" of him can attack him.

As a Khorne player, I've made it a habit to declare charges against everything within 12", unless I'm unlikely to actually get into combat with them, or if their overwatch would hurt too much.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: