Switch Theme:

Rules probleme  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fr
Fresh-Faced New User




Hello here.

With my friend we have a probleme

Can I take this move or not (the monster fly)

Thx for your answer


Automatically Appended Next Post:

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/16 01:29:52


 
   
Made in us
Bounding Ultramarine Assault Trooper





Oklahoma City

No, because you can only charge the side of a unit that is within YOUR charge arc at he beginning of the turn. For example, you cannot move past the front facing of a unit, and charge their flank. You would have to charge their front facing.

I can still remember when a box of 30 Space Marines was $30.00. Now THAT'S old school! In fact, I started playing in the Rogue Trader days...yes, I am that old. Played Warhammer Fantasy for years before Rogue Trader even came out...

6,800 Pts. Ultramarines, 1,500 Pts. Deathwatch, 1,000 Pts. Black Templars, 1,000 Pts. Blood Ravens, 1,000 Pts. Emperors Children, 2,000 Pts. Word Bearers, 3,500 Pts. Eldar (Alaitoc or Biel-tan), 2,000 Pts. Tau, 2,000 Pts. Sisters of Battle, 999 Pts. of Thousand Sons, 1,000 Points Dark Eldar, 1,000 Points Adeptus Arbites, 1,000 Points Freebooters, 1,000 Points "Last Chancers", 1,000 Points Tyranids, 1,000 Points Necrons

2,500 Pts. Brotherhood, 2,000 Pts. Undead, 2,000 Pts. Sylvan Kin Elves, 2,000 Pts. Empire of Dust, 3,000 Pts. Orcs with Goblin Allies

5 Necromunda Gangs, 10 Mordheim Warbands, and 5 Frostgrave warbands 
   
Made in cz
Scarab with a Cracked Shell



Prague, Czechia

 CaptainLoken wrote:
No, because you can only charge the side of a unit that is within YOUR charge arc at he beginning of the turn. For example, you cannot move past the front facing of a unit, and charge their flank. You would have to charge their front facing.


I do not understand what you mean. The target IS within the charger's front arc and the charger is in the flank of the target, so the charge is legit as far as the charger can get there (either fly or nimble is enough in the situation, maybe even without them as it looks the charger needs just one pivot when going around the other unit).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/03/16 19:04:52


 
   
Made in de
Primus





Rhein Main Gebiet

We are missing one vital piece of information. The line of sight for the target Monster.

You can only charge the side you start in.

By the looks of the diagram the Dragon starts with the majority of it frontage in the front arc of the monster.

"What do you want?"
"I'd like to live just long enough to be there when they cut off your head and stick it on a pike as a warning to the next ten generations that some favors come with too high a price. I'd look up at your lifeless eyes and wave like this. Can you and your associates arrange it for me, Mr. Morden?"
Morden and Vir, In the Shadow of Z'ha'dum 
   
Made in cz
Scarab with a Cracked Shell



Prague, Czechia

 StygianBeach wrote:

By the looks of the diagram the Dragon starts with the majority of it frontage in the front arc of the monster.


Interesting. Are we looking at the same picture. :-) To me it looks (I even checked it once again now) that the whole of the charger frontage is in the side of the charged monster. Of course, I assume that the charger frontage is where the movement arrow/path starts, facing upwards in the picture.
   
Made in at
Privateer




Austria

The Problem is that it is not marked were the front arc of the attacker is

If the front is were the text is, than it is not possible as the targets flank is no viable target

if the front is were the arrow is, than it is a legal charge if there is enough space between the charging unit and Inf GT to stay 1" apart and still touch more than the corner of the monster

Harry, bring this ring to Narnia or the Sith will take the Enterprise

M41 - Alternative Rules for Battles in the 41st Millennium (40k LRB Project) 
   
Made in fr
Fresh-Faced New User





Thx for your answers, I made a new version with more details :

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/17 17:30:02


 
   
Made in at
Privateer




Austria

I would say no and consider it a Corner to Corner charge as there is not enough room to stay away from the infantry unit and still be in contact with the monster

Harry, bring this ring to Narnia or the Sith will take the Enterprise

M41 - Alternative Rules for Battles in the 41st Millennium (40k LRB Project) 
   
Made in cz
Scarab with a Cracked Shell



Prague, Czechia

 kodos wrote:

if the front is were the arrow is, than it is a legal charge if there is enough space between the charging unit and Inf GT to stay 1" apart and still touch more than the corner of the monster


You do not have to stay 1" apart when charging ...

The charge is legal, it is not a corner to corner ...
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Pg 56 of the hardcover. "Remember that when charging, units don't have to stay away from enemies, and this means that sometimes a charging unit may end up in contact with both its target and one or more enemy units it has not charged (e.g. when charging a unit that is part of a tight enemy battle line). In this case, you'll have to nudge these enemy units away to ensure that they are no longer touching."

It looks like a legal charge.

Kings of War: Abyssal Dwarves, Dwarves, Elves, Undead
Kings of War Historical: Macedonian
Dropzone Commander: PHR
Blood Angels Necron [WiP]

 
   
Made in jp
Incorporating Wet-Blending





Japan

In that diagram, at least, the front arc of the monster is entirely within the front arc of the charging unit.

Now showing Mantic dwarfs, painted for Vanguard!




Painting total as of 10/10/2019: 113 plus a wooden bridge and gnoll encampment and 36 pieces of Mantic scatter terrain and three fly holes and three farm buildings and a fire pit.


 
   
Made in cz
Scarab with a Cracked Shell



Prague, Czechia

 JoshInJapan wrote:
In that diagram, at least, the front arc of the monster is entirely within the front arc of the charging unit.


But this is irrelevant to what side of the target can be charged. The charger is in the side of the target unit, so the target is (if possible, which in the discussed situation is true) charged to the side.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/18 10:27:14


 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Enigmatic Exalted Daemon





Albany, NY

Just tossing in that this is a legal flank charge in my experience, and one I've had done to me on occasion

BLOODFIRE: KOW SALAMANDER REPORTS 
   
Made in fr
Fresh-Faced New User




Thx a lot for your answer
   
Made in de
Primus





Rhein Main Gebiet

 Boss Salvage wrote:
Just tossing in that this is a legal flank charge in my experience, and one I've had done to me on occasion


Based on the second diagram I would agree.

"What do you want?"
"I'd like to live just long enough to be there when they cut off your head and stick it on a pike as a warning to the next ten generations that some favors come with too high a price. I'd look up at your lifeless eyes and wave like this. Can you and your associates arrange it for me, Mr. Morden?"
Morden and Vir, In the Shadow of Z'ha'dum 
   
Made in no
Boom! Leman Russ Commander






Oslo Norway

Legal charge. You could have turned a bit earlier and gone straight towards the flank of the monster instead of coming in on the rear corner.

   
 
Forum Index » Mantic Miniature Games (Kings of War, etc.)
Go to: