Switch Theme:

Attacks and Weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun




Edmonton, Alberta

Just for clarification to settle a dispute on the rules.

On a model that has two Melee weapons but four attacks, The player chooses the weapon he makes the attacks with does he not?

Just as, a model with one attack but two weapons. Does he make one attack with both melee weapons or does he choose one weapon to make one attack?
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From page 183 of the Warhammer 40,000 8th edition Rulebook (Choose Melee Weapon):

If a model has more than one melee weapon, choose which it will use before rolling the dice. If a model has more than one melee weapon and can make several close combat attacks, it can split its attacks between these weapons however you wish – declare how you will divide the attacks before any dice are rolled.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun




Edmonton, Alberta

Exactly what I thought. Thanks
   
Made in se
Regular Dakkanaut




Sweden

But some weapons say "you can make an additional attack with this weapon". Then you need to use that specific weapon.

Nurgle protects. Kinda.
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Kall3m0n wrote:
But some weapons say "you can make an additional attack with this weapon". Then you need to use that specific weapon.

Well, it needs to be used once in order to make that additional attack...

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

For the most part you don't. Most such weapons state "When the bearer fights, it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon." There is no requirement you any other attacks with the weapon, just that you bear it and you fight.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Charistoph wrote:
Kall3m0n wrote:
But some weapons say "you can make an additional attack with this weapon". Then you need to use that specific weapon.

Well, it needs to be used once in order to make that additional attack...
Actually, it does not. Please don't spread false information.
BRB FAQ wrote:Q: A chainsword has the following ability: ‘Each time the bearer fights, it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon’. If, for example, a Khorne Berzerker is armed with a chainsword and chainaxe, does he make two attacks with the chainaxe and then one additional attack with the chainsword, or does he have to split his attacks (making at least one attack with the chainsword) to be able to make the additional attack with the chainsword?
A: He can make two attacks with the chainaxe, then one additional attack with the chainsword.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





It's an understandable mistake due to ambiguities in English. Sometimes additional means more of something you already had, sometimes it means something different on top of other things you have.

Luckily, as BCB has pointed out, there is an FAQ that tells us which interpretation is correct!
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




So when GW shows a bunch of models with dual melee weapons (Looking at you new Primaris LT, and Deathwatch Blackshield) it holds zero advantage over just one melee weapon? Why does GW make models with 2 knives or 2 power swords?
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka






Because it looks good.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

In 7th you had one additional attack if you had two identical melee weapons, which i liked. In 8th two melee weapons of the same type have no advantage rules wise, the second is wasted, you better get a ranged weapon, or a SS. There are some exceptions, like chainswords, lightning claws, which have special rules.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
So when GW shows a bunch of models with dual melee weapons (Looking at you new Primaris LT, and Deathwatch Blackshield) it holds zero advantage over just one melee weapon? Why does GW make models with 2 knives or 2 power swords?


With the new Phobos LT, it doesn't actually have any melee wargear as such. Every model in the game is assumed to have some means of making melee attacks, even if they don't explicitly have wargear for such. For the LT, the knives are that weapons. Tactical Marines also often carry knives, but they're basic enough that they don't require additional rules in game.

In the specific case of the LT again though, it actually does have special rules to represent the fact it has many knives, and knows how to use them!

All that aside, yes generally speaking having multiples of the same melee weapon has no benefit, though there are exceptions. Tyranid Scything Talons for instance.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: