Switch Theme:

I want to make sure I played this right - Subsequent round pile ins  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Death-Dealing Devastator




Arkansas (Not Canada)

So here's the situation. Me and my opponent are in combat, for this example lets say space marines vs wracks. Last turn, my marines charged and fought, and the wracks fought back, casualties are not important.

Now for this turn picture there is a Ravager close enough that my marines can pile into (still moving closer to the closest model by pivoting around his base).

That marine that got within an inch of the Ravager, and every model in the unit within an inch of him, can now attack the Ravager, correct?

The Ravager was not charged, but since the marines have been in combat and did not charge this round the restriction of only fighting what you've charged no longer applies, they can pile into new targets (if close enough) and fight.

7500+
4000+
3000+
1500+
1000+
1000+
1000+ 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Correct. The rule is very simple, if a unit charged this turn, it can only attack units it declared a charge against. Models in units that did not charge can attack any unit within 1" of them when they make their attacks during the Fight Phase.
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

Now here is where you have to be careful and things get sketchy. For instance, I usually tend to ensure, for this very reason, that my models able to be more than 1”, I’m talking even 1.1” if not ever so slightly more, away when any big 32-40mm base tries to swing around to do this. Some opponents will attempt to like daisy chain over to the unit or “slightly push” one model to get another beside it, which conviently pushes the first model moved over to WITHIN an inch. Be careful of this, because they can no dk this because at that point, the model they “shoved” of theirs out of the way now has not moved towards the CLOSEST unit, since it was shoved. Just something to look out for is all
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





Auckland, NZ

The marines can indeed pile in and fight the second unit (Ravager) in the second turn of combat. As at that time they are no longer bound by the restriction that they can only allocate attacks to units they charged.

Note however, that in order to be able to pile in and fight at that time they must be within 1" of at least one enemy model.
So if they are still within 1" of at least one Wrack, then they can be selected to fight, pile in 3" into the ravager, and allocate attacks to the ravager.
If they are no longer within 1" of any enemies in the second turn, then they can no longer be selected to fight. Even if they are within 3" of the ravager.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: