Switch Theme:

Leadership Debuff and Losing Models  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Backwoods bunker USA

Let’s say a large number of debuffs puts a unit’s Leadership at negative two when calculated (e.g. Ld7 - 9 debuff = Ld-2.)

The unit then loses a model. And rolls a 5 for Morale. Is Ld-2 or Ld0 used for Morale tests?

I.e. Do they then lose:

5 Morale roll + 1 casualty - (Ld-2) = 8 models flee?

Or, 5 Morale roll + 1 casualty - (Ld0) = 6 models flee?

Thanks.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






From the rulebook, "Modifying Characteristics" (emphasis mine)
Note that, regardless of the source, characteristics of ‘-’ can never be modified, and the Strength, Toughness and Leadership characteristics of a model can never be modified below 1.
Also note that you need to be clear on the difference between rules that modify the characteristic, and rules that modify the dice roll.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/22 17:33:00


 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

As stated above, the leadership even if debuffs equal -1,000, will still be 1. So he would roll and lose however many models based upon the roll
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




so in effect no matter what the Ld modifier is you can't lose more than 1d6 to morale?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






leopard wrote:
so in effect no matter what the Ld modifier is you can't lose more than 1d6 to morale?
Where did you get that idea? You (essentially, yes it's a shortcut I know I am a bad man I will spank myself later) lose D6+Slain-Ld models. If you're Ld1, 5 models Slain and roll a 6, you're losing 6+5-1=10 models. If you're Ld7, 1 model Slain and roll a 6, you're losing 6+1-7=0 models.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/03/24 00:14:17


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

EDIT : BCB was faster.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/24 00:19:37


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 BaconCatBug wrote:
leopard wrote:
so in effect no matter what the Ld modifier is you can't lose more than 1d6 to morale?
Where did you get that idea? You (essentially, yes it's a shortcut I know I am a bad man I will spank myself later) lose D6+Slain-Ld models. If you're Ld1, 5 models Slain and roll a 6, you're losing 6+5-1=10 models. If you're Ld7, 1 model Slain and roll a 6, you're losing 6+1-7=0 models.


case of typing before thinking there, thats how someone was playing it around here

*hangs head in shame*
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: