Switch Theme:

AM Laurels of Command and Superior Tactics Training  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot






Texas

I know they FAQ this. I am trying to wrap my head around the order of operations for how the Laurels RElic and Cadian Superior Tac Training combo. Is this right?

See below for key points.
Natural Order: An order given by an officer with the Voice of Command Ability
Laurels of Command ISSUES another LoC Order. (LoC order is another extra order from the relic and does not count against the 2 orders a Company Commander can giver per its Voice of Command ability.
Superior Tactical Training (STT Order) EFFECTS another Unit with the same ISSUED LoC Order or Natural Order


Q: How do The Laurels of Command and Superior Tactical Training interact? For example, my Warlord is a Cadian Company Commander and I give him The Laurels of Command and the Superior Tactical Training Warlord Trait. How many orders is he potentially allowed to issue each turn, and how many units can those orders affect?
A: If he issues an order to a Cadian Infantry unit within 6" (unit A) using his Voice of Command ability, first roll a dice for Superior Tactical Training; on a 4+, you can pick another Cadian Infantry unit (unit B) within 6" for that order to affect. Then roll a dice for The Laurels of Command; on a 4+ he can issue a second order to the first unit (unit A). You can then roll again for Superior Tactical Training; on a 4+, you can pick another Cadian Infantry unit within 6" for the second order to affect (this does not have to be unit B, but can be). Note that when you use Superior Tactical Training, an order is not issued – rather, an already issued order affects an additional unit. So you cannot use The Laurels of Command to generate further orders as a result of using Superior Tactical Training, but you can use Superior Tactical Training to make secondary orders caused by The Laurels of Command affect an additional unit.

1.) Company Commander ISSUE 1st Natural Order of 2 Eligible Orders to Unit A; Take Aim
2.) Roll for Superior Tactical Training(STT), on 4+ STT Order EFFECTS Unit B; Take Aim. If STT fails then you still roll for Laurels LoC Order for Unit A, [Step 3]
3.) Roll for Laurels of Command(LoC) for Unit A; on 4+ ISSUE LoC Order Bring it Down [stacks w/ Step 1] If Laurels fails then proceed to [Step 4]. If STT failed in [Step 2], but Laurels succeeded go to [Step 5] for Unit A.
4.) Roll for STT Order on 4+ Bring it Down EFFECTS Unit B (or other nearby unit C, D, etc…) [stacks]
5.) Roll for Laurels of Command for Unit A (or B if step 2 was successful?); on 4+ ISSUE 3rd LoC Order FRFSRF [stacks w/ Step 1 & Step 3]
6.) Roll for STT Order on 4+ FRFSRF Unit B [stacks]
7.) Roll for Laurels LoC Order on 4+ for Unit A
8.) Have both STT and Laurels failed? If yes, ISSUE 2nd Natural Order of Company Commander and fall steps above. If No continue above Steps 2&3 until both have failed.

10000+
10000+
8500+
3000+
8000+
3500+ IK Plus 1x Warhound, Reaver, Warlord Titans

DakkaSwap Successful Transactions: cormadepanda, pretre x3, LibertineIX, Lbcwanabe, privateer4hire, Cruentus (swap), Scatwick2 (swap), boneheadracer (swap), quickfuze (swap), Captain Brown (swap) x2, luftsb, Forgottonson, WillvonDoom, bocatt (swap)

*I'm on Bartertown as Dynas 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Natural order and LoC order aren’t rules terms. It’s not massively helpful complicating your thought process with these additions.

- The Company Commander in your example can issue two Orders a turn.

As I read it, when you issue an Order with the combo mentioned:

- The unit you picked is affected by an Order
- On a 4+ the Order affects another unit
- On a 4+ the original ordered unit can be issued a second order, exceeding the usual limit of one
- Unless via Laurels, no unit can be affected by more than one Order per turn.
- Repeat until out of Orders or units eligible to be ordered.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/03/22 19:56:49


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

JohnnyHellHas it almost correct.

The Company Commander can issue orders twice, however, each time he does, he does the following.

1) Company Commander issues order to unit (A)
2) Roll for Superior Tactical Training. If successful the order issued in 1 is applied to a second unit (B)
3) Roll for Laurels of Command.
4) If Laurels of Command was successful issue a bonus order to Unit A, then roll for Superior Tactical Training.
5) If second Superior Tactical Training was successful, extend the bonus order to another unit. This may be unit B per the FAQ or another unit.

Once you've done the above for your first order, you may issue your second order and follow the same process.
   
Made in ca
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot






Texas

 alextroy wrote:
JohnnyHellHas it almost correct.

The Company Commander can issue orders twice, however, each time he does, he does the following.

1) Company Commander issues order to unit (A)
2) Roll for Superior Tactical Training. If successful the order issued in 1 is applied to a second unit (B)
3) Roll for Laurels of Command.
4) If Laurels of Command was successful issue a bonus order to Unit A, then roll for Superior Tactical Training.
5) If second Superior Tactical Training was successful, extend the bonus order to another unit. This may be unit B per the FAQ or another unit.

Once you've done the above for your first order, you may issue your second order and follow the same process.


This is how I have it...i think.

The complication comes with, going beyond 2 orders or 2 units. Also, what if STT fails and laurels doesnt and vice versa, the other still comes into play.

10000+
10000+
8500+
3000+
8000+
3500+ IK Plus 1x Warhound, Reaver, Warlord Titans

DakkaSwap Successful Transactions: cormadepanda, pretre x3, LibertineIX, Lbcwanabe, privateer4hire, Cruentus (swap), Scatwick2 (swap), boneheadracer (swap), quickfuze (swap), Captain Brown (swap) x2, luftsb, Forgottonson, WillvonDoom, bocatt (swap)

*I'm on Bartertown as Dynas 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: