Switch Theme:

Pathfinder Vanguard Move  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Can I use my Pathfinder's Vanguard move to embark within a transport before the first turn begins?

Example:
Pathfinder's deploy within 10" of an empty Devilfish.
Using their vanguard ability, they move 7", and, having ended their move within 3" of a transport, they embark upon it.

The wording next to "embarking" in the Main Rulebook seems to make this legit.

Why Would I want to do that?

To allow their accompany drones to be on the table at deployment within protection range of something useful, but allow the Pathfinders to take shelter against no-LOS attacks before the game begins.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/23 03:30:06


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Rocmistro wrote:
Can I use my Pathfinder's Vanguard move to embark within a transport before the first turn begins?

Example:
Pathfinder's deploy within 10" of an empty Devilfish.
Using their vanguard ability, they move 7", and, having ended their move within 3" of a transport, they embark upon it.

The wording next to "embarking" in the Main Rulebook seems to make this legit.

Why Would I want to do that?

To allow their accompany drones to be on the table at deployment within protection range of something useful, but allow the Pathfinders to take shelter against no-LOS attacks before the game begins.
No, due to BRB errata.
WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK Official Update Version 1.3 wrote:Page 183 – Embark
Change the first sentence to read:
‘If all models in a unit end their move within 3" of a friendly transport in the Movement phase, they can embark within it.’
Remember, the rules in the rulebooks don't mean anything anymore, you always have to check for errata or Special Snowflake FAQ in every single FAQ to be sure now.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/23 04:16:50


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Thanks Bacon. Yeah referencing every FAQ and Errata and designer's note, and keeping the PDFs up to date is getting to be a real pain in the ass, tbh. One must have a secondary job as a librarian to keep track of all this.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: