Switch Theme:

Disembarking and embarking in the same turn  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Brainy Zoanthrope





hey all i have a question about the embarkation rules. I am going to be running a cheeky airdrop flamer list with 4 Valkyries and since ill be swooping around the map with oodles of disembarking i was wondering if i can embark a different unit at the end of the movement phase.

"Some models are noted as being a Transport on their datasheet – these vehicles ferry warriors to the front line, providing them with speed and protection. The following rules describe how units can embark and disembark from transports, and how they are used to move their passengers across the battlefield. Note that a unit cannot both embark and disembark in the same turn.". Does this sentence apply to the unit trying to get into the transport or also the transport?

For the scenario.

Walk moves 40 inches zig zaging around the map. i drop 2 Special weapons squads grav chute style. at the end of the move i move a infantry squad next to the Valkyie, can that infantry squad embark? or do the bolded words apply to the transport too?

secondary question, can i grav chute 2 separate times in the same move with 2 separate squads?

"Grav-chute Insertion: Models may disembark from this vehicle at any point during its move, but if the Vendetta moves 20" or more, you must roll a D6 for each model disembarking. On a 1, that model is slain. Models that disembark in this manner must be set up more than 9" from any enemy models"

so far i have not found a prohibitive statement.

Dread.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/25 14:39:34


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Buried in the Stepping Into A New Edition FAQ, they gave a parenthetical aside to an answer to a question that didn't have anything to do with embarking and disembarking the same turn that prohibits this.

Q: Can a unit that Advances or Falls Back embark
within a transport? What about if the transport has
moved before – can a unit still embark inside?
A: Yes, yes and yes (remember though that a transport
cannot both embark and disembark units in the
same turn).

The part of the answer in parentheses keeps you from doing what you want.

The Stepping Into a New Edition FAQ is the only place where this is mentioned, so many people might have missed this. JohnnyHell pointed this out in a previous thread asking this a couple of months ago, which was why I remembered this vaguely (and still it took a fair amount of wading down through answers to the search function to find the thread)
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/769737.page#10306581


This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/03/25 14:58:45


 
   
Made in us
Brainy Zoanthrope





Thanks Doc!

that slows down some of the mobility but i was expecting that,

what about the disembarking twice? or three times even?
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

Please explain what you mean by disembarking more than once per turn?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





dreadlybrew wrote:
Thanks Doc!

that slows down some of the mobility but i was expecting that,

what about the disembarking twice? or three times even?


I'd have to look at the grav chute insertion rule to be sure from a RAW standpoint. I don't recall it letting you use grav chute insertion multiple times if you're trying to drop the units in different places. If you are trying to drop the units together to have them land in the same area I'd have to see the wording. From a RAI standpoint I suspect they'd let you drop a character and a unit into the same spot, but I'd have to see the wording if it's able to be done by RAW.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 doctortom wrote:
dreadlybrew wrote:
Thanks Doc!

that slows down some of the mobility but i was expecting that,

what about the disembarking twice? or three times even?


I'd have to look at the grav chute insertion rule to be sure from a RAW standpoint. I don't recall it letting you use grav chute insertion multiple times if you're trying to drop the units in different places. If you are trying to drop the units together to have them land in the same area I'd have to see the wording. From a RAI standpoint I suspect they'd let you drop a character and a unit into the same spot, but I'd have to see the wording if it's able to be done by RAW.
I disagree with this sentiment - the RAW does not prohibit you from disembarking multiple units at different times. Let's say I have a rhino with two 5-man squad Tac's. The rules does not prohibit me from disembarking one unit before I move the rhino and disembarking the second unit in the subsequent round. Of course, I will not be allowed to drop off a unit then move to another then embark them into the rhino as RAW clearly prohibits the act of disembark and embark happening on the same turn.

However, going back to the OP's example of 'zig-zagging' valkyries, on a technical stand point this would be disallowed as in order for you to move more than 20" the valkyrie needs to not invoke its Hover Jet rule - at which time you need to follow the rules for Supersonic which only allows you to pivot your valkyrie only once before you move it which then moves in a straight line.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 skchsan wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
dreadlybrew wrote:
Thanks Doc!

that slows down some of the mobility but i was expecting that,

what about the disembarking twice? or three times even?


I'd have to look at the grav chute insertion rule to be sure from a RAW standpoint. I don't recall it letting you use grav chute insertion multiple times if you're trying to drop the units in different places. If you are trying to drop the units together to have them land in the same area I'd have to see the wording. From a RAI standpoint I suspect they'd let you drop a character and a unit into the same spot, but I'd have to see the wording if it's able to be done by RAW.
I disagree with this sentiment - the RAW does not prohibit you from disembarking multiple units at different times. Let's say I have a rhino with two 5-man squad Tac's. The rules does not prohibit me from disembarking one unit before I move the rhino and disembarking the second unit in the subsequent round. Of course, I will not be allowed to drop off a unit then move to another then embark them into the rhino as RAW clearly prohibits the act of disembark and embark happening on the same turn.

However, going back to the OP's example of 'zig-zagging' valkyries, on a technical stand point this would be disallowed as in order for you to move more than 20" the valkyrie needs to not invoke its Hover Jet rule - at which time you need to follow the rules for Supersonic which only allows you to pivot your valkyrie only once before you move it which then moves in a straight line.
The RaW does not prohibit embarking and disembarking on the same turn, Special Snowflake FAQ does.

Yes, you can disembark any combination of units that are embarked on a Valkyrie via the Grav Drop rule.
   
Made in us
Brainy Zoanthrope





But can i disembark at different points with them? 20 inches away from each other for example.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






dreadlybrew wrote:
But can i disembark at different points with them? 20 inches away from each other for example.
Yes. RAW or SSF does not prohibit this otherwise.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: