Switch Theme:

Deploying whole army as blips.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Had my second league game tonight playing Genestealer Cults. My opponent insisted that I could not place my whole army on the board as blips during deployment. He said cult ambush counted as deep strikes and you can only DS. half your army. He is saying this is in FAQ for the codex. (1ST QUESTION mentioning units in cult ambush are on the board and count in regards toward reserves. So his position is only half the army can be deployed as blips and blips count as being in reserve. It says they count as being on the board. I deployed them without using blips and won anyways. This gentleman will insist for the whole league I cannot deploy this way. Can I get some comments on this so I a can show them to the shop owner. Right now he seems unsure.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

CODEX: GENESTEALER CULTS Errata/FAQ wrote:Page 79 – Cult Ambush
Add the following sentence:
‘Matched Play: In matched play, units set up in ambush using this rule count as being set up on the battlefield for the purposes of Tactical Reserves.’


So if you are using matched play, then they "count as being set up on the battlefield for the purposes of Tactical Reserves"

From Page 1:

https://whc-cdn.games-workshop.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/warhammer_40000_genestealer_cults_en.pdf

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Nothing to debate here, just look at the errata. It's the very first one even! Tactical Reserves rule counts them on the battlefield, so you can have your whole army deployed as blips, no problem.
[Thumb - Screenshot_20190402-233940~2.jpg]

   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





That is the what he is using to say I cannot. He is saying that they COUNT as being set up in Tactical Reserves.
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut





He was wrong on all counts and the Faq is very clear.

Page 79 – Cult Ambush
Add the following sentence:
‘Matched Play: In matched play, units set up in ambush using
this rule count as being set up on the battlefield for the purposes of Tactical Reserves.’

Tactical Reserves says only half your army may be in reserves.
This clearly says that blips count as being on the board rather then in reserve and therefor do not count against the limit of only half your army being in reserves.

"Count as being set up on the battlefield for the purposes of Tactical Reserves"
I don't see how anyone can read that any different way.
Your not in reserve, your on the battlefield.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
octar wrote:
That is the what he is using to say I cannot. He is saying that they COUNT as being set up in Tactical Reserves.
They count as on the battlefield for the Tactical Reserve rule
No where does that say they count as being in Tactical Reserve, which btw is not even a state a model can be in. Its the name of a rule, not a gamestate

Your in reserve, or on the battlefield. The faq makes it perfectly clear which of you the two you are counted as.
Hint, its the battlefield.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/04/02 22:57:23


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

octar wrote:
That is the what he is using to say I cannot. He is saying that they COUNT as being set up in Tactical Reserves.


They "count as being set up on the battlefield" how is he saying they are not on the battlefield?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/04/03 04:56:49


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





Auckland, NZ

Tactical Reserves is a rule, of which the latest version is in the big faq 2.



It is the rule that says you can only have 50% of your army set up off the table at the start of the game.
The genestealer cult errata says that blipped units count as being set up on the table for the purposes of this rule. Therefore you're not breaking the 50% limit by blipping your whole army. It's pretty clear cut.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Like everyone else has said, it's explicitly clear, units deployed as Blips count as being on the table for the purposes of Tactical Reserves.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: