Switch Theme:

Eversor Assassin - Killing Rampage  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




So had a game over the weekend, my Deathwatch+ vs. Chaos Word Bearers.

Turn 2, I dropped two Jump Captains and my Eversor into his backfield where he had a squad of 10 cultists on an objective I needed for a VP. Long story short - My Eversor shot, killed 3 models, then charged. I succeeded, and then in the fight phase I killed 5 models. So he removes 5 models and declares the fight phase over. I said, no, he gets Killing Rampage. His response was that there are no models within melee range, as he removed the ones closest.

I couldn't find out if Sequencing occurs here, and he's right, my abilities only trigger AFTER he removes models. The wording on the ability states "after a model is slain..." this means removed, or before it's removed? His then argument was if it's before, I can't target anything anyway because everything within an inch is dead.

I state that Killing Rampage applies to the unit, not the models, but he remains unconvinced. In any event my jump captains took out the remainder of the squad and all was well, but it irked me I couldn't make a clear argument for Killing Rampage.

Help?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/04/05 19:59:24


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
So had a game over the weekend, my Deathwatch+ vs. Chaos Word Bearers.

Turn 2, I dropped two Jump Captains and my Eversor into his backfield where he had a squad of 10 cultists on an objective I needed for a VP. Long story short - My Eversor shot, killed 3 models, then charged. I succeeded, and then in the fight phase I killed 5 models. So he removes 5 models and declares the fight phase over. I said, no, he gets Killing Rampage. His response was that there are no models within melee range, as he removed the ones closest.

I couldn't find out if Sequencing occurs here, and he's right, my abilities only trigger AFTER he removes models. The wording on the ability states "after a model is slain..." this means removed, or before it's removed? His then argument was if it's before, I can't target anything anyway because everything within an inch is dead.

I state that Killing Rampage applies to the unit, not the models, but he remains unconvinced. In any event my jump captains took out the remainder of the squad and all was well, but it irked me I couldn't make a clear argument for Killing Rampage.

Help?
A model is slain when it is actually removed from the tabletop. Since you have to roll for your saves individually, you get to make your additional attack every time a model is slain, not after you've slain all the models wounded by your attacks. You cannot fast roll saves. In any case, the rule says that you can make an additional attack against the same unit. You Choose Targets (and check "range") in step 3 of the Fight Phase. By the time you're actually slaying enemy models, you're long past that stage and it doesn't matter if you're no longer within "range", because you already chose that unit as a target. It's the same as for shooting.

This is true only because the Eversor is a unit onto itself. In your example, if you activate the Eversor first, then kill so many models that even after piling in (because they charged that turn) the Smash Captains couldn't get to within 1" of an enemy, then the Smash Captain cannot attack because he is not within 1" of an enemy to target them in step 3 of the Fight Phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/04/05 20:07:01


 
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




 BaconCatBug wrote:
 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
So had a game over the weekend, my Deathwatch+ vs. Chaos Word Bearers.

Turn 2, I dropped two Jump Captains and my Eversor into his backfield where he had a squad of 10 cultists on an objective I needed for a VP. Long story short - My Eversor shot, killed 3 models, then charged. I succeeded, and then in the fight phase I killed 5 models. So he removes 5 models and declares the fight phase over. I said, no, he gets Killing Rampage. His response was that there are no models within melee range, as he removed the ones closest.

I couldn't find out if Sequencing occurs here, and he's right, my abilities only trigger AFTER he removes models. The wording on the ability states "after a model is slain..." this means removed, or before it's removed? His then argument was if it's before, I can't target anything anyway because everything within an inch is dead.

I state that Killing Rampage applies to the unit, not the models, but he remains unconvinced. In any event my jump captains took out the remainder of the squad and all was well, but it irked me I couldn't make a clear argument for Killing Rampage.

Help?
A model is slain when it is actually removed from the tabletop. Since you have to roll for your saves individually, you get to make your additional attack every time a model is slain, not after you've slain all the models wounded by your attacks. You cannot fast roll saves. In any case, the rule says that you can make an additional attack against the same unit. You Choose Targets (and check "range") in step 3 of the Fight Phase. By the time you're actually slaying enemy models, you're long past that stage and it doesn't matter if you're no longer within "range", because you already chose that unit as a target. It's the same as for shooting.

This is true only because the Eversor is a unit onto itself. In your example, if you activate the Eversor first, then kill so many models that even after piling in (because they charged that turn) the Smash Captains couldn't get to within 1" of an enemy, then the Smash Captain cannot attack because he is not within 1" of an enemy to target them in step 3 of the Fight Phase.


I am sorry, I don't believe I indicated the captains did it that turn. But in any event, can you please tell me where the "slain/removed" is so I can point it out as justification?

Also, you can totally fast roll saves. I stab your guy 6 times, 4 stabs hit, two successfully wounded. Roll two die. If those both fail I killed two models, and get two more attacks. Fast rolling. There is no advantage or disadvantage to fast rolling saves this way. The only disadvantage comes when the player begins removing models BEFORE all attacks are resolved.

Which is the origin of my concern. I can't find out where slain is before removal.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
Also, you can totally fast roll saves.

Not according to the rules. From 'Fast Dice Rolling', page 179 of the Main Rulebook:

If this is the case, make all of the hit rolls at the same time, then all of the wound rolls. Your opponent can then allocate the wounds one at a time, making the saving throws and suffering damage each time as appropriate.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
Also, you can totally fast roll saves.
No, you cannot. Please read the Fast Dice Rolling sidebar on page 179 of the BRB.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
But in any event, can you please tell me where the "slain/removed" is so I can point it out as justification?
BRB Page 181, Shooting Phase, Step 4. Resolve Attacks, Sub-Step 5. Inflict Damage, Sentence 3.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/04/05 20:31:52


 
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




So you can't answer my original question? Where is it stated that models are slain, actions happen, models then removed?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
So you can't answer my original question? Where is it stated that models are slain, actions happen, models then removed?


You will not find anything in the base rules that says "models are slain, actions happen, models then removed" because the rules on the datasheets for any given unit can sometimes disrupt the base rules.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 DeathReaper wrote:
 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
So you can't answer my original question? Where is it stated that models are slain, actions happen, models then removed?


You will not find anything in the base rules that says "models are slain, actions happen, models then removed" because the rules on the datasheets for any given unit can sometimes disrupt the base rules.


Agreed. It's a fundamental part of how the game functions. If an event in the game triggers a rule, you immediately resolve that rule interrupting what you are doing, unless that rule has other specifications about timing.

Additionally fast rolling only exists to speed up the game, it is not the default. The default is that attacks are made and resolved one by one.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: