Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/04/16 15:55:14
Subject: Ynarri vs Flyers
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
If a unit of Ynarri shining spears use Strength From Death in the Shooting phase when a unit is killed in order to Fight and direct their attacks against a nearby flyer with Hard to Hit (say a Crimson Hunter) do they take the penalty to their hit rolls? Looks to me like they do, but I could be missing something.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/04/16 16:26:08
Subject: Ynarri vs Flyers
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
At first, I was going to call this nonsense, but looking at the wording on Hard to Hit, it appears this may be correct. The -1 is for attacks that target them in the Shooting Phase, which is still is. An argument could be made that the Soulburst allows the unit to Fight "as if it were the Fight phase" and therefore hit like it's the Fight phase and NOT the Shoot phase but discussion like this need to be made with your opponent prior to the game, since Dakka can never come up with a consensus on "as-if" phase rules -
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/04/16 16:27:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/04/16 16:52:20
Subject: Ynarri vs Flyers
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Thanks for the answer. It's an easy one for me in friendlies, I take the penalty if I'm ynarri, my opponent doesn't if they are. It's how I always play ambiguous rules (in my opponents favour). In a tournament, it's up to the TO.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/04/16 18:36:31
Subject: Ynarri vs Flyers
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
In order to fight a unit must be within 1" of a enemy unit. You cannot soulburst choose to fight as if it were the fight phase, and then pile in and attack a unit over 1" away.
The unit is simply not eligible to fight. So you have to choose a different soulburst option.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/04/16 18:55:26
Subject: Ynarri vs Flyers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Wagguy80 wrote: In order to fight a unit must be within 1" of a enemy unit. You cannot soulburst choose to fight as if it were the fight phase, and then pile in and attack a unit over 1" away.
The unit is simply not eligible to fight. So you have to choose a different soulburst option.
Except, Soulburst allows the unit to fight as if it was the fight phase. Soulburst doesn't say you can fight as if it were the fight phase if you start 1" away from an enemy unit when soulbursting. The unit is already chosen by use of the soulburst, so it can use its pile in move to try to get close enough to attack. If it can't get within 1" with the pile in move, then it doesn't get to attack.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/04/16 18:56:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/04/17 00:10:43
Subject: Ynarri vs Flyers
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Wagguy80 wrote: In order to fight a unit must be within 1" of a enemy unit. You cannot soulburst choose to fight as if it were the fight phase, and then pile in and attack a unit over 1" away.
The unit is simply not eligible to fight. So you have to choose a different soulburst option.
So à charging unit can't be chosen if nothing is within 1" by your reading? Is that correct?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/04/17 02:21:39
Subject: Ynarri vs Flyers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Drager wrote:Wagguy80 wrote: In order to fight a unit must be within 1" of a enemy unit. You cannot soulburst choose to fight as if it were the fight phase, and then pile in and attack a unit over 1" away.
The unit is simply not eligible to fight. So you have to choose a different soulburst option.
So à charging unit can't be chosen if nothing is within 1" by your reading? Is that correct?
Well, a ''unit that charged'' is another specifically mentioned qualifier for a unit that can be selected to fight in the Fight phase. Soulburst does not allow an exception for the ''Choose a Unit to Fight With'' step of the Fight phase. Instead it arrives with that step already completed. The last sentence in the ''Choose a Unit to Fight With'' step even clarifies that ''a fight is resolved in the following steps'' and proceeds to step 2. Pile In.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/04/17 07:19:19
Subject: Ynarri vs Flyers
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Goobi2 wrote:Drager wrote:Wagguy80 wrote: In order to fight a unit must be within 1" of a enemy unit. You cannot soulburst choose to fight as if it were the fight phase, and then pile in and attack a unit over 1" away.
The unit is simply not eligible to fight. So you have to choose a different soulburst option.
So à charging unit can't be chosen if nothing is within 1" by your reading? Is that correct?
Well, a ''unit that charged'' is another specifically mentioned qualifier for a unit that can be selected to fight in the Fight phase. Soulburst does not allow an exception for the ''Choose a Unit to Fight With'' step of the Fight phase. Instead it arrives with that step already completed. The last sentence in the ''Choose a Unit to Fight With'' step even clarifies that ''a fight is resolved in the following steps'' and proceeds to step 2. Pile In.
That was the point I was heading to.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/04/17 12:16:33
Subject: Ynarri vs Flyers
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Drager wrote:If a unit of Ynarri shining spears use Strength From Death in the Shooting phase when a unit is killed in order to Fight and direct their attacks against a nearby flyer with Hard to Hit (say a Crimson Hunter) do they take the penalty to their hit rolls? Looks to me like they do, but I could be missing something.
That will mean the opponent flyer did not move the previous turn(most flyers have min movement) and you will be 1 inch away from the flyer and than since you don`t charge SS will be with strength 3 and then reading the rule you are still -1 to hit.
That don`t sound to me like the best idea.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/04/17 17:35:33
Subject: Ynarri vs Flyers
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Marin wrote:Drager wrote:If a unit of Ynarri shining spears use Strength From Death in the Shooting phase when a unit is killed in order to Fight and direct their attacks against a nearby flyer with Hard to Hit (say a Crimson Hunter) do they take the penalty to their hit rolls? Looks to me like they do, but I could be missing something.
That will mean the opponent flyer did not move the previous turn(most flyers have min movement) and you will be 1 inch away from the flyer and than since you don`t charge SS will be with strength 3 and then reading the rule you are still -1 to hit.
That don`t sound to me like the best idea.
Why would the flyer not to have had to move? Also, this is not a tactical suggestion, it's just a curious little rule interaction.
|
|
 |
 |
|