Switch Theme:

Only in Death Does Duty End, fighting units not charged  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Pile of Necron Spare Parts





Hay guys

So we had a small argument today which is as follows

Blood angels character fights, kills unit and then piles into another unit that it did not declare a charge against. This is all fine.

The argument begins when the undeclared unit kills the character and the BACP (blood angels character player) then wants to use OIDDDE (only in death does duty end). The other player says that he cannot declare attacks against it as he did not declare it as a charged unit.

Is this correct or not?
I have seen quite a few discussions on this but nothing clear cut so looking for some guidance.

Thanks for your help

We Bring Death 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

Did the BA Character charge that turn? Because if he did, he can ONLY fight units he declared a charge against. Doesn't matter who kills him.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Considering that OIDDDE can be used in your opponents fight phase I would say he could swing.

The Caveat being that he would not count as having charged and thus would not receive any charge bonus's againgst the unit that just happens to be within and inch of him to be a valid target of the attack.


So either he counts as having charged and cannot legally swing at the unit, or, he can swing but doesn't count as having charged.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut




If the BA Captain dies in the same BA-Turn he charged, he can only attack units he declared when he charged, including any extra-attacks or activations from Stratagems like Honour the Chapter or Only in Death.

If he dies in the opponents turn (or any turn he didn’t charge). he can (Stratagem-)attack anything within 1“
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Sunny Side Up wrote:
If the BA Captain dies in the same BA-Turn he charged, he can only attack units he declared when he charged, including any extra-attacks or activations from Stratagems like Honour the Chapter or Only in Death.

If he dies in the opponents turn (or any turn he didn’t charge). he can (Stratagem-)attack anything within 1“


Agreed.

It might not seem fair or intuitive, but if you follow what the rules actually say I don't see how you could conclude anything else.
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






I should have prefaced my answer with HIWPI.


The real contention is whether or not by him dying if he still counts as having charged.

Probably so........ but you can see how there could be different interpretations here.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 Eihnlazer wrote:
I should have prefaced my answer with HIWPI.


The real contention is whether or not by him dying if he still counts as having charged.

Probably so........ but you can see how there could be different interpretations here.


I mean... Even if he's dead, he still charged. He charged, and is now dead.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

He still charged because OIDDDE happens after he loses his last wound but before he is removed from the table.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






As the others have said, if the Captain charged that turn, he cannot attack units he did not declare a charge against, regardless of how the Captain fights. If you use the stratagem in the next (opponents) turn, the Captain can fight anything.
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Moral of the story: declare charges against everything you think you might swing against.

Khorne Berzerkers had to learn this the hard way, too.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: