| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/04/28 13:17:26
Subject: Defend objective X
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
quiet simple, the defend objective cards state you need to hold them for two turns.
if you hold an objective pre drawing the card, does it count towards turns held?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/04/28 15:16:55
Subject: Defend objective X
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
No. This has come up a bajillion times since 8th dropped. You didn’t have the card to start scoring it.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/04/28 16:19:18
Subject: Defend objective X
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
ravenfalls wrote:quiet simple, the defend objective cards state you need to hold them for two turns.
if you hold an objective pre drawing the card, does it count towards turns held?
You check objectives at the end of each turn, not the start.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/04/29 06:35:05
Subject: Defend objective X
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun
|
This came up in a game last night, please define 'turn'?
Is it two turns of mine, or one of mine and one of opponents?
This also applied to the Custodian stratagem in which you get one reroll per turn.
Probably completely obvious, but couldnt see anything last night.
Ta
|
I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!
Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/04/29 07:16:29
Subject: Defend objective X
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
THE BATTLE ROUND
Warhammer 40,000 is played in
a series of battle rounds. During
each battle round, both players
have a turn.
Yes, its super obvious. If you hold an objective at the end of your turn, and you still hold it at the end of your opponents turn, you have scored defend objective X.
To answer your custodian stratagem question.
Q: If an ability does not state its effects take place in a ‘friendly’
phase or ‘enemy’ phase, does that mean it works in every such
phase (e.g. Mortarion’s Host of Plagues ability, which takes effect
‘at the start of the Fight phase’)?
A: Yes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/04/29 11:35:54
Subject: Defend objective X
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
AndrewC wrote:This came up in a game last night, please define 'turn'?
Is it two turns of mine, or one of mine and one of opponents?
This also applied to the Custodian stratagem in which you get one reroll per turn.
Probably completely obvious, but couldnt see anything last night.
Ta
Turn is defined in the Rules. It’s a player turn. One turn each is a Battle Round.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/04 16:02:10
Subject: Defend objective X
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
France
|
JohnnyHell wrote:No. This has come up a bajillion times since 8th dropped. You didn’t have the card to start scoring it.
Sorry for resurrect this topic :( but i dont understand.
If i hold the objectiv marker 2 at the end of opponent turn, then start my turn, i draw "defend objective 2".
At the end of my turn i still hold the objectiv marker 2
At the end of every turn (yours and the enemy’s), you must check to see if you have achieved any of your active Tactical Objectives (Rules book p226)
Defend objective X say: "Score 2 victory points if you control objective marker X at the end of two consecutive turns."
So i have just to ask myself at the end of every turn: "do I control the objective marker X since two turns consecutive?"
and the answer is only "yes" imo.
i'm not cheating, just read the rules and applied RAW imo.
You said "You didn’t have the card to start scoring it"
But i didnt start to score it before...i'm scoring this card when i have it in my hand...i juste read the card, no more, no less....and i ask a simple question to myself.
The rules book never say: "You cant count previous turn to achieve a tactical objective".
You just need to have the card in the hand and do what the card is saying...
And at this point, i did what the "Defend" card is asking to do.
imo
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/06/04 16:03:57
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/04 17:16:30
Subject: Defend objective X
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It's a permissive ruleset, it would have to say that you can count previous turns to achieve a tactical objective. It doesn't say that, so you don't start counting until you have the card. It doesn't let you count it if you control it now and also the turn before you drew the card, like it doesn't count if you draw the card in turn 5 and you held the jobjective for two consecutive turns back in turn 1.
The "but the rules don't say I can't" isn't a winning argument.
EDIT: Also, it says you must control for two turns. It doesn't say you must have had controlled the objective for two turns. There's a difference.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/04 17:18:35
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/04 17:27:59
Subject: Defend objective X
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
Douglasville, GA
|
I agree with the others. For me, it comes down to fair play. If I draw the card on my turn, and count my previous turns of holding the objective towards the fulfillment of the requirements, then my opponent has no chance to prevent me from gaining those VPs.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/04 17:31:34
Subject: Defend objective X
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
France
|
it doesnt say i can count previous turns
it doesnt say i cant count previous turns
imo, i just apply the rule:
Check you tactical objective card at the end of every turn and ask yourself for every card you have in your hand.
=> do you control this objective for two consecutive turn ? yes or no.
and for real, i see only "yes"
:/
maybe it is a bad writting....but its writting....thx to GW ?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/04 17:32:29
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/04 17:45:07
Subject: Defend objective X
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
QuenthelBaenre wrote:it doesnt say i can count previous turns
it doesnt say i cant count previous turns
imo, i just apply the rule:
Check you tactical objective card at the end of every turn and ask yourself for every card you have in your hand.
=> do you control this objective for two consecutive turn ? yes or no.
and for real, i see only "yes"
:/
maybe it is a bad writting....but its writting....thx to GW ?
Like I said, this is a permissive ruleset. "it doesn't say I can't count previous turns" isn't an excuse. You have to be told that you can. You haven't. The rules also don't say that I don't automatically win by sweeping your miniatures off the gameboard onto the ground and then stomp on them - does this mean that I do automatically win if I do that? No, the game would have to say that I do, not merely having a lack of saying that I don't.
The card doesn't say that you had to have had controlled the objective for two consecutive turns, which would suggest that you could apply past control. You are only told that you must control the objective for two turns. Since there is no permission to count previous turns, you only count turns once you have the card.
So, the actual answer to the question you ask is no, you don't control the objective for two turns right when you draw it, you have to control it now that you're told you have to control it.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/04 17:46:12
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/04 17:45:57
Subject: Defend objective X
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
doctortom wrote:It's a permissive ruleset, it would have to say that you can count previous turns to achieve a tactical objective. It doesn't say that, so you don't start counting until you have the card. It doesn't let you count it if you control it now and also the turn before you drew the card, like it doesn't count if you draw the card in turn 5 and you held the jobjective for two consecutive turns back in turn 1.
The "but the rules don't say I can't" isn't a winning argument.
EDIT: Also, it says you must control for two turns. It doesn't say you must have had controlled the objective for two turns. There's a difference.
This. Control =/= controlled. Start counting once its drawn. You're being told to start doing something, not have done something in the past. The language used is clear.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/04 18:03:13
Subject: Defend objective X
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
France
|
maybe its because i'm french and french langage is more "complicate".
doesnt mean english is poor or simple...but clear for english people.
french brain need to complicate everything maybe. Automatically Appended Next Post: @Baconcatbug
i would like to know how you rule this. In 200% RAW i mean.
It's not i dont trust over people, its just i like how you read rule and want to know what you think about it.
thank you everyone btw <3
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/04 18:08:06
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/04 18:17:56
Subject: Defend objective X
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It may be due to the French translation not reading the same as it does in English.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|