Switch Theme:

Two units using the "fight again" stratagem...?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in hr
Been Around the Block




Hi everyone,

so during the last game I had this situation came up, which was solved by a roll-off but are there any actual rules for such an instance is the question.

To explain further, an ork boys unit charges a dark angels infantry unit. Orks do their attacks, and after removing any casualties, the dark angels return the favor. But, after the dark angels finish their attack and the ork player removes casualties, and the consolidate, BOTH the orks and the dark angels' player declares that they are using their respective "fight again" stratagems, that is : "get stuck in, ladz!" for orks and "honour the chapter" for the DA.

So which army gets to use their stratagem first?

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





It appears it was the Ork army's turn since they charged. In c case like this the sequencing rule states that for two things happening simultaneously happen in an order chosen by the person whose turn it is. So, in this case, the Ork player would determine who gets to use their stratagem first.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Since both stratagems happen at the same time, the active player decides the order as per the Sequencing rule.
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Jackson, TN

You would only need to use the sequencing rule if you let it go to the end of the fight phase. The Ork stratagem has a slightly different wording that makes it a little better.

Spoiler:
The Ork stratagem says "when it is your turn to select a unit to fight, or at the end of the Fight phase"

The better way to play this would have been:

Ork Charge, Ork fights first due to charge. Ork now gets to pick a unit to fight with as it is their turn, spend the CPs, and pick that same unit to fight again. This is the same way Chaos Berzerkers work, without spending CPs.

Now, it is the dark angels' turn to pick a unit to fight with. They can pick that unit if there are any left to fight with, once that is resolved, the Ork player checks for any other units that might be able to fight or pass if none are availible. The Dark Angels player checks for other units that can fight and then passes if none. It then moves to the end of the phase, the dark angels can now spends CPs, and picks that unit to fight again.


Never mind, errata put stratagem similar to most of the others...

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/04/28 23:41:22


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Draco765 wrote:
You would only need to use the sequencing rule if you let it go to the end of the fight phase. The Ork stratagem has a slightly different wording that makes it a little better.

The Ork stratagem says "when it is your turn to select a unit to fight, or at the end of the Fight phase"

The better way to play this would have been:

Ork Charge, Ork fights first due to charge. Ork now gets to pick a unit to fight with as it is their turn, spend the CPs, and pick that same unit to fight again. Tthis is the same way Chaos Berzerkers work, without spending CPs.

Now, it is the dark angels' turn to pick a unit to fight with. They can pick that unit if there are any left to fight with, once that is resolved, the Ork player checks for any other units that might be able to fight or pass if none are availible. The Dark Angels player checks for other units that can fight and then passes if none. It then moves to the end of the phase, the dark angels can now spends CPs, and picks that unit to fight again.
The Ork Stratagem got errata'd to be "Use this Stratagem at the end of the Fight phase."
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Jackson, TN

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Draco765 wrote:
You would only need to use the sequencing rule if you let it go to the end of the fight phase. The Ork stratagem has a slightly different wording that makes it a little better.

The Ork stratagem says "when it is your turn to select a unit to fight, or at the end of the Fight phase"

The better way to play this would have been:

Ork Charge, Ork fights first due to charge. Ork now gets to pick a unit to fight with as it is their turn, spend the CPs, and pick that same unit to fight again. Tthis is the same way Chaos Berzerkers work, without spending CPs.

Now, it is the dark angels' turn to pick a unit to fight with. They can pick that unit if there are any left to fight with, once that is resolved, the Ork player checks for any other units that might be able to fight or pass if none are availible. The Dark Angels player checks for other units that can fight and then passes if none. It then moves to the end of the phase, the dark angels can now spends CPs, and picks that unit to fight again.
The Ork Stratagem got errata'd to be "Use this Stratagem at the end of the Fight phase."


Ah, yup, silly me forgot to check errata. Never mind then. Sequencing rule fully applies then. That does bring it in line with most of the other "fight again" stratagems.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/04/28 23:39:44


 
   
Made in hr
Been Around the Block




Damn, cause it was the DA player that got the roll-off. Damn those lucky imperials!

Anyways, thanks for the clarification guys...
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: