Switch Theme:

"That unit can move (and Advance if you wish)", does this include falling back?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




Tyranids have a warlord trait Mind Eater:
(Each time the Warlord slays an enemy CHARACTER in the Fight phase, choose a friendly <HIVE FLEET> unit within 3". At the end of the phase, that unit can move (and Advance if you wish) as if it was your Movement phase.)
Does this ability allow you to fall back?
Also the wording "in the Fight phase", would this work in the opponents Fight phase?
   
Made in au
Stalwart Tribune





I believe that this would work.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Yes, when you move in the movement phase you can choose to fall back - so you can here too.

Yes, it doesn't specify which Fight Phase, so it works in both.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






It all comes down to what "as if" means, because Falling Back explicitly states "Units starting the Movement phase within 1" of an enemy unit can either remain stationary or Fall Back." and moving "as if" it were the movement phase does not satisfy that rule. IMHO, you cannot fall back.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

If it were the Movement Phase you could fall back. So you can. Obviously you can’t also Advance.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Thankfully GW just released the April FAQ and finally answered this once and for all!

BRB FAQ 1.4 wrote:Q: When a rule allows a model or unit to take an action (move, shoot, charge, fight or attempt to manifest a psychic power) outside of the normal turn sequence, and that rule explicitly mentions to make that action as if it were a different phase of the turn structure to the current one, e.g. ‘That unit can shoot as if it were the Shooting phase’, do rules that are normally used during that phase (in the example this would be the Shooting phase) take effect? Is the same true of Overwatch attacks?
A: With the exception of Stratagems, all rules (e.g. abilities, Warlord Traits, psychic powers etc.) that would apply in a specific phase apply to actions that are taking place ‘as if it were that phase’. However, if a Stratagem specifies that it must be used in a specific phase, then it can only be used in that phase (e.g. you cannot use a Stratagem that says ‘Use this Stratagem in the Shooting phase’ to affect a unit that is Shooting ‘as if it were the Shooting phase’). For the purposes of this FAQ, Overwatch attacks are also considered to be attacks made as if it were your Shooting phase.

Q: Are you able to Advance or Fall Back in a different phase when moving ‘as if it were the Movement phase’ through an ability, Relic, Stratagem etc.?
A: Unless stated otherwise, yes. Note that if you do Advance, and the unit has already Advanced this turn, you should roll the dice again to see how much further the unit moves (i.e. do not use the same roll made when the unit first Advanced this turn).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/04/29 16:31:05


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 BaconCatBug wrote:
Thankfully GW just released the April FAQ and finally answered this once and for all!

BRB FAQ 1.4 wrote:Q: When a rule allows a model or unit to take an action (move, shoot, charge, fight or attempt to manifest a psychic power) outside of the normal turn sequence, and that rule explicitly mentions to make that action as if it were a different phase of the turn structure to the current one, e.g. ‘That unit can shoot as if it were the Shooting phase’, do rules that are normally used during that phase (in the example this would be the Shooting phase) take effect? Is the same true of Overwatch attacks?
A: With the exception of Stratagems, all rules (e.g. abilities, Warlord Traits, psychic powers etc.) that would apply in a specific phase apply to actions that are taking place ‘as if it were that phase’. However, if a Stratagem specifies that it must be used in a specific phase, then it can only be used in that phase (e.g. you cannot use a Stratagem that says ‘Use this Stratagem in the Shooting phase’ to affect a unit that is Shooting ‘as if it were the Shooting phase’). For the purposes of this FAQ, Overwatch attacks are also considered to be attacks made as if it were your Shooting phase.

Q: Are you able to Advance or Fall Back in a different phase when moving ‘as if it were the Movement phase’ through an ability, Relic, Stratagem etc.?
A: Unless stated otherwise, yes. Note that if you do Advance, and the unit has already Advanced this turn, you should roll the dice again to see how much further the unit moves (i.e. do not use the same roll made when the unit first Advanced this turn).


And with that FAQ, they basically said that ‘as if' means 'Is' (save for stratagems)

Which was basically the only way to really play those rules and not break the game.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: