Switch Theme:

The Lantern gun and line over  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ar
Fresh-Faced New User





good morning guys

I have a doubt that arises in the last game against the space wolves, mortarion shoots his gun, targeting a squad of long fangs, following the special rule of the weapon, draw a line and between all the affected units, the line passes over fuselage of the stormfang ship, but not on its base (frame in the photo as reference where the line passed)
the rule of the mortar weapon says; " If you hit with this weapon, draw a straight line between the closest point of Mortarion’s base and that of the closest model in the target unit. Make a single wound roll against the target unit and each unit the centre of the line passes over."

https://imgur.com/a/kQZRxPt

the question is whether the ship is affected by the shot

   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






As usual, GW doesn't properly write rules so there is no real answer. Since it's not measuring a range you cannot use the usual "measure to base" argument.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yes, the line crossed over the unit.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Fragile wrote:
Yes, the line crossed over the unit.
Did it?

Or did it pass under the unit?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

If it passes through any part of the model (including its base) it’s hit.
If it passes under the prow and doesn’t touch any part of the model it’s not hit.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: