Switch Theme:

April 2019 Errata and weirdly worded question.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut






Q: Can a unit that is within 1" of the enemy and entirely within
3" of a friendly Transport embark into that transport without
having to move? For example, because they cannot Fly and
would have to move through enemy models?
A: No.


I cant decipher what this means ? can someone spell it out for me, I must be dense, I have read it like 30 times.
   
Made in us
Norn Queen






So if you are within 3" of a transport you can embark into it. The model does not have to move up to the transport to embark. You simply remove the model from the table and it is considered to be embarked.

So, if your model/unit in question is both within 1" of a enemy unit (and thus in combat and cannot move except to fall back) AND within 3" of the transport, can you simply embark instead of, or as part of, falling back, even if the enemy models would be between you and the transport (since you don't actually have to move around or over them to reach the transport to get inside).

The answer is no.


These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





Thank you,
you made this make so much more sense.
I appreciate this.

As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

The way its worded models have to be able to move in order to embark on a transport. If enemy models are between your transport and your models they cant embark, because models cant move through enemy models. Unless your models have the FLY keyword, which allows them to ignore enemy models when moving in the movement phase. Now, this can create some weird situations. Lets say your unit is in melee with an enemy unit that prevents you from moving/falling back. You wouldnt be able to embark, even if no enemy units are between your units and your transport.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





 p5freak wrote:
Now, this can create some weird situations. Lets say your unit is in melee with an enemy unit that prevents you from moving/falling back. You wouldnt be able to embark, even if no enemy units are between your units and your transport.

Why is that weird? Your unit is too tangled in wych nets to clamber through the access hatch.

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
The way its worded models have to be able to move in order to embark on a transport. If enemy models are between your transport and your models they cant embark, because models cant move through enemy models.


It does not mention enemy models between your transport and your models at all, so clearly it can not be referring to this.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 DeathReaper wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
The way its worded models have to be able to move in order to embark on a transport. If enemy models are between your transport and your models they cant embark, because models cant move through enemy models.


It does not mention enemy models between your transport and your models at all, so clearly it can not be referring to this.


Q: Can a unit that is within 1" of the enemy and entirely within
3" of a friendly Transport embark into that transport without
having to move?
A: No.



Let me remove the part with the example for you. It says you cant embark without having to move, when there are enemy models within 1". Which means you have to move in order to embark, when your models are within 1" of enemy models. If there are enemy models between your transport and your models those models cant embark because you cant move your models through enemy models. Thats what the example explains.

For example, because they cannot Fly and
would have to move through enemy models?


Enemy models however dont necessarily have to be between the transport and your models to prevent them from embarking.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
If there are enemy models between your transport and your models those models cant embark because you cant move your models through enemy models. Thats what the example explains.

Incorrect.

Again it does not mention having enemy models between your transport and your models.

Q: Can a unit that is within 1" of the enemy and entirely within 3" of a friendly Transport embark into that transport without having to move?
A: No.

Does that mention having enemy models between your transport and your models? if so, I can not find it.

Given X is the Transport (assuming all Y models are entirely within 3" ofX) and Y are friendly models and E is the enemy models (and E and Y are within 1 inch of each other) this is possible from that FAQ:


XXXX
XXXX
....YYY
.......EEEE


See, there are no enemy models between the Transport and friendly models, and the Y models still can not embark on the transport. those models cant embark because they are within 1 inch of an enemy and can not move. It has nothing to do with moving through enemy models.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
If there are enemy models between your transport and your models those models cant embark because you cant move your models through enemy models. Thats what the example explains.

Incorrect.

Again it does not mention having enemy models between your transport and your models.

Q: Can a unit that is within 1" of the enemy and entirely within 3" of a friendly Transport embark into that transport without having to move?
A: No.

Does that mention having enemy models between your transport and your models? if so, I can not find it.

Given X is the Transport (assuming all Y models are entirely within 3" ofX) and Y are friendly models and E is the enemy models (and E and Y are within 1 inch of each other) this is possible from that FAQ:


XXXX
XXXX
....YYY
.......EEEE


See, there are no enemy models between the Transport and friendly models, and the Y models still can not embark on the transport. those models cant embark because they are within 1 inch of an enemy and can not move. It has nothing to do with moving through enemy models.
You don't see it in the question you quote because that is not the question from the faq.

Q: Can a unit that is within 1" of the enemy and entirely within
3" of a friendly Transport embark into that transport without
having to move? For example, because they cannot Fly and
would have to move through enemy models?
A: No.


There.
Now you can see it.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Ordana wrote:
You don't see it in the question you quote because that is not the question from the faq.

Q: Can a unit that is within 1" of the enemy and entirely within
3" of a friendly Transport embark into that transport without
having to move? For example, because they cannot Fly and
would have to move through enemy models?
A: No.


There.
Now you can see it.


Where does that say If there are enemy models between your transport and your models those models cant embark because you cant move your models through enemy models?

That does not mention having enemy models between your transport and your models.

Move through does not mean they are necessarily between your transport and your models.They could be next to them.

But the simpler answer is that you can not move if you are within 1 inch of enemy models, so you can not embark.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/05/02 10:54:03


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
 Ordana wrote:
You don't see it in the question you quote because that is not the question from the faq.

Q: Can a unit that is within 1" of the enemy and entirely within
3" of a friendly Transport embark into that transport without
having to move? For example, because they cannot Fly and
would have to move through enemy models?
A: No.


There.
Now you can see it.


Where does that say If there are enemy models between your transport and your models those models cant embark because you cant move your models through enemy models?

That does not mention having enemy models between your transport and your models.

Move through does not mean they are necessarily between your transport and your models.They could be next to them.

But the simpler answer is that you can not move if you are within 1 inch of enemy models, so you can not embark.
Because if they are next to the transport your not moving through them but past them.
You know what 'move through' means right?
it kinda requires them to be between you and the place your going.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Ordana wrote:
Because if they are next to the transport your not moving through them but past them.
You know what 'move through' means right?
it kinda requires them to be between you and the place your going.

Some vehicles could have the base not between the models and their transport, but you would still be moving through them.

But the simpler answer is that you can not move if you are within 1 inch of enemy models, so you can not embark.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/02 11:02:32


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





Unless you fall back ?

As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

Yeah, you can Fall Back and *then* Embark, as per normal. You just *have to* Fall Back first. Assumingly so that you have to accept the penalties for Falling Back.
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





I play harlies,,,, no problem XD them penalties are fine XD. thanks for all the clarification guys

As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in de
Hellacious Havoc




The Realm of Hungry Ghosts

 flandarz wrote:
Yeah, you can Fall Back and *then* Embark, as per normal. You just *have to* Fall Back first. Assumingly so that you have to accept the penalties for Falling Back.


But then you're in a transport. What penalties would apply if your unit is no longer on the table?

I'm pretty sure this question is only included to address the issue of people trying to embark units in a transport to get them away from close combat when they're surrounded, or there is no legal movement path for them to follow for some other reason. TFG might have claimed that his models were within 3" of the transport and therefore eligible to embark because the rules do not explicitly say you have to pretend-walk your models up to the vehicle's hatches to get them inside while shouting "Rev'em up, they're coming for us!".
Of course, we can try to dissect the wording and be all clever about it if we feel that there is both insufficient complication and a surplus of common sense in our lives.

Bharring wrote:
At worst, you'll spend all your time and money on a hobby you don't enjoy, hate everything you're doing, and drive no value out of what should be the best times of your life.
 
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

Well, some Transports have the Open Topped rule, but yeah. I don't disagree with you.
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





just to be clear,
If a unit advances, or falls back, then embarks into an open top vehicle the penalties for advancing and falling back still apply ?

I thought the unit counted as not being on the battlefield, so I figured the penalty wouldn't carry over.

As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Type40 wrote:
just to be clear,
If a unit advances, or falls back, then embarks into an open top vehicle the penalties for advancing and falling back still apply ?

I thought the unit counted as not being on the battlefield, so I figured the penalty wouldn't carry over.
It won't carry over since the unit inside the transport effectively doesn't exist as far as the game is concerned. It's the Open Topped rule that gives them the ability to shoot, and explicitly states what penalties apply to the unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/02 12:11:45


 
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





Ok so this is a legit play then?

Harlies Troupe advances, embarks, vehicle moves regular, harlies shoot fusion pistols, termanators melt (hopefully)


As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Pretty cheesy, but legal. The penalty for advancing would not apply to the harlies, because they are no longer on the battlefield. Only modifiers that apply to the transport would apply to the embarked unit as well.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 p5freak wrote:
Pretty cheesy, but legal. The penalty for advancing would not apply to the harlies, because they are no longer on the battlefield. Only modifiers that apply to the transport would apply to the embarked unit as well.


Are you proposing that Lootas can advance, embark on a trukk, and then Fire their deffgunz (and without penalty)?

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Kommissar Kel wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Pretty cheesy, but legal. The penalty for advancing would not apply to the harlies, because they are no longer on the battlefield. Only modifiers that apply to the transport would apply to the embarked unit as well.


Are you proposing that Lootas can advance, embark on a trukk, and then Fire their deffgunz (and without penalty)?
Yes, that is exactly correct. Stupid, but all of 8th edition is stupid at this point.
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

Yeah, they can do that. But, because you can't use Stratagems on Embarked Units, you wouldn't be able to double shoot.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Pretty cheesy, but legal. The penalty for advancing would not apply to the harlies, because they are no longer on the battlefield. Only modifiers that apply to the transport would apply to the embarked unit as well.


Are you proposing that Lootas can advance, embark on a trukk, and then Fire their deffgunz (and without penalty)?


Everyone can do that. Everyone who embarks on an open topped vehicle.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Well this is some rules lawyering nonsense. You don’t ignore the Advancing penalty if you embark, and the Transports rules don’t give an exhaustive list of modifiers, they simply state how the Transport can affect its occupants. There’s nothing in the rules stating you ignore Advancing. Stop trying to staple rules together and ignore others and claim it’s somehow RAW.


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Yes, you ignore the advancing penalty if you embark, because of the transport rule : "Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any
way whilst they are embarked." The modifier of shooting an assault weapon after advancing would affect them in any way.

They can even shoot heavy weapons after advancing, because : "Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any
way whilst they are embarked." The restriction of not being able to shoot heavy weapons after advancing would affect them in any way.

And because they arent on the battlefield anymore.

The open topped rule gives them permission to shoot, and only modifiers that apply to the transport apply to the embarked unit as well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/04 06:19:58


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
Yes, you ignore the advancing penalty if you embark, because of the transport rule : "Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any
way whilst they are embarked." The modifier of shooting an assault weapon after advancing would affect them in any way.

They can even shoot heavy weapons after advancing, because : "Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any
way whilst they are embarked." The restriction of not being able to shoot heavy weapons after advancing would affect them in any way.

And because they arent on the battlefield anymore.

The open topped rule gives them permission to shoot, and only modifiers that apply to the transport apply to the embarked unit as well.


The key is "normally" in the sentence. Advancing gives the unit restrictions that it normally wouldn't have. The transport rules don't magically wipe out restrictions on the unit because normally the unit wouldn't have had those penalties except for having done something to incur those restrictions. "Normally" isn't "always"
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Yes, you ignore the advancing penalty if you embark, because of the transport rule : "Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any
way whilst they are embarked." The modifier of shooting an assault weapon after advancing would affect them in any way.

They can even shoot heavy weapons after advancing, because : "Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any
way whilst they are embarked." The restriction of not being able to shoot heavy weapons after advancing would affect them in any way.

And because they arent on the battlefield anymore.

The open topped rule gives them permission to shoot, and only modifiers that apply to the transport apply to the embarked unit as well.


The key is "normally" in the sentence. Advancing gives the unit restrictions that it normally wouldn't have. The transport rules don't magically wipe out restrictions on the unit because normally the unit wouldn't have had those penalties except for having done something to incur those restrictions. "Normally" isn't "always"


Unfortunately if we use that logic, no restrictions or bonuses are "normal" by your definition. As advancing is a part of the normal base rules (just like targeting a unit for shooting or charging, or taking morale checks), it only gets less normal from there (psychic abilities, auras, chapter tactics and etc) .If that is the case then, what you are saying is, an embarked unit can be affected by any and all things, making that a bit of a useless piece of rules text.

I am pretty sure, normal, in this context, is used to describe any time an ability or effect does not specifically reference a unit in a transport. What would be not-normal is when an abilities does specific reference something in a transport (like faolchu's talon from the harlequins codex pg 77)

This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2019/05/06 14:00:23


As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: