Switch Theme:

Embarking/Disembarking and removed from the battlefield  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





So new FAQ says


Q: What rules apply to units that are removed from the battlefield
after deployment (via abilities, Stratagems or psychic powers),
and are then set back up again on the battlefield?
A: If a rule or ability causes a unit to be removed from the
battlefield and subsequently set back up, the following
rules apply to that unit:
1. Any rules that are triggered by or apply to units that
are ‘set up on the battlefield as reinforcements’ are also
triggered by and apply to that unit when it is set up on
the battlefield.
2. Models in that unit count as having moved a distance
equal to their Move characteristic that turn (and so
suffer the penalty to their hit rolls for moving and
firing Heavy weapons). If the unit has a minimum Move
characteristic, it counts as having moved its maximum
Move characteristic.
3. Models in that unit cannot move again during that turn
for any reason, other than to make a charge move, to
pile in, or to consolidate.
4. If that unit was within 1" of an enemy unit when it was
removed, it does not count as having Fallen Back when
it is set back up on the battlefield.
5. If that unit has Advanced during this turn, it still
counts as having Advanced after it has been set back up
on the battlefield.
6. Any destroyed models in that unit when it is removed
are still destroyed when their unit is set back up on the
battlefield. If they were destroyed during this turn, they
still count towards any Morale tests taken for that unit
this turn.
7. Any models in that unit that have lost any wounds do
not regain those wounds when they are removed, and
will still have lost them when their unit is set back up on
the battlefield.
8. Any rules that unit was being affected by when it was
removed, and which would continue to affect it for a
specific duration (from abilities, Stratagems, psychic
powers, etc.), continue to affect that unit until such a
point as they would normally have no longer applied.
For example, a unit that was within range of an aura
ability when it was removed would no longer be
affected by that ability if it was set up outside of that
aura’s range, whereas a unit that was being affected by
a psychic power that lasted until the end of that turn
would still be affected by it until the end of that turn


do these rules apply and supersede transport rules.
Models are being removed from the battlefield and set up somewhere else.

Also, side note, if a model is in a transport, is it considered to be on the battlefield for the purposes of warlord traits like player of the twilight ?

Where should we be looking for rules that talk about specific interactions of removing and adding models with vehicles,,, the transport rules or this new set ? seems like a big nerf if RAW says its this new set.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Type40 wrote:

do these rules apply and supersede transport rules.


No. The FAQ only applies to abilities, stratagems, psychic powers. Transport is neither of those.

Type40 wrote:

Also, side note, if a model is in a transport, is it considered to be on the battlefield for the purposes of warlord traits like player of the twilight ?


No. Units in a transport are not on the battlefield. Unless a special rule says otherwise embarked units normally cannot do anything, nor be affected in any way.

Type40 wrote:

Where should we be looking for rules that talk about specific interactions of removing and adding models with vehicles,,, the transport rules or this new set ?



Transport rules.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

These rules aren’t written to govern Transports and embarking/disembarking, so don’t apply.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





thanks for clarifying guys. all this talk about random FAQs superseding previous rules (like the other active thread about 3+ IA overwatch) has got me confused.

As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Jackson, TN

Any unit embarked within a Transport is NOT on the battlefield.

Outside of "open top" abilities on a few vehicles and a couple of abilities that expressly say so, models inside a vehicle do nothing except wait to be disembarked.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: