Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/03 19:21:03
Subject: Chooser of the Slain Stratagem
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
It allows a friendly Space Wolf unit visible to the Rune Priest to shoot at any units setting up as reinforcements.
Just curious, does this end up applying to any and all units that deepstrike/infiltrate etc in? Orks with da Jump or that stratagem that lets you pull a hurt unit off and bring them back? What are the exceptions to the rule?
|
.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/03 19:29:04
Subject: Chooser of the Slain Stratagem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
General Hobbs wrote:
It allows a friendly Space Wolf unit visible to the Rune Priest to shoot at any units setting up as reinforcements.
Just curious, does this end up applying to any and all units that deepstrike/infiltrate etc in? Orks with da Jump or that stratagem that lets you pull a hurt unit off and bring them back? What are the exceptions to the rule?
The new Big FAQ that just landed has a section on (Re)Setting up Models which addresses this. A relevant part from the FAQ:
Q: What rules apply to units that are removed from the battlefield after deployment (via abilities, Stratagems or psychic
powers), and are then set back up again on the battlefield?
A: If a rule or ability causes a unit to be removed from the battlefield and subsequently set back up, the
following rules apply to that unit:
1. Any rules that are triggered by or apply to units that are ‘set up on the battlefield as reinforcements’ are also
triggered by and apply to that unit when it is set up on the battlefield.
There's more to the rule, I suggest you check it out, That part should help you, though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/03 20:15:47
Subject: Chooser of the Slain Stratagem
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
doctortom wrote:General Hobbs wrote:
It allows a friendly Space Wolf unit visible to the Rune Priest to shoot at any units setting up as reinforcements.
Just curious, does this end up applying to any and all units that deepstrike/infiltrate etc in? Orks with da Jump or that stratagem that lets you pull a hurt unit off and bring them back? What are the exceptions to the rule?
The new Big FAQ that just landed has a section on (Re)Setting up Models which addresses this. A relevant part from the FAQ:
Q: What rules apply to units that are removed from the battlefield after deployment (via abilities, Stratagems or psychic
powers), and are then set back up again on the battlefield?
A: If a rule or ability causes a unit to be removed from the battlefield and subsequently set back up, the
following rules apply to that unit:
1. Any rules that are triggered by or apply to units that are ‘set up on the battlefield as reinforcements’ are also
triggered by and apply to that unit when it is set up on the battlefield.
There's more to the rule, I suggest you check it out, That part should help you, though.
Thanks!
Now I have to figure out that section about rules applying in the shooting phase applying in other phases when a unit can shoot!
|
.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/03 20:20:40
Subject: Chooser of the Slain Stratagem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Basically you can't use stratagems that say you use them in the shooting phase in other phases, but otherwise you can use abilities, etc that would apply. So, things that let you reroll 1's in the shooting phase (for example) would also apply during overwatch as long as it isn't a shooting phase-only stratagem causing it. There's still a few road bumps with that where the new ruling doesn't mix well with previous rulings (the thread about Dark Reapers overwatching on 3+? is an example).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/03 21:32:06
Subject: Re:Chooser of the Slain Stratagem
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
So no hellfire shells with chooser of the slain or overwatch?
|
.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 08:55:25
Subject: Re:Chooser of the Slain Stratagem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Its a stratagem, it says to be used in the shooting phase.
You can't use stratagems in another phase
so
no.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/07 05:43:59
Subject: Re:Chooser of the Slain Stratagem
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
Gotcha.
What about a Scorpius Whirlwind's ability to fire twice in the shooting phase if it did not move in the movement phase?
|
.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/07 14:26:06
Subject: Re:Chooser of the Slain Stratagem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
General Hobbs wrote:
Gotcha.
What about a Scorpius Whirlwind's ability to fire twice in the shooting phase if it did not move in the movement phase?
There's been several threads on similar things, like Grinding Advance. It's an ability, so that is one of the things mentioned as working, if you haven't moved in the movement phase
I can't recall the Whirlwind's wording on this if it says its movement phase or the previous movement phase. If the latter, you just need to not have moved in the enemy's movement phase in order to use it during Overwatch in his Charge Phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/08 03:41:10
Subject: Re:Chooser of the Slain Stratagem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
doctortom wrote:General Hobbs wrote:
Gotcha.
What about a Scorpius Whirlwind's ability to fire twice in the shooting phase if it did not move in the movement phase?
There's been several threads on similar things, like Grinding Advance. It's an ability, so that is one of the things mentioned as working, if you haven't moved in the movement phase
I can't recall the Whirlwind's wording on this if it says its movement phase or the previous movement phase. If the latter, you just need to not have moved in the enemy's movement phase in order to use it during Overwatch in his Charge Phase.
"you just need to not have moved in the enemy's movement phase" requires you to start claiming that you can use all of your "movement phase" abilities during the other player's turn. It's the same sort of argument that used to lead to having monstrous creatures shooting during the other player's shooting phases.
References to a model's previous X phase or the previous X phase almost mean the same thing, because the rules authors don't make a distinction between the two.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/08 13:47:12
Subject: Re:Chooser of the Slain Stratagem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
solkan wrote: doctortom wrote:General Hobbs wrote:
Gotcha.
What about a Scorpius Whirlwind's ability to fire twice in the shooting phase if it did not move in the movement phase?
There's been several threads on similar things, like Grinding Advance. It's an ability, so that is one of the things mentioned as working, if you haven't moved in the movement phase
I can't recall the Whirlwind's wording on this if it says its movement phase or the previous movement phase. If the latter, you just need to not have moved in the enemy's movement phase in order to use it during Overwatch in his Charge Phase.
"you just need to not have moved in the enemy's movement phase" requires you to start claiming that you can use all of your "movement phase" abilities during the other player's turn. It's the same sort of argument that used to lead to having monstrous creatures shooting during the other player's shooting phases.
References to a model's previous X phase or the previous X phase almost mean the same thing, because the rules authors don't make a distinction between the two.
Not at all. If the rule states that as long as you haven't moved in the previous movement phase, then by RAW that's the enemy's movement phase. It's probably best to play it like they meant, that you didn't move in your previous movement phase, but RAW may vary from that based on the wording.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/09 18:42:09
Subject: Re:Chooser of the Slain Stratagem
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
doctortom wrote: solkan wrote: doctortom wrote:General Hobbs wrote:
Gotcha.
What about a Scorpius Whirlwind's ability to fire twice in the shooting phase if it did not move in the movement phase?
There's been several threads on similar things, like Grinding Advance. It's an ability, so that is one of the things mentioned as working, if you haven't moved in the movement phase
I can't recall the Whirlwind's wording on this if it says its movement phase or the previous movement phase. If the latter, you just need to not have moved in the enemy's movement phase in order to use it during Overwatch in his Charge Phase.
"you just need to not have moved in the enemy's movement phase" requires you to start claiming that you can use all of your "movement phase" abilities during the other player's turn. It's the same sort of argument that used to lead to having monstrous creatures shooting during the other player's shooting phases.
References to a model's previous X phase or the previous X phase almost mean the same thing, because the rules authors don't make a distinction between the two.
Not at all. If the rule states that as long as you haven't moved in the previous movement phase, then by RAW that's the enemy's movement phase. It's probably best to play it like they meant, that you didn't move in your previous movement phase, but RAW may vary from that based on the wording.
I'm not sure this discussion accounts for the true ambiguity of the rule.
"On any turn in which the Scorpius does not move during the Movement phase, it may fire it's Scorpius multi-launcher twice in the following Shooting phase."
Do the rules writers mean the game turn or the player's turn? If it's the game turn, players who go second would always be able to fire twice with the Scorpius on Overwatch. There would never be a situation where the Scorpius could have moved.
If it's the player's turn, there is the question about which player's turn. Obviously, a Scorpius cannot move during an opponent's movement phase, and can never be charged during its own Charge phase. If the rules writers meant the owning player's turn, that's the only situation where movement could affect the number of shots in Overwatch.
But there's nothing to specify. I have 3 Scorpius' and rarely move them. In the few instances where they have been charged, I've always played it as if they can fire twice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/09 18:44:39
Subject: Chooser of the Slain Stratagem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
"The following Shooting Phase would be the Shooting phase the same turn, that player's turn. If they had meant it to extend through a battle round they would have specifically indicated that it would.
|
|
 |
 |
|