Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 14:07:28
Subject: M3 and embark?
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
So with the new changes to how 'as if it were' phases stuff works, does this mean I can 'Move, Move, Move', then embark (as if it were the movement phase)? (assuming my unit ends up close enough to a transport to do so, of course)
Get my infantry out of harms way and fire my chimera's lasguns afterwards! If I've only one guy left, 6 lasguns on a chimera is more effective than the 1 he carries.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 14:11:29
Subject: M3 and embark?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Kcalehc wrote:So with the new changes to how 'as if it were' phases stuff works, does this mean I can 'Move, Move, Move', then embark (as if it were the movement phase)? (assuming my unit ends up close enough to a transport to do so, of course) Get my infantry out of harms way and fire my chimera's lasguns afterwards! If I've only one guy left, 6 lasguns on a chimera is more effective than the 1 he carries.
Yes. GW say that with the exception of stratagems, if you act like a phase you can do everything that happens in that phase as though it was. That means you can Move! Move! Move! and them embark. However the FAQ also says Q: Can units embark inside a transport in a phase other than the Movement phase, such as when they are using the Fire and Fade Stratagem from Codex: Craftworlds, or when a unit performs a Soulburst action to move again? A: No, unless the rule in question specifically states that the unit can embark inside a Transport.
So we have contradictory FAQs. Yay for good rules writing!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/04 14:14:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 14:24:00
Subject: M3 and embark?
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
Actually, I think the FAQ is pretty clear that units can only embark in the movement phase unless a rule specifically says they can embark.
I'd say no.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 14:28:18
Subject: M3 and embark?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
techsoldaten wrote:Actually, I think the FAQ is pretty clear that units can only embark in the movement phase unless a rule specifically says they can embark. I'd say no.
The FAQ literally says "With the exception of Stratagems, all rules (e.g. abilities, Warlord Traits, psychic powers etc.) that would apply in a specific phase apply to actions that are taking place ‘ as if it were that phase’." Move! Move! Move! says "Instead of shooting this phase the ordered unit immediately moves as if it were the Movement phase" Embark states "Embark: If all models in a unit end their move within 3" of a friendly transport in the Movement phase, they can embark within it." Therefore, Move! Move! Move! allows you to embark.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/04 14:29:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 14:56:08
Subject: Re:M3 and embark?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
This is the same situation as Dark Reapers hitting on a 3+ in Overwatch. The more specific FAQ takes precedence, so Dark Reapers don't hit on a 3+ in Overwatch and units can't emark outside of the Movement phase.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 15:22:46
Subject: Re:M3 and embark?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Might I suggest GW is thinking that when using Move! Move! Move! or other 'as if the Movement Phase abilities' it may be the unit's Movement Phase, but it isn't the Transport's Movement Phase. Therefore, you can't Embark.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 16:43:21
Subject: M3 and embark?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
BaconCatBug wrote: techsoldaten wrote:Actually, I think the FAQ is pretty clear that units can only embark in the movement phase unless a rule specifically says they can embark.
I'd say no.
The FAQ literally says "With the exception of Stratagems, all rules (e.g. abilities, Warlord Traits, psychic powers etc.) that would apply in a specific phase apply to actions that are taking place ‘ as if it were that phase’."
Move! Move! Move! says "Instead of shooting this phase the ordered unit immediately moves as if it were the Movement phase"
Embark states "Embark: If all models in a unit end their move within 3" of a friendly transport in the Movement phase, they can embark within it."
Therefore, Move! Move! Move! allows you to embark.
To quote you, you have to apply all the rules not just the ones you want to.
Q: Can units embark inside a transport in a phase other than the Movement phase, such as when they are using the Fire and Fade Stratagem from Codex: Craftworlds, or when a unit performs a Soulburst action to move again?
A: No, unless the rule in question specifically states that the unit can embark inside a Transport.
This still exists in the Rulebook FAQ and therefore no, Move Move Move cannot let you Embark.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 16:55:21
Subject: M3 and embark?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
So we have an FAQ saying that ALL rules allow you to do so, and an FAQ saying you can't with some rules. You cannot follow both FAQs without breaking one of them, thus contradictory answers. GW once again proven as incompetent. You cannot claim "more specific", because one of the FAQs explicitly states all rules except for stratagems.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/04 16:55:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 17:35:32
Subject: M3 and embark?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Quit the “GW IS INCOMPETENT” distraction attempt.
When one rule says you can and another says you cannot, you cannot. It’s a line of argument you’ve often used so I’m struggling to see why you’re not following.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 17:41:47
Subject: M3 and embark?
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
Douglasville, GA
|
That's some poor logic, buddy. Lets say, for example, I told you I was allergic to shellfish and that I cannot eat anywhere that serves shellfish without dying. Later on, you ask where I wanna get dinner at, and I say "anywhere is fine". This doesn't mean that I suddenly stopped being allergic to shellfish and we can go to Red Lobster. You can make logical inferences here. If I'm ok eating anywhere and I am allergic to shellfish, the the logical step is "I'm ok with eating anywhere except someplace that serves shellfish."
Or, leaving the hypothetical behind, we have: "You treat it as the moving phase, in all ways except for Stratagems, except in the case of Embarking or Disembarking." You can combine these two FAQ, logically, and arrive at a satisfactory answer.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 19:45:09
Subject: M3 and embark?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
BaconCatBug wrote:So we have an FAQ saying that ALL rules allow you to do so, and an FAQ saying you can't with some rules.
You cannot follow both FAQs without breaking one of them, thus contradictory answers. GW once again proven as incompetent. You cannot claim "more specific", because one of the FAQs explicitly states all rules except for stratagems.
Can not trumps can or must in a permissive ruleset.
As JohnnyHell has said, "It’s a line of argument you’ve often used so I’m struggling to see why you’re not following."
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 19:55:04
Subject: M3 and embark?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
DeathReaper wrote: BaconCatBug wrote:So we have an FAQ saying that ALL rules allow you to do so, and an FAQ saying you can't with some rules. You cannot follow both FAQs without breaking one of them, thus contradictory answers. GW once again proven as incompetent. You cannot claim "more specific", because one of the FAQs explicitly states all rules except for stratagems.
Can not trumps can or must in a permissive ruleset. As JohnnyHell has said, "It’s a line of argument you’ve often used so I’m struggling to see why you’re not following."
Because the difference here is that you cannot follow both rules without breaking either. "With the exception of Stratagems, all rules (e.g. abilities, Warlord Traits, psychic powers etc.) that would apply in a specific phase apply to actions that are taking place ‘as if it were that phase’" is not optional, so it's not the same as having something saying (for example) you can shoot and can't shoot.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/04 19:56:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 20:13:47
Subject: M3 and embark?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
All rules apply.
Except this one.
No problem here... works like any other rule that ignores another rule.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 20:17:20
Subject: M3 and embark?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
BaconCatBug wrote: DeathReaper wrote: BaconCatBug wrote:So we have an FAQ saying that ALL rules allow you to do so, and an FAQ saying you can't with some rules.
You cannot follow both FAQs without breaking one of them, thus contradictory answers. GW once again proven as incompetent. You cannot claim "more specific", because one of the FAQs explicitly states all rules except for stratagems.
Can not trumps can or must in a permissive ruleset.
As JohnnyHell has said, "It’s a line of argument you’ve often used so I’m struggling to see why you’re not following."
Because the difference here is that you cannot follow both rules without breaking either. "With the exception of Stratagems, all rules (e.g. abilities, Warlord Traits, psychic powers etc.) that would apply in a specific phase apply to actions that are taking place ‘as if it were that phase’" is not optional, so it's not the same as having something saying (for example) you can shoot and can't shoot.
That happens with a lot of rules. rules are sometimes contradictory. Thus the Specific trumps general...
You follow the more specific rule. The rules says you can not, then you can not. It trumps the rule that says you must (or can) This is a permissive ruleset...
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 20:31:16
Subject: M3 and embark?
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
Douglasville, GA
|
This is like arguing that Tau Sept can't work because the rules say that OW only hits on 6s, but Tau Sept says 5s or 6s. "But if I use Tau Sept, I'm breaking the rule that says I can only hit on 6s in Overwatch! I don't understand how to resolve this conundrum!"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 22:10:07
Subject: Re:M3 and embark?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Wow, this is the third contradictory FAQ answer  We need FAQs for FAQs
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/05 16:54:07
Subject: M3 and embark?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
interesting.
So harlies can not embark after a twilight pathways move ? Even before the FAQ i thought they could XD.
Good way to think of this confusing new FAQ though. I will remember specific outweighs non-specific. As twilight pathways is a strat (like fire and fade) they can not embark.
does this seem like I got this correct ?
Edit : I meant its a psychic power, for the psychic phase
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/05 21:09:13
As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.
RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/06 13:42:31
Subject: Re:M3 and embark?
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
So overall, the answer is: we're not sure as its not entirely clear.
I'll probably not try it then!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/06 15:11:57
Subject: M3 and embark?
|
 |
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM
|
BaconCatBug wrote: Kcalehc wrote:So with the new changes to how 'as if it were' phases stuff works, does this mean I can 'Move, Move, Move', then embark (as if it were the movement phase)? (assuming my unit ends up close enough to a transport to do so, of course)
Get my infantry out of harms way and fire my chimera's lasguns afterwards! If I've only one guy left, 6 lasguns on a chimera is more effective than the 1 he carries.
Yes. GW say that with the exception of stratagems, if you act like a phase you can do everything that happens in that phase as though it was. That means you can Move! Move! Move! and them embark.
However the FAQ also says Q: Can units embark inside a transport in a phase other than the Movement phase, such as when they are using the Fire and Fade Stratagem from Codex: Craftworlds, or when a unit performs a Soulburst action to move again?
A: No, unless the rule in question specifically states that the unit can embark inside a Transport.
So we have contradictory FAQs. Yay for good rules writing!
Stop having a hate boner for GW, its pretty obvious that the more specific rule takes priority. Instead of listing every single time that "As if" works, they just said "ALL rules except X". That is a good way of writing rules, you set the norm, then you add exceptions.
Take MTG for example, its one of the game with the best rules definition and thats how they do it. The rule is X unless stated otherwise.
|
|
 |
 |
|