Switch Theme:

Tau The Eight and commander farsight  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Just played a fluffy game where someone fielded The Eight. But they also fielded commander farsight as an HQ choice. I didn’t want to argue it, as I thought 2 of him was kind of funny, but is that actually legal since they are 2 different units?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Vrigor wrote:
Just played a fluffy game where someone fielded The Eight. But they also fielded commander farsight as an HQ choice. I didn’t want to argue it, as I thought 2 of him was kind of funny, but is that actually legal since they are 2 different units?


Page 114 left column, 3rd graph in Chapter approved 2018 answers this question.

In short, you can not have The Eight and include the Commander Farsight datasheet from Codex: T’au Empire in your army.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dominating Dominatrix






Of course, whether or not your opponent was aware of a rule tucked away in another book is another question.


These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.

 JohnHwangDD wrote:

The Nazis were right. It's better to be a Nazi than a fan.

Thank you for getting me on the side of Milo and the Nazis.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Lance845 wrote:
Of course, whether or not your opponent was aware of a rule tucked away in another book is another question.


A rule tucked away in another book?

The Eight is in Chapter approved 2018, so what other book are you talking about?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

 DeathReaper wrote:
 Lance845 wrote:
Of course, whether or not your opponent was aware of a rule tucked away in another book is another question.


A rule tucked away in another book?

The Eight is in Chapter approved 2018, so what other book are you talking about?

It’s pretty obvious he means the individual might not have the chapter approved 2018 book...
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Pain4Pleasure wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 Lance845 wrote:
Of course, whether or not your opponent was aware of a rule tucked away in another book is another question.


A rule tucked away in another book?

The Eight is in Chapter approved 2018, so what other book are you talking about?

It’s pretty obvious he means the individual might not have the chapter approved 2018 book...


Then how is the individual using "The Eight" which is in the chapter approved 2018 book???

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets





Cardiff

Indeed. The same book that the rules are in tells you the restriction. Not an excuse, Lance. If you field a unit it’s your responsibility to be up on the latest rules for it and bring them with you.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in de
Regular Dakkanaut




Berlin, Germany

How borderline do you have to be to pull a stunt like this anyway? Farsight is part of The Eight - how on earth could you argue to field him a second time? Apart from the very rules to use The Eight explicitly prohibiting it for crying out loud!
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Darnok wrote:
How borderline do you have to be to pull a stunt like this anyway? Farsight is part of The Eight - how on earth could you argue to field him a second time? Apart from the very rules to use The Eight explicitly prohibiting it for crying out loud!


To be fair, if his opponent missed that rule that explicitly prohibited it, then i can see how he could have made that mistake.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission




Tacoma, WA, USA

Yeah. If he didn't bother to read the rules for his unit/detachment and decides it must be kosher to field two Commander Farsight models that both say they must be unique, it's all good
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





He probably just used BattleScribe for the list. Just put both on there and it says it’s good. His list was just the eight and a bunch of HQs. Wasnt a good list, but it was fun to get to kill tau characters for a change. They are usually the only thing alive at the end of the game it seems (imperial gun line is me)
   
Made in us
Dominating Dominatrix






Exactly. Battlescribe was probably in use.


These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.

 JohnHwangDD wrote:

The Nazis were right. It's better to be a Nazi than a fan.

Thank you for getting me on the side of Milo and the Nazis.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: