Switch Theme:

Question About Night Lord Rules (terror tactics and synergy). rules in the post.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in it
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi i have some questions that FAQ doesn't answered me:

"Terror Tactics", the Night Lord Trait, says:
"Models in enemy unit must subtract 1 from their Leadership characteristic for each unit with this trait within 6" of theirs (of a maximum of -3)"

now, how do it works with other abilities which subtract LDs?

For example: if i charge 1 enemy unit with 2 units of Night Lord Raptors equipped both with icon of despair how much is the total debuff to that unit LD?

raptors rules: fearsome visage: Units within 1" of any enemy raptor must subtract 1 to their Leadership characteristic.
icon of despair: enemy units that are within 6" of any units from your army with a Icon of Despair must subtract 1 from their Leadership characteristic.

Thanks
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Apply each rule individually. They do not conflict with each other.

Haarken plus 3 NL units plus Raptors plus Despair will get you -6 to LD. Terror Lord will get them to roll two dice and pick highest. And if you want a knight you can stack another -1. Butcher cannons will also add among a few other things.

[im]https://imgur.com/kEUzFF0.png[im]

http://insighthammer.com/ 
   
Made in it
Fresh-Faced New User




thanks that's what i wanted to hear ;D...upset about harkeen is only for Black legion
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





baxthepaz wrote:
thanks that's what i wanted to hear ;D...upset about harkeen is only for Black legion


He still gives all raptors rerolls to hit.

Take a BL detachment and a NL one as well and you're good as gold.

This is about 1600 points, which gives you room to gear and add whatever else. It should be easy enough to stack to -5 (turn 2 forward) if a butcher cannon kills a model, so IS are fleeing 3 or 4 models when they lose 1.

Black Legion Battalion
Haarken - 115
Discordant, AC - 160

3x5 CSM -- CC, CB - 261

Contemptor, 2x Butcher - 138
Contemptor, 2x Butcher - 138

Venomcrawler - 130
Venomcrawler - 130

Night Lords Vanguard -- HOST RAPTORIAL
Jump Chaos Lord, WL, TIP OF THE CLAW - 93

10 Raptors, Despair - 150
2x5 Warp Talons - 260



This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/16 13:19:37


[im]https://imgur.com/kEUzFF0.png[im]

http://insighthammer.com/ 
   
Made in de
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest






Germany

 Daedalus81 wrote:
Apply each rule individually. They do not conflict with each other.

Haarken plus 3 NL units plus Raptors plus Despair will get you -6 to LD. Terror Lord will get them to roll two dice and pick highest. And if you want a knight you can stack another -1. Butcher cannons will also add among a few other things.


Unfortunately butcher cannons arent cumulative. This means they only work on their own.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





 p5freak wrote:
 Daedalus81 wrote:
Apply each rule individually. They do not conflict with each other.

Haarken plus 3 NL units plus Raptors plus Despair will get you -6 to LD. Terror Lord will get them to roll two dice and pick highest. And if you want a knight you can stack another -1. Butcher cannons will also add among a few other things.


Unfortunately butcher cannons arent cumulative. This means they only work on their own.


I just mean bespoke rules don't override other bespoke rules so that Butcher Cannon + NL + etc will stack.

[im]https://imgur.com/kEUzFF0.png[im]

http://insighthammer.com/ 
   
Made in de
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest






Germany

 Daedalus81 wrote:
Apply each rule individually. They do not conflict with each other.

Haarken plus 3 NL units plus Raptors plus Despair will get you -6 to LD. Terror Lord will get them to roll two dice and pick highest. And if you want a knight you can stack another -1. Butcher cannons will also add among a few other things.


Add a dark apostle, use Litany of Despair, and your opponent has to roll 3D6, discarding the lowest result, and use the highest result.

Chaos/daemons can stack up more than -10 LD. Note that a characteristic can not be modified below 1. If its negative, it counts as 1.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Daedalus81 wrote:
I just mean bespoke rules don't override other bespoke rules so that Butcher Cannon + NL + etc will stack.


No. Not cumulative means it doesnt add to anything.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/16 13:39:11


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





 p5freak wrote:
 Daedalus81 wrote:
Apply each rule individually. They do not conflict with each other.

Haarken plus 3 NL units plus Raptors plus Despair will get you -6 to LD. Terror Lord will get them to roll two dice and pick highest. And if you want a knight you can stack another -1. Butcher cannons will also add among a few other things.


Add a dark apostle, use Litany of Despair, and your opponent has to roll 3D6, discarding the lowest result, and use the highest result.

Chaos/daemons can stack up more than -10 LD. Note that a characteristic can not be modified below 1. If its negative, it counts as 1.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Daedalus81 wrote:
I just mean bespoke rules don't override other bespoke rules so that Butcher Cannon + NL + etc will stack.


No. Not cumulative means it doesnt add to anything.


Ah. I got you. I did not read that rule properly. Thanks for catching that.

[im]https://imgur.com/kEUzFF0.png[im]

http://insighthammer.com/ 
   
Made in it
Fresh-Faced New User




well do it means that if i kill 1 model with butcher cannon and then charge with 1 unit who gives -3 LD, in the morale phase, enemy has just -2 LD?

next, do "fearsome visage" stack itself with 2 units?
same for the icon of despair...
   
Made in de
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest






Germany

Abilities with the same name don't stack. Unless stated otherwise. The legion trait for night lords is cumulative up to -3. Two or more icons of despair don't stack, two or more fearsome visages don't stack.
Its unknown how butcher cannons interact with other negatives to LD. The intention could be that they don't stack with other butcher cannons. But we don't know. Blame FW, their rules are even worse than GWs. There was a thread in YMDC about it, and no solution.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: