Switch Theme:

Can i re-roll hits to avoid misses because of modifiers?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Mighty Chosen Warrior of Chaos






Can i re-roll hits to avoid misses because of modifiers?

Trajann Valoris has this
Legendary Commander: You can re-roll hit rolls
and wound rolls of 1 made for friendly ADEPTUS
CUSTODES units within 6" of Trajann Valoris.

1.Does this ability allow him to re-roll all hit rolls or just ones?

2.For example i have a custodes unit that is shooting at a unit that is -1 to hit can i re-roll dice that show a 2?

EDIT: 3. what happens if i have a abilitiy like Abaddon?
You can re-roll hit rolls for friendly BLACK LEGION units while they are within 6" of Abaddon the Despoiler.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/05/25 08:45:48


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Just ones, and rerolls happen before modifiers so that 2 is a 2 until after any rerolls have been made.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in de
Mighty Chosen Warrior of Chaos






What about if i have a abilitiy like Abaddon?
"You can re-roll hit rolls for friendly BLACK LEGION units while they are within 6" of Abaddon the Despoiler. "

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/25 08:52:29


 
   
Made in fi
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





That is reroll all so you could even reroll successes if you were so inclined. Cawl has similar ability.

2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
Made in de
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator






It gets interesting when you look at models who have an ability that lets you "reroll all missed to-hit rolls".

In my Dark Angels army, when I get -1 to hit, Azrael lets me reroll 1s and 2s, but not the 3s.

We're still saying "I hit on 4+", but actually you still hit on 3s, the modifier just modifies the outcome of your final dice roll.
   
Made in fi
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





That's not interesting as it's clear. No rerolling 3's. However few models let you reroll hit rolls period. No word "missed". Those allow you to reroll whether it's failed or success allowing you to reroll even with gw's weird rerolls before modifiers

2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
Made in de
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator






Please accept my humble excuse that i didnt wrote "failed", but "missed".

Unfortunately, my codex is in german, an thus I dont know the exact english wording.

I still think anybody would understand what I mean by "missed"....
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

Mickmann wrote:
Please accept my humble excuse that i didnt wrote "failed", but "missed".

Unfortunately, my codex is in german, an thus I dont know the exact english wording.

I still think anybody would understand what I mean by "missed"....
GW has said rerolls happen BEFORE modifiers-so Azrael lets Marines reroll 1s and 2s, but NOT 3s, even if you're shooting at something that inflicts a -1 hit penalty.

Abaddon and Cawl, though, simply say "You can reroll hits," meaning you can choose to reroll a 3-whether failed or not.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/25 12:36:40


Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in fi
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





Mickmann wrote:
Please accept my humble excuse that i didnt wrote "failed", but "missed".

Unfortunately, my codex is in german, an thus I dont know the exact english wording.

I still think anybody would understand what I mean by "missed"....


Failed, missed, either way not that interesting since that's the rules and most common one. I would say the ones that simply say reroll to hit rolls without caring about miss or fail or whatever as not only it bypass reroll before modifier it is much rarer.

You could even reroll 6's if you wanted(say want to avoid killing so want to avoid exploding 6's or something)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/25 13:48:42


2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 JNAProductions wrote:
Mickmann wrote:
Please accept my humble excuse that i didnt wrote "failed", but "missed".

Unfortunately, my codex is in german, an thus I dont know the exact english wording.

I still think anybody would understand what I mean by "missed"....
GW has said rerolls happen BEFORE modifiers-so Azrael lets Marines reroll 1s and 2s, but NOT 3s, even if you're shooting at something that inflicts a -1 hit penalty.

Abaddon and Cawl, though, simply say "You can reroll hits," meaning you can choose to reroll a 3-whether failed or not.
This is indeed the correct answer. They are differently worded abilities and thus work differently.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Yea the Faq clarification means alot of us have been doing it wrong.
Which means even a 2 BS will miss some time.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Librarian with Freaky Familiar






Yeah so missing and modifiers gets wishy washy. To clarify the best I can.

If something says reroll ones to hit, that's only Nat ones, not modified ones. So if you hit in 2+ but the enemy has a -1 to hit, and you roll a 2 you miss.

Now here is where it gets silly. Let's say you hit on a 2 and something says "reroll failed hits/reroll all misses" and what you are shooting at is at -1 to hit. If you roll a 2, you technically hit, but the target has a -1 so they do not take the hit, BUT you did roll a sucusseful hit, so you can't reroll it.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
How ever modifiers DO effect the roll of one on plasma for over charge. So if they have a -1 you over charge, a roll of a 2 counts as a roll of 1

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/29 16:11:43


To many unpainted models to count. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: