Switch Theme:

Rules Query - Declaring Charges All at Once  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





I was playing against a pretty seasoned player, but he kept on mixing up his old edition rules and new ones. I picked him up on it a few times and he even educated me on an error I made.

But he was pretty adamant that when declaring charges, you need to declare all of them at once. So if I had a squad of berzerkers and a rhino and they will be the only things charging that phase, I had to state they were both charging at the same time. Apparently... this was to allow the opponent to decide on what overwatch and weapons to use (he was being a sneaky Tau). Obviously that defeats the point of me charging the rhino in first to soak up the overwatch.

I'm 99% sure this isn't the case.... I said you pick and declare eligible units to charge one at a time... and we did play it that way in the end thankfully.

Can anyone confirm? The doubt has set in.


PS. The mistake I was making was thinking that a disembark move COUNTED AS moving... which I thought meant that you can't disembark AND move (or advance too). So I was having to really , really carefully consider my disembarkment of Khorne Berzerkers... not so much anymore! They can now "move" up to 9" (3" disembark radius, then 6" move) and then charge (up to 12") and all the fighting moves a berzerker can make (twice).

 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

1. Choose Unit to Charge With
Any of your units within 12" of the enemy in your Charge
phase can make a charge move. You may not choose a
unit that Advanced or Fell Back this turn, nor one that
started the Charge phase within 1" of an enemy.
2. Choose Targets
Once you have chosen an eligible unit, select one or more
enemy units within 12" of them as the target(s) of the
charge. Each target unit can then attempt to fire Overwatch.


I see nothing in the charge phase rules that says you must declare all your charges at once. Next time your opponent tells you have to do something like he says, ask him to quote the relevent rule(s).
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

You declare and resolve Charges one at a time. Rules citation: end of part 4 of the Charge Phase process.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Cheers.

I suppose asking HIM to prove it/quote it would be better than me looking around to disprove it. Saves me the time and effort.

I understand confusing some older editions or other games as we've played so many. I still frequently nearly roll 2D6 for Leadership/Morale tests

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/30 10:02:51


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






To confirm, p5freak is correct here. You do not declare all your charges at once, you declare and resolve them entirely one unit at a time.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

TarkinLarson wrote:
Cheers.

I suppose asking HIM to prove it/quote it would be better than me looking around to disprove it. Saves me the time and effort.

I understand confusing some older editions or other games as we've played so many. I still frequently nearly roll 2D6 for Leadership/Morale tests


It doesn’t help that it tells you in Step 4, but yes in general a polite “could you show me where the rules say that?” disproves a lot of silliness on the spot.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: