Sazzlefrats wrote:I had a battle with two different combat situations, both left me questioning this consolidation rule.
1. Get charged by an assassin, my unit is decimated except 1 model 6" away from it is alive. Do I actually have to move 3" towards the assassin, what if I stand still? or move marginally closer? Can I break combat?
2. A different combat, I wipe out my opponents combatants. There are no models within 18". Am I stilled forced to consolidate towards the enemy (I would have to march out into the open).
1. If you get charged by the Assassin, you're not going to be consolidating, the assassin is. Furthermore, since the Assassin charged you, you obviously did not charge that turn, thus the decimated unit cannot activate to fight because it is not within 1" of an enemy unit and did not charge.
2. You can choose to move 0" when you consolidate (or pile in), it is "Up to 3"". If you do decide to move it must end closer to the closest enemy model, even if that model is a long way away.