| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/07 22:31:29
Subject: Falling back / stuck in CC and embarking
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
is there any rule preventing you from embarking while stuck in CC ?
If you fall back, even if you are within 1" of enemy models before you embark, once you embark your unit is not on the table and therefor not withing 1" at the end of movement.
Automatically Appended Next Post: or is the act of remaining stationary considered to still be ending their movement ?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/07 22:37:56
As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.
RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/07 22:42:13
Subject: Falling back / stuck in CC and embarking
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
Douglasville, GA
|
You can in fact move 0", because movement values are always "up to" unless specified otherwise (as in the case of Supersonic Flyers). So, you CAN embark a unit out of 1" without Falling Back. Relatively certain this is the case, at least, but BCB might be around soon to correct me.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/07 23:10:33
Subject: Re:Falling back / stuck in CC and embarking
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From 'Falling Back':
Units starting the Movement phase within 1" of an enemy unit can either remain stationary or Fall Back. If you choose to Fall Back, the unit must end its move more than 1" away from all enemy units.
From 'Transports':
If all models in a unit end their move within 3" of a friendly transport, they can embark within it.
Both distance requirements occur at the same time (i.e. at the end of it's move) so you must satisfy both rules.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/07 23:19:14
Subject: Re:Falling back / stuck in CC and embarking
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ghaz wrote:From 'Falling Back':
Units starting the Movement phase within 1" of an enemy unit can either remain stationary or Fall Back. If you choose to Fall Back, the unit must end its move more than 1" away from all enemy units.
From 'Transports':
If all models in a unit end their move within 3" of a friendly transport, they can embark within it.
Both distance requirements occur at the same time (i.e. at the end of it's move) so you must satisfy both rules.
What if you "remain stationary" and are within 3 "
do you end your movement within 3", it doesn't say, you don't get a "movement."
Kind of like pile in, you still are considered to have piled in/consolidated even if you have "remained stationary"
Automatically Appended Next Post: Nevermind
its covered in the FAQ
Q: Can a unit that is within 1" of the enemy and entirely within
3" of a friendly Transport embark into that transport without
having to move? For example, because they cannot Fly and
would have to move through enemy models?
A: No.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/07 23:21:48
As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.
RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/07 23:23:21
Subject: Falling back / stuck in CC and embarking
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
Douglasville, GA
|
Nevermind me then.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/08 00:26:20
Subject: Falling back / stuck in CC and embarking
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
As stated above, newly disallowed by the FAQ.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/08 01:54:17
Subject: Falling back / stuck in CC and embarking
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|