Switch Theme:

Rules question Genestealer cult. Please help.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





I have two rules question about Genestealer cults. Locus and Aberrants and Patriarch charge a unit of Nobs and a Warboss. I select my Aberrants to fight 1st. Warboss then declares he is using the stratagem counter offensive, so does the warboss fight next or does the Locus fight due to his quick silverstrike rule? 2nd question. Can the unquestioning loyalty and bodyguard rule be used to pass on more than one wound? If I have 2 troops within 3' can I pass both wounds on as long as I make the 4+ roll on each wound. Or in the Locus case can I pass on four wounds to him in one fight phase since he has 4 hits? Some people are saying as It reads you can select "ONE of those units and roll a D6...." (unquestioning loyalty rule) That it means only one wound per round can be passed on. Please help clear this up.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/08 20:45:44


 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

Warboss fights next.

When you choose to attempt to negate the wound via a bodyguard rule (be it the Locus' or Unquestioning Loyalty) you can only make ONE roll.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






octar wrote:
I have two rules question about Genestealer cults. Locus and Aberrants and Patriarch charge a unit of Nobs and a Warboss. I select my Aberrants to fight 1st. Warboss then declares he is using the stratagem counter offensive, so does the warboss fight next or does the Locus fight due to his quick silverstrike rule? 2nd question. Can the unquestioning loyalty and bodyguard rule be used to pass on more than one wound? If I have 2 troops within 3' can I pass both wounds on as long as I make the 4+ roll on each wound. Or in the Locus case can I pass on four wounds to him in one fight phase since he has 4 hits? Some people are saying as It reads you can select "ONE of those units and roll a D6...." (unquestioning loyalty rule) That it means only one wound per round can be passed on. Please help clear this up.
Not the exact question but the answer is definitive.
WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK Official Update Version 1.5 wrote:Q: If a unit is affected by a rule that forces it to fight after all
other units able to fight have done so, such as the effects of the
Paroxysm psychic power, the Vexator Mask or the Armour of
Russ, can it still be affected by the Counter-Offensive Stratagem?
A: Yes, the Counter Offensive Stratagem allows a unit to
fight outside of the normal fight order (i.e. the Stratagem
does not give a unit the ability to fight first in the Fight
phase, it simply instructs you to pick a unit and fight with
it next).
The Warboss fights next.

You can use Unquestioning Bodyguard "Each time a <CULT> CHARACTER model (other than a LOCUS) loses a wound", which happens when you Inflict Damage. If the CHARACTER suffers a 6 Damage wounds (e.g. from a Lascannon), you can (and if you choose to do so, must) roll to intercept each individual point of damage, one at a time until the unit(s) with the Bodyguard rule is all dead and can't intercept anymore. It's basically a FnP effect that kills meatshields when you pass it.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/06/08 21:16:13


 
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





Auckland, NZ

Note that while the Locus's Unquestioning Bodyguard rule works by intercepting damage, the standard Unquestioning Loyalty rule common to other GSC infantry works by intercepting wounds.

So if a lascannon hits and wounds a character, then on a 4+ another GSC infantry model can intercept the entire shot and get splattered.
If you want to use a locus instead, you wait until the lascannons damage has been rolled, then roll a 2+ for each point of damage inflicted, with the locus intercepting a point of damage for each successful roll.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: