Switch Theme:

Khorne Berzerkers, how does giving them a chainsword + chainaxe add 1 attack?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Stalwart Space Marine






So as the the title says, how does adding a chainsword + chainaxe to a berzerker give them +1 attack?

They are 2 base attacks, on the charge they get 3... My friends and i are fairly new to gaming, and they say that having duel weapons does not add another attack? that you must pick on weapon to attack with? Everything ive read online indicates to me that having them all close combat will give them 2 attacks with the axe and one with the sword? on the charge that turns into 3 attacks with the axe and 2 with the sword? Is this correct? ive looked at the rule book and the codex and cannot find these rules anywhere!

Thanks in advance for the help!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/23 07:39:44


 
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

You only get "extra" attacks if the weapon profile says you do. Ie: Ork Choppas state "you can make one additional attack with this weapon". If Chainswords say the same thing, and you have an Axe and a Sword, you can do 2 Axe attacks, and 1 Sword attack, or 3 Sword attacks, or 1 Axe and 2 Swords.

I'm not 100% familiar with your charge rules, but most of the are "add 1 to the Attack characteristic of this unit charges". This will NOT add 1 Axe AND 1 Sword. You only get +1 attack, which you can use with either profile.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 SargentWhiskey wrote:
So as the the title says, how does adding a chainsword + chainaxe to a berzerker give them +1 attack?

They are 2 base attacks, on the charge they get 3... My friends and i are fairly new to gaming, and they say that having duel weapons does not add another attack? that you must pick on weapon to attack with? Everything ive read online indicates to me that having them all close combat will give them 2 attacks with the axe and one with the sword? on the charge that turns into 3 attacks with the axe and 2 with the sword? Is this correct? ive looked at the rule book and the codex and cannot find these rules anywhere!

Thanks in advance for the help!


1) Why do they get 3 on the charge? I do not see any rules on page 132 of the Codex CSM, that says they get +1 attacks when they charge.

2) The chainsword says "Each time the bearer fights,it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon." so they get the base attacks Plus an attack with the chainsword.

3) if you can give them a chainaxe and chainsword, you can make attacks with either weapon, but no more than the 2 attacks they get, then you make a single attack with the chainsword, because of the chainsword special rules.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

They have 2 attacks base I believe and 1 more from the sword.
World Eaters get +1 on the charge.

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Chainsword indeed grants 1 extra attack. The reason for taking both isn't that double melee weapons gives you anything in itself, it's just that the Axe has a much better profile! It's just a way of maximising attacks and damage. So you make all your main attacks with the axe, then you take the extra chainsword attack.

The alternative is Axe and pistol, but you only get to make the pistol attack in your shooting phase. You get to make the chainsword attack every time you fight, which is twice every fight phase (yours and your opponent's) for a berserker. That means you potentially get to use the chainsword attack 4 times for every 1 time you would have used the pistol. More if you use the Strat to fight a 3rd time.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Note that world eaters only get one additional attack in the subsequent fight phase, after charging. So, you charge, get 4 attacks (if you have chainsword and chainaxe) for the first time when you fight, and 3 attacks when you fight the second time. And 3 more for the third time when you play that fight again stratagem.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 p5freak wrote:
Note that world eaters only get one additional attack in the subsequent fight phase, after charging. So, you charge, get 4 attacks (if you have chainsword and chainaxe) for the first time when you fight, and 3 attacks when you fight the second time. And 3 more for the third time when you play that fight again stratagem.


Technically it could be the second time they fight, doesn't have to be the first time they fight - just once in the fight phase.
   
Made in au
Stalwart Space Marine






 SlaveToDorkness wrote:
They have 2 attacks base I believe and 1 more from the sword.
World Eaters get +1 on the charge.


they get a extra attack on the charge because of the Legion trait: 'world eaters: butchers nails'

so i think i understand now, they have 2 base attacks, the +1 in cc because of the chainsword, then if they get a successful charge they have +1 more attack because of there legion trait, so that is 4 attacks total on the charge. Pretty good!

so my next question is, how does 'blood for the blood god' work?
Now how i understand it is, is that World eaters attack, then the enemy attacks back, then the world eaters attack again. How ever if world eaters attack and wipe out a unit in the fight phase they get to consolidate 3 inches, and if they are within 1 inch of another enemy model they get to fight that unit again? Is this correct?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Fights aren't two sided in 8e. A unit alone fights, then another unit fights. The unit your opponent picks might be on the other side of the table, it doesn't have to be the one engaged with the unit you just fought with - unless it's the only unit they have left to fight with.

When the Berserkers fight the second time, if they aren't within 1" of an enemy it'll depend whether they charged or not. If they didn't charge, they can't be selected to fight because they aren't eligible. They can't do anything else that fight phase. If they did charge, you can pile in with them and if they are then within 1" of an enemy they can fight them, but as they charged they can only do this if they declared a charge against - which also means they must have been within 12" before the berserkers initially charged.

Melee is a bit complicated but it's ok once you get your head around it!
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 SargentWhiskey wrote:

so my next question is, how does 'blood for the blood god' work?
Now how i understand it is, is that World eaters attack, then the enemy attacks back, then the world eaters attack again. How ever if world eaters attack and wipe out a unit in the fight phase they get to consolidate 3 inches, and if they are within 1 inch of another enemy model they get to fight that unit again? Is this correct?


Yes, but you can only attack enemy units you declared a charge upon.
   
Made in au
Stalwart Space Marine






Ok, so if they wipe out a squad they dont get to attack another enemy even if they are within 1inch of them? UNLESS they have declared a multi charge?

After the 2nd attack from the berserkers does the enemy get to hit them back?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 SargentWhiskey wrote:
Ok, so if they wipe out a squad they dont get to attack another enemy even if they are within 1inch of them? UNLESS they have declared a multi charge?


If they charged then they can only target units they declared a charge against. If they didn't charge they can target any units within 1".

After the 2nd attack from the berserkers does the enemy get to hit them back?


I assume you mean Fight rather than Attack here? I still don't quite understand what you are asking though. If you end your second fight within 1" of a new enemy unit that unit can then fight you, is that what you're asking?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 SargentWhiskey wrote:
Ok, so if they wipe out a squad they dont get to attack another enemy even if they are within 1inch of them? UNLESS they have declared a multi charge?


Yes.

 SargentWhiskey wrote:

After the 2nd attack from the berserkers does the enemy get to hit them back?


Yes. If the enemy still has models within 1" of your berserkers.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/06/23 09:31:21


 
   
Made in ca
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





 SargentWhiskey wrote:

so my next question is, how does 'blood for the blood god' work?
Now how i understand it is, is that World eaters attack, then the enemy attacks back, then the world eaters attack again. How ever if world eaters attack and wipe out a unit in the fight phase they get to consolidate 3 inches, and if they are within 1 inch of another enemy model they get to fight that unit again? Is this correct?


It will have different effects depending on whether or not the Berserkers charged this turn.

If so, and assuming they wipe the initial charge target, they will only be able to fight again if the unit they consolidated into within an inch of was a target of their charge in the previous charge phase.

If they did not charge, then they will be able to fight any enemy unit that they've consolidated to within an inch of. Assuming they wipe that enemy unit as well, if your consolidation move would bring them to within an inch of another enemy unit, you could use "Fury of Khorne" to fight them as well. However, if after wiping any of these units they can't end their consolidation move within an inch of an enemy unit, they wouldn't be eligible to fight (as not being within an inch of an enemy unit at the time they would be chosen to fight) - whether with "Blood for the Blood God" or "Fury of Khorne".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/23 09:35:31


 
   
Made in au
Stalwart Space Marine






 p5freak wrote:
 SargentWhiskey wrote:
Ok, so if they wipe out a squad they dont get to attack another enemy even if they are within 1inch of them? UNLESS they have declared a multi charge?


Yes.

 SargentWhiskey wrote:

After the 2nd attack from the berserkers does the enemy get to hit them back?


Yes. If the enemy still has models within 1" of your berserkers.



sorry, i mean if my berzerkers killed a squad in there 1st round of fighting, then they get to consolidate into another enemy squad and attack them
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Yes, the enemy will get to fight back (assuming they survive and have models within 1" of you).
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 SargentWhiskey wrote:


sorry, i mean if my berzerkers killed a squad in there 1st round of fighting, then they get to consolidate into another enemy squad and attack them


If you consolidate into another enemy squad, within 1", they get to attack you. You can only attack them if you declared a charge against them in the previous charge phase.
   
Made in au
Stalwart Space Marine






 p5freak wrote:
 SargentWhiskey wrote:


sorry, i mean if my berzerkers killed a squad in there 1st round of fighting, then they get to consolidate into another enemy squad and attack them


If you consolidate into another enemy squad, within 1", they get to attack you. You can only attack them if you declared a charge against them in the previous charge phase.


even tho berzerkers get to fight twice?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 SargentWhiskey wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 SargentWhiskey wrote:


sorry, i mean if my berzerkers killed a squad in there 1st round of fighting, then they get to consolidate into another enemy squad and attack them


If you consolidate into another enemy squad, within 1", they get to attack you. You can only attack them if you declared a charge against them in the previous charge phase.


even tho berzerkers get to fight twice?


Yes. You can only attack enemy units you declared a charge upon, even if they could fight a million times. Your opponent just needs enemy (your) models to be within 1" of his models, to be able to fight.

I suggest watching those youtube videos :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7yXsZFlk6lY
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_TM6BlHN_cc
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2hED6iT59K4
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUn3q8vFCCw

Note that the assault phase is the fight phase.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/06/23 10:46:48


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 SargentWhiskey wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 SargentWhiskey wrote:


sorry, i mean if my berzerkers killed a squad in there 1st round of fighting, then they get to consolidate into another enemy squad and attack them


If you consolidate into another enemy squad, within 1", they get to attack you. You can only attack them if you declared a charge against them in the previous charge phase.


even tho berzerkers get to fight twice?
Correct. You can only attack units you declared a charge against if you charged that turn. Your best bet is to multi charge things you think you might be able to consolidate/pile into.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: