Switch Theme:

Details on Laurels of Command  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in tw
Regular Dakkanaut




Normally, a unit is only allowed to be affected by one command per turn, but Laurels of Command allow you to override this and give one extra order on a 4+. Since it says you must immediately issue the second order, I assume that means the orders will stack?

That means I could Bring It Down (reroll ones) and fix Bayonets, letting me fight in the shooting phase with a reroll on ones.

Can you also override other rules and use the same command twice, like giving them Move Move Move! Twice?

Also, it seems there is a conflict in that Fixed Bayonets says you must immediately fight, but the Laurels of command says after you issue the first order you must immediately roll for the second order. Which is the priority here?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/07/09 05:24:04


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

GameDadZ wrote:
Normally, a unit is only allowed to be affected by one command per turn, but Laurels of Command allow you to override this and give one extra order on a 4+. Since it says you must immediately issue the second order, I assume that means the orders will stack?

That means I could Bring It Down (reroll ones) and fix Bayonets, letting me fight in the shooting phase with a reroll on ones.

Can you also override other rules and use the same command twice, like giving them Move Move Move! Twice?

Also, it seems there is a conflict in that Fixed Bayonets says you must immediately fight, but the Laurels of command says after you issue the first order you must immediately roll for the second order. Which is the priority here?

I am going to assume you are talking about the Codex: Astra Militarum.

You can issue the same order, but considering the wording of the orders, the second order will not have any effect (For most of them).

For Move Move Move! that is a huge can of worms and best bet is to ask your opponent or the TO.

Take Aim! for example lets you re-roll hit rolls of 1, so even if you had that order twice nothing extra happens, you still only get to re-roll hit rolls of 1.

Same goes for First Rank, Fire! Second Rank, Fire! you change the weapon type, changing it twice does effectively nothing.

Fixed Bayonets and Laurels of Command both say Immediately so it would resolve as per the sequencing rules in the BRB (or FAQ I can not remember which).

But yes, your unit gets the benefit of both orders if they are different orders since you need to Immediately issue the second order.

(Unless there is an FAQ I missed).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/07/09 05:41:47


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






GameDadZ wrote:
Normally, a unit is only allowed to be affected by one command per turn, but Laurels of Command allow you to override this and give one extra order on a 4+. Since it says you must immediately issue the second order, I assume that means the orders will stack?

That means I could Bring It Down (reroll ones) and fix Bayonets, letting me fight in the shooting phase with a reroll on ones.
Correct. However you need to order "Take Aim" and then have the "Fix Bayonets!" order be the bonus order, due to FAQ. If you order Fix Bayonets! first, you have to resolve the fighting before getting the re-roll buff.
WARHAMMER 40,000 CODEX: ASTRA MILITARUM Official Update Version 1.3 wrote:Q: If I issue an order to a unit with an Officer who has the Laurels of Command, and I roll a 4+ to issue another order to the same unit, do I resolve the first order before issuing the second?
A: Yes.
GameDadZ wrote:
Can you also override other rules and use the same command twice, like giving them Move Move Move! Twice?
No, again due to FAQ.
WARHAMMER 40,000 CODEX: ASTRA MILITARUM Official Update Version 1.3 wrote:Q: Can I use The Laurels of Command to issue the same order twice to the same unit?
A: No, the second order issued must be a different order.
GameDadZ wrote:
Also, it seems there is a conflict in that Fixed Bayonets says you must immediately fight, but the Laurels of command says after you issue the first order you must immediately roll for the second order. Which is the priority here?
See the answer to Question 1.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 DeathReaper wrote:
You can issue the same order, but considering the wording of the orders, the second order will not have any effect (For most of them).
No, you cannot, as per the FAQ

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/07/09 05:41:33


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
You can issue the same order, but considering the wording of the orders, the second order will not have any effect (For most of them).
No, you cannot, as per the FAQ


Re-read my post... (I was still typing).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/07/09 05:43:26


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 DeathReaper wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
You can issue the same order, but considering the wording of the orders, the second order will not have any effect (For most of them).
No, you cannot, as per the FAQ
Re-read my post... (I was still typing).
Fair enough. Yes, there was an FAQ you missed.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

It is possible to use master of command to issue the same order twice to one unit. Voice of command says a unit may only be affected by one order per turn. Master of command doesnt tell you to use voice of command. It simply says you may issue one additional order per turn, without further limitation, if you already have voice of command. Fix bayonets twice ? Fine, go ahead.

Master of Command
Your Warlord gains the Voice of Command ability. If your Warlord already has the Voice of Command or Tank Orders ability, they may instead issue one additional order per turn.


Voice of Command
This unit may issue one order per turn to the soldiers under their command at the start of their Shooting phase. Orders may only be issued to INFANTRY units within 6" of this unit that have the same <REGIMENT> keyword as this unit. To issue an order, pick a target unit and choose which order you wish to issue from the table below. A unit may only be affected by one order per turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/07/09 06:58:44


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
It is possible to use master of command to issue the same order twice to one unit. Voice of command says a unit may only be affected by one order per turn. Master of command doesnt tell you to use voice of command. It simply says you may issue one additional order per turn, without further limitation, if you already have voice of command. Fix bayonets twice ? Fine, go ahead.

Master of Command
Your Warlord gains the Voice of Command ability. If your Warlord already has the Voice of Command or Tank Orders ability, they may instead issue one additional order per turn.


Voice of Command
This unit may issue one order per turn to the soldiers under their command at the start of their Shooting phase. Orders may only be issued to INFANTRY units within 6" of this unit that have the same <REGIMENT> keyword as this unit. To issue an order, pick a target unit and choose which order you wish to issue from the table below. A unit may only be affected by one order per turn.


Not that it matters, because "A unit can only be affected by one order per turn." (Page 85 AM Codex).

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 DeathReaper wrote:


Not that it matters, because "A unit can only be affected by one order per turn." (Page 85 AM Codex).


Which is overridden by master of command. Special overrules general. Thats how the rules work.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/07/09 07:29:14


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:


Not that it matters, because "A unit can only be affected by one order per turn." (Page 85 AM Codex).


Which is overridden by master of command. Special overrules general. Thats how the rules work.
If you're not using the Voice of Command ability to issue the order, how are you issuing the order? Show me where "issue an order" is defined.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/07/09 07:39:18


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:


Not that it matters, because "A unit can only be affected by one order per turn." (Page 85 AM Codex).


Which is overridden by master of command. Special overrules general. Thats how the rules work.
If you're not using the Voice of Command ability to issue the order, how are you issuing the order? Show me where "issue an order" is defined.


Ask GW. The word "instead" means i dont use voice of command to issue an order, i replace voice of command with issue one additional order per turn.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Surely it's instead of the normal Master of Command ability, not instead of Voice of Command?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/07/09 07:59:14


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:


Not that it matters, because "A unit can only be affected by one order per turn." (Page 85 AM Codex).


Which is overridden by master of command. Special overrules general. Thats how the rules work.

Yea, that does not apply here...

There is no Special overrules general in this case because the two are not really in conflict.

You are using the Voice of Command ability to issue the order. However, because "A unit can only be affected by one order per turn." (Page 85 AM Codex) you need to issue to different units.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/07/09 08:52:35


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:


Not that it matters, because "A unit can only be affected by one order per turn." (Page 85 AM Codex).


Which is overridden by master of command. Special overrules general. Thats how the rules work.
If you're not using the Voice of Command ability to issue the order, how are you issuing the order? Show me where "issue an order" is defined.


Ask GW. The word "instead" means i dont use voice of command to issue an order, i replace voice of command with issue one additional order per turn.

the instead talks about gaining the voice of command, incase you don't have it

 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Exactly. I'll admit that the scope of 'instead' could have been more tightly worded. But given the choice a parsing that makes sense and a parsing that is ridiculous, I'll choose the former.

You cannot use it to issue two orders to the same unit.
   
Made in cn
Regular Dakkanaut




Special rules says specifically to issue another order to the same unit. The assumption that the relic does nothing would be ridiculous.

This is disappointing and makes the relic somewhat useless.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





GameDadZ wrote:
Special rules says specifically to issue another order to the same unit. The assumption that the relic does nothing would be ridiculous.

This is disappointing and makes the relic somewhat useless.


What do you mean "does nothing"? It allows you to issue an order to an extra unit.
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

From the FAQ BCB quoted, it looks like you need Laurels of Command to issue more than one order to a single unit. Any other Ability or Relic which allows for issuing more than a single order seems to fall under the general "only one order per unit" clause.

Looking at Master of Command and Voice of Command (quoted above), MoC just allows one Commander to issue two orders to two different units. You want to issue more than one to a single unit? Looks like you want Laurels of Command.
   
Made in cn
Regular Dakkanaut




@stux yeah you could. It’s just not worth a relic to do it. In this way, you would be chasing extremely specific scenarios, most of which you don’t want to gamble with.

For example, my catachan guardsmen are in Close Combat in the shooting phase. I could give them the bring it down command first and have a 50% chance to actually fight. But that would be a dumb gamble. It also means you can’t do anything with move move move since you can’t shoot or assault afterwards.
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

GameDadZ wrote:
@stux yeah you could. It’s just not worth a relic to do it. In this way, you would be chasing extremely specific scenarios, most of which you don’t want to gamble with.

For example, my catachan guardsmen are in Close Combat in the shooting phase. I could give them the bring it down command first and have a 50% chance to actually fight. But that would be a dumb gamble. It also means you can’t do anything with move move move since you can’t shoot or assault afterwards.
There are a lot of crappy relics. This one, while not the BEST Relic, certainly ain't that bad.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 JNAProductions wrote:
GameDadZ wrote:
@stux yeah you could. It’s just not worth a relic to do it. In this way, you would be chasing extremely specific scenarios, most of which you don’t want to gamble with.

For example, my catachan guardsmen are in Close Combat in the shooting phase. I could give them the bring it down command first and have a 50% chance to actually fight. But that would be a dumb gamble. It also means you can’t do anything with move move move since you can’t shoot or assault afterwards.
There are a lot of crappy relics. This one, while not the BEST Relic, certainly ain't that bad.


Indeed most relic lists have 1 auto pick, a couple if you're lucky that have niche uses, and the rest are pretty much trash.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: