Switch Theme:

Heroic Intervention Even When Base-to-Base?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Hey folks!

I'm planning on a list right now that makes use of a Lord Discordant, and I want to make sure that I'm reading a rule correctly.

The Lord Discordant has a rule very similar to others, but missing a key few words. It's the "If the bearer made a charge move or performed a Heroic Intervention this turn, attacks with this weapon are made with a Strength characteristic of x2 instead of +2." rule of his Chain Glaive weapon. Notably, it's missing the rule "was charged" of similar such abilities. Perusing the rulebook, I noticed that declaring a Heroic Intervention doesn't actually require that you move at all. Here's the rules quote;

"After the enemy has completed all of their charge moves, any of your Characters that are within 3" of an enemy unit may perform a Heroic Intervention. Any that do so can move up to 3" so long as they end the move closer to the nearest enemy model."

So, as I read this, if my Lord Discordant charges my opponent, and my opponent survives and decides to stay in combat with the Lord Discordant and keeps me in base contact even, I can declare a Heroic Intervention on HIS turn, and get x2 strength for these attacks, correct?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/07/11 17:24:26


 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

If you’re touching you can’t end the move closer, so no.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

As Johnny said: you have to end closer than you started. Base to base won't work. 0.1" WILL work.
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





I'm unclear why this is the case. Does Heroic Intervention REQUIRE that you move? From the reading, you declare that you're doing it. At that you, there's a move that is optional.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
"Any unit that does so CAN move". That's optional.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/07/11 17:38:59


 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I read it as an optional move the same as consolidating - you CAN move, not MUST move. If you do move then you need to end up closer to the enemy. The same as consolidating, you can elect not to move at all.

Seems that the rules allow you to Heroically intervene even when in base-to-base contact.
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

Q: Can Characters only perform a Heroic Intervention
against enemy units that charged this turn, or can they do so
against any enemy unit?
A: They can do so against any enemy unit.
Note that they can only do so if they end up closer to the nearest enemy model, whether it charged this turn or not.

This is the FAQ I found in regards to this. From the wording, it appears that, if you declare a Heroic Intervention, you have to move AND end closer to the nearest model.
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Thanks! I didn't see that part in italics when I looked! Makes it much clearer

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: