Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/12 13:20:16
Subject: Apocalypse: Transports From Other Detachments
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
This game up in a game last night and I'm wondering what you make of it.
Let's imagine we have a Battalion of Drukhari as follows:
Archon
5x 5 Kabalites
Then let's imagine we have an Outrider as follows:
Archon
4x 3 Reavers
4x Venoms
Raider
If 4 units of Kabalites embark on the Venoms and both Archons and the remaining Kabalite unit embark on the raider this raises a couple of rules questions:
1) If the Outrider is given the Advance order and the Battalion is given the Aimed Fire order can the Outrider move?
2) Same question if the Outrider is given the Assault order?
3) If the Battalion is using Aimed Fire and a Venom is destroyed is the unit destroyed as it cannot disembark as per the Aimed Fire order?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/12 14:50:23
Subject: Apocalypse: Transports From Other Detachments
|
 |
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba
|
1) Units aboard Open Topped transports are granted special permission to perform Shoot actions, but they are not affected in any other way (Don't otherwise count as being on the board except for the purposes of determining Out of Command which uses the transport models). So I would say yes, the Outrider can move and yes, the passengers can aimed fire.
2) Again yes, same reason. Only prevents the transport from shooting.
3) Does disembark count as a "move" from the transport? I thought it was worded as "Set up" but maybe I'm wrong. Aimed fire only prevents move actions.
|
"Got you, Yugi! Your Rubric Marines can't fall back because I have declared the tertiary kaptaris ka'tah stance two, after the secondary dacatarai ka'tah last turn!"
"So you think, Kaiba! I declared my Thousand Sons the cult of Duplicity, which means all my psykers have access to the Sorcerous Facade power! Furthermore I will spend 8 Cabal Points to invoke Cabbalistic Focus, causing the rubrics to appear behind your custodes! The Vengeance for the Wronged and Sorcerous Fullisade stratagems along with the Malefic Maelstrom infernal pact evoked earlier in the command phase allows me to double their firepower, letting me wound on 2s and 3s!"
"you think it is you who has gotten me, yugi, but it is I who have gotten you! I declare the ever-vigilant stratagem to attack your rubrics with my custodes' ranged weapons, which with the new codex are now DAMAGE 2!!"
"...which leads you straight into my trap, Kaiba, you see I now declare the stratagem Implacable Automata, reducing all damage from your attacks by 1 and triggering my All is Dust special rule!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/12 14:54:09
Subject: Apocalypse: Transports From Other Detachments
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Aimed fire specifically prevents disembarking. It's on Page 30 in the disembark rules by name.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/12 15:43:19
Subject: Apocalypse: Transports From Other Detachments
|
 |
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba
|
Drager wrote:Aimed fire specifically prevents disembarking. It's on Page 30 in the disembark rules by name.
Well then, yes, the model would be destroyed if the transport was destroyed.
|
"Got you, Yugi! Your Rubric Marines can't fall back because I have declared the tertiary kaptaris ka'tah stance two, after the secondary dacatarai ka'tah last turn!"
"So you think, Kaiba! I declared my Thousand Sons the cult of Duplicity, which means all my psykers have access to the Sorcerous Facade power! Furthermore I will spend 8 Cabal Points to invoke Cabbalistic Focus, causing the rubrics to appear behind your custodes! The Vengeance for the Wronged and Sorcerous Fullisade stratagems along with the Malefic Maelstrom infernal pact evoked earlier in the command phase allows me to double their firepower, letting me wound on 2s and 3s!"
"you think it is you who has gotten me, yugi, but it is I who have gotten you! I declare the ever-vigilant stratagem to attack your rubrics with my custodes' ranged weapons, which with the new codex are now DAMAGE 2!!"
"...which leads you straight into my trap, Kaiba, you see I now declare the stratagem Implacable Automata, reducing all damage from your attacks by 1 and triggering my All is Dust special rule!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/12 15:56:55
Subject: Apocalypse: Transports From Other Detachments
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Great, that's all in accordance with how I read those rules!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/12 17:23:46
Subject: Apocalypse: Transports From Other Detachments
|
 |
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba
|
Color me flabbergasted that someone in gw rule design realized someone would gain an advantage by juggling detachments and decided to not just disallow it, but add a risk/reward element to it.
Rather than just getting it for free or leaving ut an unanswered question.
|
"Got you, Yugi! Your Rubric Marines can't fall back because I have declared the tertiary kaptaris ka'tah stance two, after the secondary dacatarai ka'tah last turn!"
"So you think, Kaiba! I declared my Thousand Sons the cult of Duplicity, which means all my psykers have access to the Sorcerous Facade power! Furthermore I will spend 8 Cabal Points to invoke Cabbalistic Focus, causing the rubrics to appear behind your custodes! The Vengeance for the Wronged and Sorcerous Fullisade stratagems along with the Malefic Maelstrom infernal pact evoked earlier in the command phase allows me to double their firepower, letting me wound on 2s and 3s!"
"you think it is you who has gotten me, yugi, but it is I who have gotten you! I declare the ever-vigilant stratagem to attack your rubrics with my custodes' ranged weapons, which with the new codex are now DAMAGE 2!!"
"...which leads you straight into my trap, Kaiba, you see I now declare the stratagem Implacable Automata, reducing all damage from your attacks by 1 and triggering my All is Dust special rule!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/12 20:01:07
Subject: Apocalypse: Transports From Other Detachments
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
I know. I was shocked. The seem to be some cool Easter eggs in the apocalypse rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/12 21:47:46
Subject: Apocalypse: Transports From Other Detachments
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Im pleased with just how functional apoc actually is. Its almost like it was made by a games company or something. Super uncharacteristic of gw.
|
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
|