Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/14 13:18:06
Subject: Can I i give the daemonic icon and instrument of chaos to the same model?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hello, I would like to know if you can give the daemonic icon and instrument to the same model in Warhammer 40k.
Thanks in advance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/14 13:48:19
Subject: Can I i give the daemonic icon and instrument of chaos to the same model?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
As far as I can see, nothing is stopping you.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/14 16:11:30
Subject: Can I i give the daemonic icon and instrument of chaos to the same model?
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Based on the models, it may be an oversight. But it is perfectly legal in the rules as they have stood for a couple of years now to put them on the same model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/14 16:15:45
Subject: Can I i give the daemonic icon and instrument of chaos to the same model?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Yes, it is legal.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/14 17:21:17
Subject: Can I i give the daemonic icon and instrument of chaos to the same model?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Is there any reason why you'd want to put 'all your eggs in one basket', so to say/
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/07/14 17:21:48
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/14 17:35:54
Subject: Can I i give the daemonic icon and instrument of chaos to the same model?
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Ghaz wrote:Is there any reason why you'd want to put 'all your eggs in one basket', so to say/
It's just better to have all your bonuses on one model. You choose what order they die, so you can keep that model for last.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/14 17:48:43
Subject: Can I i give the daemonic icon and instrument of chaos to the same model?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Stux wrote: Ghaz wrote:Is there any reason why you'd want to put 'all your eggs in one basket', so to say/
It's just better to have all your bonuses on one model. You choose what order they die, so you can keep that model for last.
Are you really going to Advance or Charge with the last model in the unit that you'd need the 'Instrument of Chaos'?
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/14 18:02:19
Subject: Can I i give the daemonic icon and instrument of chaos to the same model?
|
 |
Terrifying Doombull
|
Maybe? Since they don't lose anything for carrying the gear, there isn't any reason to give up the bonuses, even if right then and there they don't matter.
|
Efficiency is the highest virtue. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/14 18:06:12
Subject: Can I i give the daemonic icon and instrument of chaos to the same model?
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Voss wrote:Maybe? Since they don't lose anything for carrying the gear, there isn't any reason to give up the bonuses, even if right then and there they don't matter.
Exactly. Given the current rules, putting them on separate models is just worse.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/14 18:30:27
Subject: Re:Can I i give the daemonic icon and instrument of chaos to the same model?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/14 18:30:42
Subject: Re:Can I i give the daemonic icon and instrument of chaos to the same model?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
For maximum benefit (unless there's some model out there that gets to choose which model in a unit suffers a wound), wouldn't you want to give the [daemon with the bonus attack] for the unit the instrument and icon?
If you're trying to avoid three armed Bloodletters or Daemonettes, you can probably get away with just cutting the arms off the icons (being as messy about the now dangling arm left overs as you want).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/14 18:48:11
Subject: Re:Can I i give the daemonic icon and instrument of chaos to the same model?
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
solkan wrote:For maximum benefit (unless there's some model out there that gets to choose which model in a unit suffers a wound), wouldn't you want to give the [daemon with the bonus attack] for the unit the instrument and icon?
If you're trying to avoid three armed Bloodletters or Daemonettes, you can probably get away with just cutting the arms off the icons (being as messy about the now dangling arm left overs as you want).
That would be the case, except you can't generally give the instrument or icon to the model with the extra attack, as they have a different name.
Daemonettes as an example, the 'sgt' is called an Allures. The datasheet says one Daemonette can take an instrument and one Daemonette can take an icon. It does not say the Allures can take either.
I haven't checked every Daemon unit, so there may be exceptions.
You can give an Intercessor Sgt the Auxiliary Grenade Launcher though, and there's really no reason not to!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/14 18:57:05
Subject: Can I i give the daemonic icon and instrument of chaos to the same model?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
The easiest way to do a Daemonette with both would be to use the left-handed Lash of Torment from the Chariot kit to hold the Icon.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/14 19:14:19
Subject: Re:Can I i give the daemonic icon and instrument of chaos to the same model?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Stux wrote: solkan wrote:For maximum benefit (unless there's some model out there that gets to choose which model in a unit suffers a wound), wouldn't you want to give the [daemon with the bonus attack] for the unit the instrument and icon?
If you're trying to avoid three armed Bloodletters or Daemonettes, you can probably get away with just cutting the arms off the icons (being as messy about the now dangling arm left overs as you want).
That would be the case, except you can't generally give the instrument or icon to the model with the extra attack, as they have a different name.
Daemonettes as an example, the 'sgt' is called an Allures. The datasheet says one Daemonette can take an instrument and one Daemonette can take an icon. It does not say the Allures can take either.
I haven't checked every Daemon unit, so there may be exceptions.
You can give an Intercessor Sgt the Auxiliary Grenade Launcher though, and there's really no reason not to!
You are correct, the "Sergeant" for Daemon troop choices can't take the Icon or Instrument. You can, however, put both onto the same "Trooper" model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/14 21:02:19
Subject: Re:Can I i give the daemonic icon and instrument of chaos to the same model?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Forgot about the naming thing. I guess the only one it would work on would be the Horrors, since Iridescent Horror is just "select a single Pink Horror in the unit" when setting up.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/14 22:30:28
Subject: Re:Can I i give the daemonic icon and instrument of chaos to the same model?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
solkan wrote:Forgot about the naming thing. I guess the only one it would work on would be the Horrors, since Iridescent Horror is just "select a single Pink Horror in the unit" when setting up.
Because GW didn't want to write "Each time a Pink Horror or Iridescent Horror is slain" for the split ability.
|
|
 |
 |
|