Switch Theme:

Drive by demolitions and Reinforcements  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Brainy Zoanthrope





does the Reinforcements Rules stop you from moving using the drive-by-demolitions stratagem?

"Reinforcements
Many units have the ability to be set up on the battlefield mid-turn, sometimes by using teleporters, grav chutes or other, more esoteric means. Typically, this happens at the end of the Movement phase, but it can also happen during other phases. Units that are set up in this manner cannot move or Advance further during the turn they arrive – their entire Movement phase is used in deploying to the battlefield – but they can otherwise act normally (shoot, charge, etc.) for the rest of their turn. Units that arrive as reinforcements count as having moved in their Movement phase for all rules purposes, such as shooting Heavy weapons. Any unit that has not arrived on the battlefield by the end of the battle counts as having been destroyed."

Order of operations for events.

It is T2 end of the GSC movement phase, 12 rusted claw bikers are set up on the battle field using

Lying in Wait

"Use this Stratagem when you set up a unit from your army as reinforcements that has the Cult Ambush ability and that was set up underground. When setting up that unit, it can be set up anywhere on the battlefield that is more than 3" from any enemy models, but that unit cannot make a charge move this turn."

Then Perfect Ambush to shoot,

"Use this Stratagem in the Movement phase, immediately after you set up an INFANTRY or BIKER unit from your army that has the Cult Ambush ability on the battlefield. That unit can either move D6" (even if it has arrived as reinforcements), or it can shoot with all of its ranged weapons as if it were your Shooting phase (using this Stratagem in your own turn does not prevent that unit from shooting in your Shooting phase or making a charge move in the Charge phase of this turn). You cannot use this Stratagem on a unit that disembarked from a TRANSPORT this turn."

followed by Extra explosives to use 5 demo charges then using Drive by demolitions to get +1 to hit and wound.

"Use this Stratagem before a RUSTED CLAW BIKER unit from your army shoots in your Shooting phase. Until the end of the phase, add 1 to hit and wound rolls made for attacks with that unit’s Grenade weapons. After this unit has resolved all of its shooting attacks this phase, it can immediately make a move as if it were your Movement phase, but cannot charge this turn."

Can the Bikers move after the drive by demolitions? Assuming they can use it in with a perfect ambush.

IF they CAN'T use Drive by demolitions from a Perfect Ambush, the movement question will follow in the shooting phase.

IF they CAN use Drive by demolitions in the Movement phase with a perfect Ambush and they CAN move after the first drive by demolitions, in the shooting Phase you extra explosives and Drive by demolitions to move again? .

It seems like a lot of mobility for 9 CP

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/07/25 18:13:40


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






No, they can't move due to the stratagem.
Q. The rules for reinforcements say that when a unit is set up
on the battlefield as reinforcements, it cannot move or Advance
further that turn, but can otherwise act normally (shoot,
charge, etc.).
Can such a unit make a charge move? Can it pile in
and consolidate?
A: Yes to both questions – the unit can declare a charge
and make a charge move, and if it is chosen to fight, it
can pile in and consolidate.
Can such a unit move or Advance for any other reason e.g.
because of an ability such as The Swarmlord’s Hive Commander
ability, or because of a psychic power such as Warptime from
the Dark Hereticus discipline, or because of a Stratagem like
Metabolic Overdrive from Codex: Tyranids, etc.?
A: No.
   
Made in us
Brainy Zoanthrope





Thanks!
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Also, you wouldn't be able to use Drive By Demolitions in the movement phase as the stratagem states that you use it in the shooting phase.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




What if the Jackals were not in reinforcements? What if they started the game on the table and used "They came from below" to circumvent the no moving rule. This way they are not set up as reinforcements and should be able to ignore that rule.
I dont think they can use drive by demolitions with a perfect Ambush but it depends how you read it. Does the part saying "shoot all of its ranged weapons as if it was your shooting phase" make this like an extra shooting phase? But the problem with that logic is that it opens up too many doors that were probably not intended.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Strup wrote:
What if the Jackals were not in reinforcements? What if they started the game on the table and used "They came from below" to circumvent the no moving rule. This way they are not set up as reinforcements and should be able to ignore that rule.
I dont think they can use drive by demolitions with a perfect Ambush but it depends how you read it. Does the part saying "shoot all of its ranged weapons as if it was your shooting phase" make this like an extra shooting phase? But the problem with that logic is that it opens up too many doors that were probably not intended.


No, doesnt work.

Q: When a rule allows a model or unit to take an action (move,
shoot, charge, fight or attempt to manifest a psychic power)
outside of the normal turn sequence, and that rule explicitly
mentions to make that action as if it were a different phase of the
turn structure to the current one, e.g. ‘That unit can shoot as if it
were the Shooting phase’, do rules that are normally used during
that phase (in the example this would be the Shooting phase) take
effect? Is the same true of Overwatch attacks?
A: With the exception of Stratagems, all rules (e.g.
abilities, Warlord Traits, psychic powers etc.) that would
apply in a specific phase apply to actions that are taking
place ‘as if it were that phase’. However, if a Stratagem
specifies that it must be used in a specific phase, then
it can only be used in that phase (e.g. you cannot use a
Stratagem that says ‘Use this Stratagem in the Shooting
phase’ to affect a unit that is Shooting ‘as if it were
the Shooting phase’).
For the purposes of this FAQ,
Overwatch attacks are not considered to be attacks made
as if it were your Shooting phase.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 p5freak wrote:
Strup wrote:
What if the Jackals were not in reinforcements? What if they started the game on the table and used "They came from below" to circumvent the no moving rule. This way they are not set up as reinforcements and should be able to ignore that rule.
I dont think they can use drive by demolitions with a perfect Ambush but it depends how you read it. Does the part saying "shoot all of its ranged weapons as if it was your shooting phase" make this like an extra shooting phase? But the problem with that logic is that it opens up too many doors that were probably not intended.


No, doesnt work.

Q: When a rule allows a model or unit to take an action (move,
shoot, charge, fight or attempt to manifest a psychic power)
outside of the normal turn sequence, and that rule explicitly
mentions to make that action as if it were a different phase of the
turn structure to the current one, e.g. ‘That unit can shoot as if it
were the Shooting phase’, do rules that are normally used during
that phase (in the example this would be the Shooting phase) take
effect? Is the same true of Overwatch attacks?
A: With the exception of Stratagems, all rules (e.g.
abilities, Warlord Traits, psychic powers etc.) that would
apply in a specific phase apply to actions that are taking
place ‘as if it were that phase’. However, if a Stratagem
specifies that it must be used in a specific phase, then
it can only be used in that phase (e.g. you cannot use a
Stratagem that says ‘Use this Stratagem in the Shooting
phase’ to affect a unit that is Shooting ‘as if it were
the Shooting phase’).
For the purposes of this FAQ,
Overwatch attacks are not considered to be attacks made
as if it were your Shooting phase.


This confirms the part that you cannot use drive by demolitions before your shooting phase. (AKA when ur units arrive via "A perfect ambush")

Still cant find anything that would disallow jackals from using drive by demolitions in their shooting phase and then moving on turn 2 If they started the game on the table on turn 1 and used a stratagem such as "They came from below" or "Return from the shadows". As long as they start on the table and are not a part of your reserves they shouldn't be affected by reserve limitations. (Hopefully I am not missing any pertinent FAQ information)
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: