Switch Theme:

What happens when I apply two abilities that halve a models movement?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Repentia Mistress





As far as I can tell tremor shells and psychic shackles stack as they are different abilities.


hey what time is it?

"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."

-Ghaz 
   
Made in gb
Dipping With Wood Stain




Sheep Loveland

Unless their rules state that they are not cumulative with other abilities that reduce movement or only certain keywords then yes, they do stack.


40k: Thousand Sons World Eaters
30k: Imperial Fists 405th Company 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





To be certain I'd want to see the text of the relevant abilities.

However, in general terms of you had two different abilities that said to halve movement then they would, provided there was no wording precluding it, stack. This would result in the movement value being quartered.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






AFAIK you apply the normal rules (i.e. you halve, round [edit: up], then halve again [edit: then round up]).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/08/19 16:05:50


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I had the same question and e-mailed GW already. I know how my group would play it, but it is GW... You could send another e-mail and hope it goes into an FAQ.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Cleric wrote:
I had the same question and e-mailed GW already. I know how my group would play it, but it is GW... You could send another e-mail and hope it goes into an FAQ.


I don't see how it needs an FAQ... We have all the interpretive tools needed to resolve it.

Are there two specific rules that you have in mind that possibly throw up more complications?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

They both say "halve its Movement characteristic" right?

This does not change the Datasheet though.

An argument can be made that you only can halve the movement characteristic once, as the datasheet does not change.

But YMMV.

Discuss it with your opponent or TO first.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/19 22:07:44


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

If it says “movement characterist”, then there is only a single characteristic; the one written on the data sheet. So that’s what gets halved. You can halve it forty times, but seeing how the characteristic is what is being changed, it will always end up being X/2. Not X/2/2/2...etc.

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 timetowaste85 wrote:
If it says “movement characterist”, then there is only a single characteristic; the one written on the data sheet. So that’s what gets halved. You can halve it forty times, but seeing how the characteristic is what is being changed, it will always end up being X/2. Not X/2/2/2...etc.


How do you come to that conclusion? Is there a citation?

If you can't change it then surely halving it the first time does nothing either, which would make no sense.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/20 16:55:15


 
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

So, this kind of thing goes into the realm of mathematical logic. Let’s see if I can do this without fracturing my brain on a phone instead of laptop...

Movement characteristic is a set value. Say M (since that’s what GW used). You’re allowed to halve ‘M’. But if you have a second ability that halves ‘M’, you’re still only halving ‘M’. Not halving 1/2M. So:
P->Q (logic terminology) is representing M/2 (move characteristic halved) from the first ability
R->Q is M/2 from second ability
You don’t get to do P+R->Z. You get to do P->Q and R->Q so P and R->Q. What does this actually mean though? It means at the end of the day, the hard, written characteristic is being halved. You have two abilities that halve it. If you halve the half, you are no longer dealing with the characteristic. You’re modifying the already modified characteristic, which is an entirely new thing (and not actually the characteristic). This is the long, convoluted “wtf” reasoning that gets taught in the logic portion of trig.

Or...use another characteristic as an example. If a model as a Wound characteristic of 8, but takes 6 wounds, you don’t get to snipe it with an ability that says “automatically destroy a model with a wound characteristic of 2 or less”. The characteristic is still 8, regardless of 6 wounds being put on it. When you halve it’s movement characteristic, the characteristic is still M. So let’s use a move value of 6, as numbers are easier than letters for math. The attack halved the characteristic of 6 and you get 3. But when the second attack hits, it’s once again attacking the characteristic; which is what is written on the data sheet, which is 6. So you halve it from 6 to 3 and a second ability halves it from 6 to 3. Not 3 to 1.5. The only thing that would actually do this is if you have something that says “permanently change the move characteristic by “X”.

So that’s the logical, mathematics rationale that should make everyone go “what the hell did I just read?”

I sincerely doubt GW expects everyone to have done well at trig logic though, so they probably meant you can halve the half. But technically, logically, mathematically, you can’t.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/20 18:04:41


Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





I actually happen to be a maths graduate. I think you're working from a flawed premise.

If you halve your Movement Characteristic then your movement Characteristic is M/2 until the effect ends. We know that the characteristic is now M/2 and not M, otherwise you would move M.

If you halve it again, it becomes M/4.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/20 18:16:13


 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




I'm in the net result being (around) 1/4 of the original movement value.

As per pg. 175 'All modifiers are cumulative,..'

The biggest question is whether you halve the movement, halve it again and then round up any fraction, or round up after each halving. Personally I think you do all the division and then round.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/20 18:39:11


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Cornishman wrote:
I'm in the net result being (around) 1/4 of the original movement value.

As per pg. 175 'All modifiers are cumulative,..'

The biggest question is whether you halve the movement, halve it again and then round up any fraction, or round up after each halving. Personally I think you do all the division and then round.


I would tend to go the other way - you resolve each effect before applying the next one, which would mean doing the rounding if necessary after the first before applying the second. They're presumably being applied at the same time, which would mean that they would be sequenced to apply the effects.
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

 Stux wrote:
I actually happen to be a maths graduate. I think you're working from a flawed premise.

If you halve your Movement Characteristic then your movement Characteristic is M/2 until the effect ends. We know that the characteristic is now M/2 and not M, otherwise you would move M.

If you halve it again, it becomes M/4.


I’m trying to remember back half my life (17 years ago!). But I’m pretty sure that’s the way it works with mathematical logic. Logically, from the average human mind, is a different matter; you’d end up with the 1/4, as most people think. But while I don’t have a college mathematics degree, I scored in the highest graduate requirement exam percentile (99% on the GRE) for math. So I have the skill set, just not the need to use it and it’s rusty. But I’m positive that’s how it works. Again, math logic and human logic are two different things. And in this case, they disagree.

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 timetowaste85 wrote:
 Stux wrote:
I actually happen to be a maths graduate. I think you're working from a flawed premise.

If you halve your Movement Characteristic then your movement Characteristic is M/2 until the effect ends. We know that the characteristic is now M/2 and not M, otherwise you would move M.

If you halve it again, it becomes M/4.


I’m trying to remember back half my life (17 years ago!). But I’m pretty sure that’s the way it works with mathematical logic. Logically, from the average human mind, is a different matter; you’d end up with the 1/4, as most people think. But while I don’t have a college mathematics degree, I scored in the highest graduate requirement exam percentile (99% on the GRE) for math. So I have the skill set, just not the need to use it and it’s rusty. But I’m positive that’s how it works. Again, math logic and human logic are two different things. And in this case, they disagree.


Game rule logic trumps both math logic and human logic. And, as Cornishman pointed out "As per pg. 175 'All modifiers are cumulative,..' "
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 timetowaste85 wrote:
 Stux wrote:
I actually happen to be a maths graduate. I think you're working from a flawed premise.

If you halve your Movement Characteristic then your movement Characteristic is M/2 until the effect ends. We know that the characteristic is now M/2 and not M, otherwise you would move M.

If you halve it again, it becomes M/4.


I’m trying to remember back half my life (17 years ago!). But I’m pretty sure that’s the way it works with mathematical logic. Logically, from the average human mind, is a different matter; you’d end up with the 1/4, as most people think. But while I don’t have a college mathematics degree, I scored in the highest graduate requirement exam percentile (99% on the GRE) for math. So I have the skill set, just not the need to use it and it’s rusty. But I’m positive that’s how it works. Again, math logic and human logic are two different things. And in this case, they disagree.


'Math logic' Vs other logic doesn't come into this. It's all down to how you define the specific operation. And the in the context of the game, the most reasonable definition for that operation would result in M/4.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




 doctortom wrote:
Cornishman wrote:
I'm in the net result being (around) 1/4 of the original movement value.

As per pg. 175 'All modifiers are cumulative,..'

The biggest question is whether you halve the movement, halve it again and then round up any fraction, or round up after each halving. Personally I think you do all the division and then round.


I would tend to go the other way - you resolve each effect before applying the next one, which would mean doing the rounding if necessary after the first before applying the second. They're presumably being applied at the same time, which would mean that they would be sequenced to apply the effects.


The second half of the sentance is '...you should apply any multiplication or division to the characteristic (rounding fractions up) before applying any addition or subtraction.

To me this would imply applying all multiplation and all division before the rounding.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Cornishman wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
Cornishman wrote:
I'm in the net result being (around) 1/4 of the original movement value.

As per pg. 175 'All modifiers are cumulative,..'

The biggest question is whether you halve the movement, halve it again and then round up any fraction, or round up after each halving. Personally I think you do all the division and then round.


I would tend to go the other way - you resolve each effect before applying the next one, which would mean doing the rounding if necessary after the first before applying the second. They're presumably being applied at the same time, which would mean that they would be sequenced to apply the effects.


The second half of the sentance is '...you should apply any multiplication or division to the characteristic (rounding fractions up) before applying any addition or subtraction.

To me this would imply applying all multiplation and all division before the rounding.


It could actually be read either way. Logic would normally say do the division and round the fraction afterward, but sequencing would tend to support going with rounding each division. I wouldn't be surprised though if Generally Accepted Practice is to do all the division before rounding.
   
Made in ca
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





The Frozen North

The psychic power Psychic Shackles from the Indomitus Discipline specifically states that:

Ultramarines Codex Supplement wrote:A unit cannot be affected by both this psychic power and the Tenebrous Curse psychic power at the same time.


Tenebrous Curse and Psychic Shackles both halve a unit's movement characteristic. That they specifically called out that these two abilities cannot be used on the same target, I imagine that the implication is that they would stack. And, thus, Tremor Shells should stack with either Tenebrous Curse or Psychic Shackles (but, clearly, not both).

Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.

Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it.
 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





This is nothing to do with mathematical logic, it is to do with whether the unit's 'movement characteristic' is the value written under 'M' on the datasheet or the distance that the unit is currently able to move (including modifiers). Since models can move a distance equal to their movement characteristic I would say the latter, therefore you half it twice.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/21 07:52:31


8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Bilge Rat wrote:
This is nothing to do with mathematical logic, it is to do with whether the unit's 'movement characteristic' is the value written under 'M' on the datasheet or the distance that the unit is currently able to move (including modifiers). Since models can move a distance equal to their movement characteristic I would say the latter, therefore you half it twice.


The unit's 'movement characteristic' is as follows as per P.12 in the battle primer:

"Each unit has a datasheet that lists the characteristics, wargear and abilities of the models in that unit..."(1st graph).

"Profiles These contain the following characteristics that tell you..." (Bullet point 4 1st graph).

"Move (M): This is the speed at which a model moves across the battlefield." (Bullet point 4 2nd graph).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/21 08:00:37


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Yeah, the movement characteristic IS the distance they can move. If it didn't modify the characteristic then it wouldn't do anything the first time.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: