Switch Theme:

admech stratagem: Cognis Overwatch  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




the strat reads:

COGNIS OVERWATCH

When a mind-link connects the powerful machine spirit of a cognis weapon with its bearer, it can create a holy synergy that briefly spikes performance in man and machine.

--- Use this Stratagem before an ADEPTUS MECHANICUS unit from your army fires Overwatch. Cognis weapons are fired using the firing model’s Ballistic Skill when resolving these attacks. For the purposes of this Stratagem, a cognis weapon is any weapon profile whose name includes the word ‘cognis’ (e.g. cognis heavy stubber, twin cognis lascannon). ---


My question is, is this stratagem in play for the entire charge phase or for only one charge attempt?

The situation is my opponent charged my unit with two of his units, i played the strat, his first unit failed its charge and I overwatched him via the strat, taking out several models. He then moves to his second unit which happened to be a character, he makes his charge distance... is my stratagem still in play for this overwatch or was it used up on the previous overwatch?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Cyborg787 wrote:
the strat reads:

COGNIS OVERWATCH

When a mind-link connects the powerful machine spirit of a cognis weapon with its bearer, it can create a holy synergy that briefly spikes performance in man and machine.

--- Use this Stratagem before an ADEPTUS MECHANICUS unit from your army fires Overwatch. Cognis weapons are fired using the firing model’s Ballistic Skill when resolving these attacks. For the purposes of this Stratagem, a cognis weapon is any weapon profile whose name includes the word ‘cognis’ (e.g. cognis heavy stubber, twin cognis lascannon). ---


My question is, is this stratagem in play for the entire charge phase or for only one charge attempt?

The situation is my opponent charged my unit with two of his units, i played the strat, his first unit failed its charge and I overwatched him via the strat, taking out several models. He then moves to his second unit which happened to be a character, he makes his charge distance... is my stratagem still in play for this overwatch or was it used up on the previous overwatch?
It only works for a single set of Overwatch attacks ("these attacks", as in, the attacks done when the unit "fires Overwatch").

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/26 23:15:06


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

This says it all:

"Use this Stratagem before an ADEPTUS MECHANICUS unit from your army fires Overwatch. Cognis weapons are fired using the firing model’s Ballistic Skill when resolving these attacks." (Embhasis mine)

"when resolving these attacks" is referring to the Overwatch attacks you are about to fire, this is because you use the strat "before an ADEPTUS MECHANICUS unit from your army fires Overwatch"

So before they fire Overwatch, you use the Strat, and for these attacks (the Overwatch attacks they are about to fire), they get to do as the Strat says.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you both for confirming my own interpretation.

Cheers!
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






It also sounds like you guys did the entire charge phase wrong.

Your opponent declares his charges 1 unit at a time, suffering overwatch and then testing charge distance before moving to the next potential charging unit.

You had indicated that he both declared both charges and tested range before you overwatched.

Step 1: pick charging unit
Step 2: declare target
Step 3: suffer overwatch
Step 4: test range and move(if in range)
Step 5: start at step 1 with new charging unit.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Kommissar Kel wrote:
It also sounds like you guys did the entire charge phase wrong.

Your opponent declares his charges 1 unit at a time, suffering overwatch and then testing charge distance before moving to the next potential charging unit.

You had indicated that he both declared both charges and tested range before you overwatched.

Step 1: pick charging unit
Step 2: declare target
Step 3: suffer overwatch
Step 4: test range and move(if in range)
Step 5: start at step 1 with new charging unit.


Basic rules have the charge phase
1) Choose unit to charge wtih
2) Choose targets
3) enemy resolves overwatch
4) Roll 2D6 and make charge move

You would check range before overwatch to make sure the target unit is within 12" and thus a valid target for the charge.that checking range has nothing to do with rolling 2d6 and making your charge move. Checking range before declaring targets is not playing wrong.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/27 18:39:59


 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 doctortom wrote:
 Kommissar Kel wrote:
It also sounds like you guys did the entire charge phase wrong.

Your opponent declares his charges 1 unit at a time, suffering overwatch and then testing charge distance before moving to the next potential charging unit.

You had indicated that he both declared both charges and tested range before you overwatched.

Step 1: pick charging unit
Step 2: declare target
Step 3: suffer overwatch
Step 4: test range and move(if in range)
Step 5: start at step 1 with new charging unit.


Basic rules have the charge phase
1) Choose unit to charge wtih
2) Choose targets
3) enemy resolves overwatch
4) Roll 2D6 and make charge move

You would check range before overwatch to make sure the target unit is within 12" and thus a valid target for the charge.that checking range has nothing to do with rolling 2d6 and making your charge move. Checking range before declaring targets is not playing wrong.


I said Test range, not check range.

Test as in roll the dice for your range.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: