Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
Times and dates in your local timezone.
Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
I just noticed that the Techmarine Plasma Cutter (overcharged) "Slays" the model on a roll of 1. Would this happen if I rolled to with the weapon with Anrakyr? Because that would be awesome to have the Techmarine die and then the Thunderfire Cannon get removed in turn because there's no Techmarine.
v0iddrgn wrote: I just noticed that the Techmarine Plasma Cutter (overcharged) "Slays" the model on a roll of 1. Would this happen if I rolled to with the weapon with Anrakyr? Because that would be awesome to have the Techmarine die and then the Thunderfire Cannon get removed in turn because there's no Techmarine.
Techmarine models don't have the VEHICLE keyword (not for the lack of trying on the Iron Hands part).
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/08/29 02:05:59
It would be funny. But no one plays anrakyr. Because he is utterly ridiculous. His mind in the machine only has 12" range. And it only works on 4+. He is called the traveller, but he cant be deployed on the tomb world to be teleported, because he has no dynasty. He cannot embark on a transport, because he has no dynasty. He cant be veiled by the veil of darkness because he has no dynasty. All he can do is walk, or getting redeployed by the deceiver with grand illusion. Its almost impossible to get him within 12" of any enemy vehicle. On top of that he is 167 pts. his stats are the same as a regular overlord, which is 94 pts.
And even more insulting, RAW, mind in the machine doesnt work.
Mind in the Machine
At the start of your Shooting phase, choose an enemy VEHICLE within 12" of Anrakyr the Traveller and roll a D6. On a 4+, choose one of that vehicle's weapons. You may shoot with that weapon at another enemy unit. The weapon fires using the vehicle's Ballistic Skill.
You only have permission to shoot enemy units. But the gun is still an enemy unit when you get to shoot with it. You would need permission to shoot friendly units with it, to be able to shoot your opponents units. The way its worded you would only be able to shoot your own units with it. Or the rule would need to say that you take control of vehicle, then its a friendly unit, and you would be able to shoot enemy units.
Enemy Models
All models in the same army are friendly
models. Models controlled by an
opposing player are enemy models. When
you move a model in the Movement
phase, it may not be moved within 1" of
any enemy models.
There were similiar rules like this (one is GSC mind control and it has been changed to treat the unit as part of your army). But this one hasnt been changed. Luckily no one plays anrakyr, so this is a theoretical issue.
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/08/29 06:12:52
p5freak wrote: It would be funny. But no one plays anrakyr. Because he is utterly ridiculous. His mind in the machine only has 12" range. And it only works on 4+. He is called the traveller, but he cant be deployed on the tomb world to be teleported, because he has no dynasty. He cannot embark on a transport, because he has no dynasty. He cant be veiled by the veil of darkness because he has no dynasty. All he can do is walk, or getting redeployed by the deceiver with grand illusion. Its almost impossible to get him within 12" of any enemy vehicle. On top of that he is 167 pts. his stats are the same as a regular overlord, which is 94 pts.
And even more insulting, RAW, mind in the machine doesnt work.
Mind in the Machine At the start of your Shooting phase, choose an enemy VEHICLE within 12" of Anrakyr the Traveller and roll a D6. On a 4+, choose one of that vehicle's weapons. You may shoot with that weapon at another enemy unit. The weapon fires using the vehicle's Ballistic Skill.
You only have permission to shoot enemy units. But the gun is still an enemy unit when you get to shoot with it. You would need permission to shoot friendly units with it, to be able to shoot your opponents units. The way its worded you would only be able to shoot your own units with it. Or the rule would need to say that you take control of vehicle, then its a friendly unit, and you would be able to shoot enemy units.
Enemy Models All models in the same army are friendly models. Models controlled by an opposing player are enemy models. When you move a model in the Movement phase, it may not be moved within 1" of any enemy models.
There were similiar rules like this (one is GSC mind control and it has been changed to treat the unit as part of your army). But this one hasnt been changed. Luckily no one plays anrakyr, so this is a theoretical issue.
It says "You may shoot with that weapon at another enemy unit."
That is permission to fore the enemy gun "at another enemy unit."
So it works just fine.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/29 18:54:07
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
p5freak wrote: It would be funny. But no one plays anrakyr. Because he is utterly ridiculous. His mind in the machine only has 12" range. And it only works on 4+. He is called the traveller, but he cant be deployed on the tomb world to be teleported, because he has no dynasty. He cannot embark on a transport, because he has no dynasty. He cant be veiled by the veil of darkness because he has no dynasty. All he can do is walk, or getting redeployed by the deceiver with grand illusion. Its almost impossible to get him within 12" of any enemy vehicle. On top of that he is 167 pts. his stats are the same as a regular overlord, which is 94 pts.
And even more insulting, RAW, mind in the machine doesnt work.
Mind in the Machine
At the start of your Shooting phase, choose an enemy VEHICLE within 12" of Anrakyr the Traveller and roll a D6. On a 4+, choose one of that vehicle's weapons. You may shoot with that weapon at another enemy unit. The weapon fires using the vehicle's Ballistic Skill.
You only have permission to shoot enemy units. But the gun is still an enemy unit when you get to shoot with it. You would need permission to shoot friendly units with it, to be able to shoot your opponents units. The way its worded you would only be able to shoot your own units with it. Or the rule would need to say that you take control of vehicle, then its a friendly unit, and you would be able to shoot enemy units.
Enemy Models
All models in the same army are friendly
models. Models controlled by an
opposing player are enemy models. When
you move a model in the Movement
phase, it may not be moved within 1" of
any enemy models.
There were similiar rules like this (one is GSC mind control and it has been changed to treat the unit as part of your army). But this one hasnt been changed. Luckily no one plays anrakyr, so this is a theoretical issue.
It says "You may shoot with that weapon at another enemy unit."
That is permission to fore the enemy gun "at another enemy unit."
So it works just fine.
Agreed. The "enemy" is referring to the enemy of the player whose turn it is, not the enemy of the unit that gets slapped with Mind in the Machine.
p5freak wrote: It would be funny. But no one plays anrakyr. Because he is utterly ridiculous. His mind in the machine only has 12" range. And it only works on 4+. He is called the traveller, but he cant be deployed on the tomb world to be teleported, because he has no dynasty. He cannot embark on a transport, because he has no dynasty. He cant be veiled by the veil of darkness because he has no dynasty. All he can do is walk, or getting redeployed by the deceiver with grand illusion. Its almost impossible to get him within 12" of any enemy vehicle. On top of that he is 167 pts. his stats are the same as a regular overlord, which is 94 pts.
And even more insulting, RAW, mind in the machine doesnt work.
Mind in the Machine
At the start of your Shooting phase, choose an enemy VEHICLE within 12" of Anrakyr the Traveller and roll a D6. On a 4+, choose one of that vehicle's weapons. You may shoot with that weapon at another enemy unit. The weapon fires using the vehicle's Ballistic Skill.
You only have permission to shoot enemy units. But the gun is still an enemy unit when you get to shoot with it. You would need permission to shoot friendly units with it, to be able to shoot your opponents units. The way its worded you would only be able to shoot your own units with it. Or the rule would need to say that you take control of vehicle, then its a friendly unit, and you would be able to shoot enemy units.
Enemy Models
All models in the same army are friendly
models. Models controlled by an
opposing player are enemy models. When
you move a model in the Movement
phase, it may not be moved within 1" of
any enemy models.
There were similiar rules like this (one is GSC mind control and it has been changed to treat the unit as part of your army). But this one hasnt been changed. Luckily no one plays anrakyr, so this is a theoretical issue.
It says "You may shoot with that weapon at another enemy unit."
That is permission to fore the enemy gun "at another enemy unit."
So it works just fine.
Agreed. The "enemy" is referring to the enemy of the player whose turn it is, not the enemy of the unit that gets slapped with Mind in the Machine.
It says "You may shoot with that weapon at another enemy unit."
That is permission to fore the enemy gun "at another enemy unit."
So it works just fine.
No. The vehicle whose gun i can fire remains an enemy unit. To the vehicle enemy units are my units. I only have permission to shoot my own models. GSC mind control makes the mind controlled model part of my army, thus enabling me to attack enemy units, which are those controlled by my opponent.
Mind Control
Select an enemy model within 12" of the psyker and roll 3D6. If the score is less than that model's Leadership characteristic, nothing happens, but if it equals or exceeds it, that model can either shoot as if it were your Shooting phase, or make a single close combat attack as if it were the Fight phase. In either case, treat that model as if it were a separate unit that is part of your army whilst shooting or making that close combat attack.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/29 20:16:49
It says "You may shoot with that weapon at another enemy unit."
That is permission to fore the enemy gun "at another enemy unit."
So it works just fine.
No. The vehicle whose gun i can fire remains an enemy unit. To the vehicle enemy units are my units. I only have permission to shoot my own models. GSC mind control makes the mind controlled model part of my army, thus enabling me to attack enemy units, which are those controlled by my opponent.
Mind Control Select an enemy model within 12" of the psyker and roll 3D6. If the score is less than that model's Leadership characteristic, nothing happens, but if it equals or exceeds it, that model can either shoot as if it were your Shooting phase, or make a single close combat attack as if it were the Fight phase. In either case, treat that model as if it were a separate unit that is part of your army whilst shooting or making that close combat attack.
False, ignoring the context is no way to parse rules.
In context when it says "You may shoot with that weapon at another enemy unit." The subject is you. You can shoot that weapon at an enemy unit. your models are friendly so you can not shoot them. your opponents models are enemy so those are the ones you shoot.
Further confirmed by the " In either case, treat that model as if it were a separate unit that is part of your army"
The model is now a part of your army for the shooting attack so you can shoot just fine.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/29 20:38:16
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.