Switch Theme:

Tau questions, overwatch, markerlights and you.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

1. Can I use markerlights during overwatch? I get charged, I have a few units with markerlights. I get off a markerlight and I now want to reroll 1's. We couldn't find anything that disallowed this. I found that rerolling 1's was obnoxious though. I found something that said we can't modify dice rolls, but nothing about rerolling dice rolls.

2. I charge a shadowseer with a unit, he shoots, and I fail to make the charge distance. I then declare another charge against the shadowseer, and he overwatches again?! I'm getting told that if I keep failing to make the charge distance, and I keep making new declarations he can keep overwatching each time.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Sazzlefrats wrote:
1. Can I use markerlights during overwatch? I get charged, I have a few units with markerlights. I get off a markerlight and I now want to reroll 1's. We couldn't find anything that disallowed this. I found that rerolling 1's was obnoxious though. I found something that said we can't modify dice rolls, but nothing about rerolling dice rolls.

2. I charge a shadowseer with a unit, he shoots, and I fail to make the charge distance. I then declare another charge against the shadowseer, and he overwatches again?! I'm getting told that if I keep failing to make the charge distance, and I keep making new declarations he can keep overwatching each time.
1) Perfectly fine and working as intended

2) Yes, a unit may overwatch any number of times in the opponents charge phase, as long as they aren't already within 1" of an enemy unit or another rule says otherwise..
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Agreed, both examples are indeed how it works.

For 1, bare in mind you are still only hitting on 6s. With re-roll 1s you are going from 17% chance to hit to 19% chance to hit. It's not that big a deal.

For 2, it's really important to plan your charges because there's no limit to how many times you can fire overwatch until an enemy gets within 1".
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




United States

For you, the big thing to remember is that it's the For The Greater Good ability that makes it so that Tau can only overwatch once.

FtGG lets units not being charged fire overwatch, but once they do, they can't fire overwatch again. So be very careful which units you choose to use FtGG because you don't want them to get charged right after they can no longer overwatch. I always make my opponents define all of their multi-charge targets multiple times before I being overwatch and FtGG so that I know exactly who can do it again should the need arise, and who used up their one chance this turn.
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

 Stux wrote:
Agreed, both examples are indeed how it works.

For 1, bare in mind you are still only hitting on 6s. With re-roll 1s you are going from 17% chance to hit to 19% chance to hit. It's not that big a deal.

For 2, it's really important to plan your charges because there's no limit to how many times you can fire overwatch until an enemy gets within 1".


I'm playing T'au sept... we're hitting on 5's and 6's, and that'll take us from 33% to 39%. And firewarriors yeah not exciting... missile broadsides...that's different and that's why I asked this question because it seemed like too much dakka.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: