Switch Theme:

Is the Cyclops demolition charge a ranged weapon?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Junior Officer with Laspistol






I have a question regarding wording of the rules of the Cyclops demolition charge. Its rules state that it can be detonated at the start of the shooting phase and if done so, every unit within D6 is automatically hit by the weapons profile. Does this qualify as being a ranged weapon in the sense of for example the Ion shields of Knights?

~7510 build and painted
1312 build and painted
1200 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Pyroalchi wrote:
I have a question regarding wording of the rules of the Cyclops demolition charge. Its rules state that it can be detonated at the start of the shooting phase and if done so, every unit within D6 is automatically hit by the weapons profile. Does this qualify as being a ranged weapon in the sense of for example the Ion shields of Knights?


I would say yes. They are hit by the profile of a ranged weapon, therefore they are hit by a ranged weapon.
   
Made in de
Junior Officer with Laspistol






I also thought so. Yet I wanted to make sure, since I find the wording a bit weird. But english is not my mother language, so that's most likely the reason

~7510 build and painted
1312 build and painted
1200 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

Yes it is a ranged profile as concluded in the earlier thread on its interaction with the catchan re-roll
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Not sure if the knight player can use rotate ion shields against the cyclops explosion, because the knight doesnt get targeted. The explosion hits it automatically.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 p5freak wrote:
Not sure if the knight player can use rotate ion shields against the cyclops explosion, because the knight doesnt get targeted. The explosion hits it automatically.


Agreed, but it can use its default Ion Shields.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: